We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casal Da Penha

Casal Da Penha
Reserve with
Casal Da Penha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 577 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woking
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Found this restaurant by chance walking down the backstreets from Funchal. After reading reviews visited 2 days running. Excellent food & service . When we return to Madeira will definitely return

Helpful?
Thank WokingJezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    217
    52
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
windlesham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it a lot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had seen the reviews on this site and as it was next door to my hotel I went on my first night to have the mixed 4 fish dish (it is a chef's special on the menu - 18 euro).
I was very pleased with it. On another night I had the "Espetada", Madeiran Beef Kebab - also very good. I actually went a third night as my initial destination turned out to be closed on Sunday (something to watch in the old town.)
One reason I was pleased but others might not be is the choice of vegetables. Being a bit choosy with vegetables, I was happy to see carrots and green beans served with potatoes (boiled and sweet). Prompt and friendly service. Looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We are always pleased to return and are never disappointed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The quality of the food, wine and service is without doubt exceptional.

Over the years we have been fortunate to enjoy many holidays in Madeira and have visited lots of different restaurants but we have always frequently returned to the Casal Da Penha.

This is because where other restaurants are perhaps known for having the freshest fish, the tastiest steak or the widest choice of vegetables this restaurant always serves the best of everything.

We are always assured of a warm welcome, a good selection of wines at fair prices and once you have chosen your food you know each dish will be cooked with finesse and presented with great care by friendly and efficient staff.

We recently returned and for the first time with our daughter, her husband and our first grandchild, of 7 months, Phoebe and whilst Phoebe slept thorough most of Dinner the caring attention she received was more than pleasing.

It is a real mystery why this restaurant isn't consistently in the Top 10 of Funchal restaurants, it deserves to be and if you haven't eaten here I heartily recommend that you do so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Right for Us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We ate there three times in our eight day break - a great accolade for an excellent restaurant when there is so much choice. It's very popular with tourists and even at this 'quiet' time of year it's best to arrive by 715 unless you have a reservation. Very friendly staff, good service, good food and wine. About 15 minutes from the town centre on foot - best to have a look at a good map before setting out as it is down a small side street.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IcabodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinross
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“return visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Another one of our favourits We call it the girls place as we have been going here for a few years The staff recognise us when we go in and ask after our family and we do
likewise They do a wonderful starter of smoked swordfish We also like that they serve the vegetables at your table so you can decide how much you would like The roasted sweet potato is a delight.They do a good red that is decanted go by their recommendation

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank marrob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casal Da Penha also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Casal Da Penha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing