We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Lareira Portuguesa

Lareira Portuguesa
Ranked #38 of 638 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Food and service excellent.Visited this restaurant after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    209
    49
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds UK
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

only downside is that the room is very brightly lit and there is no music, so a bit soulless. But the food and service are very good. We had scabbard fish (two fillets) and it came with plenty of accompaniments. House white wine also very good. A little more expensive than some other places, but worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltmann, Deutschland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very nice little restaurant - a bit posh”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

the little restaurant just up a small road, away from the main hotel route serves fantastic fresh seafood, unfortunately for a pretty high price. Service was helpful and kind.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hckrohz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Sunny Island
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Always eat here at least once a week”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I used to live in Funchal,this is one of my favourite restaurants., when on holiday we always eat here at least once a week. My mother had steak on the stone about €20 and I had fish espada its about €14 which was 2 fillets. The meals came with chips, fried maize, sweet potatoes, fresh carrots, fresh runner beans, cauliflower. Deserts are around €4 each. The bolo de cacao is €3. the restaurant is always busy with tourists and some locals. The restaurant has fresh fish counter and a tank with lobsters etc staff speak several languages. There is an open kitchen upstairs which specialises in chicken.

Location from monumental lido hotel stay on the same side of the street and walk in the direction of Funchal city, on the other side of the road you will see restaurant "tokos" opposite that restaurant is a road turn left and lareira is the first one you come too. It's not the restaurant with the parrots that is a different one.

I ate here with my mother

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quillingartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Excellent, can't fault”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My mother and I came to Madeira for a week in February and ate here several times. We could not fault the service of the staff, they were all very helpful and friendly, even when busy. The restaurant was always busy, with both locals and tourists. The food was always well cooked, well presented and good quality. The fish was excellent and very fresh. Overall I would say the best place we went too during our stay. I would definitely recommend anyone visiting to go there, you wontbe disappointed. It will please both mead and fish eaters.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikerchick39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lareira Portuguesa also viewed

 

Been to Lareira Portuguesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing