We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“So good, we came back again during our week in Funchal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lareira Portuguesa

Lareira Portuguesa
Ranked #37 of 555 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
wimbledon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“So good, we came back again during our week in Funchal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were staying at Cliff Bay Hotel just across the main road from Lareira, so it was an obvious choice if we did not want to have the hotel's excellent buffet every evening. We agree with other Tripadvisor reviewers that Lariera is outstanding, without being an an expensive gourmet place.
On our first visit we had filet steak on a hot stone (our first experience) which was tender and
cooked to medium-rare (by me!). An important point was that the selection of vegetables was very good and they were crisp and not over-cooked as can happen in other restaurants. Service was friendly and attentive. On our second visit, our friends ordered the mixed fish platter which was splendid to behold and of excellent quality. The house wine is good. Although we lingered over the meal and were almost the last to leave, there was no hurry to eject us and the bill came only after requested.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Latchford21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    169
    41
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Food and service excellent.Visited this restaurant after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds UK
Level Contributor
263 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

only downside is that the room is very brightly lit and there is no music, so a bit soulless. But the food and service are very good. We had scabbard fish (two fillets) and it came with plenty of accompaniments. House white wine also very good. A little more expensive than some other places, but worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltmann, Deutschland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very nice little restaurant - a bit posh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

the little restaurant just up a small road, away from the main hotel route serves fantastic fresh seafood, unfortunately for a pretty high price. Service was helpful and kind.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hckrohz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Sunny Island
Level Contributor
154 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Always eat here at least once a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I used to live in Funchal,this is one of my favourite restaurants., when on holiday we always eat here at least once a week. My mother had steak on the stone about €20 and I had fish espada its about €14 which was 2 fillets. The meals came with chips, fried maize, sweet potatoes, fresh carrots, fresh runner beans, cauliflower. Deserts are around €4 each. The bolo de cacao is €3. the restaurant is always busy with tourists and some locals. The restaurant has fresh fish counter and a tank with lobsters etc staff speak several languages. There is an open kitchen upstairs which specialises in chicken.

Location from monumental lido hotel stay on the same side of the street and walk in the direction of Funchal city, on the other side of the road you will see restaurant "tokos" opposite that restaurant is a road turn left and lareira is the first one you come too. It's not the restaurant with the parrots that is a different one.

I ate here with my mother

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank quillingartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lareira Portuguesa also viewed

 

Been to Lareira Portuguesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing