We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norhing special”
Review of Tokos Restaurant

Tokos Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 619 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Norhing special”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

All in an uninspiring dinner with my wife and son. The cooking is without much creativity and taste despite the fresh fish, meat and vegetables available. The starter was grilled calamari but they were soft and spongy. For maincourse we had grilled sole and tenderloin both were ok but the vegetables served were overcooked and tasteless and my sauce hollandaise was served cold and tasted of flour!

On the positive side was the tasteful decor of the restaurant, the kind staff and a very charismatic owner.

Helpful?
Thank Kristian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    113
    42
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The food here is very good albeit a bit more expensive than some adjacent restaurants. Service is very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank essexspursfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A treasure”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We dined at Tokos last night & what a wonderful experience it was. The chef/proprietor is a real character who certainly has his finger on the pulse. The ambience of the restaurant (which is cosy) is that of a well run family business where in my opinion the chef & his team pride themselves on customer service & the superb quality of the food. Felipe the chef ensures his staff are aware at all times of the customers needs & it has to be said that the two young waitresses were excellent. Felipe's small team of chefs produced dish after dish of excellent Madeiran cuisine and if you are a light eater then beware the servings are on the large side but believe me everything was absolutely delicious. The chefs special scabbard fish was a rich combination of flavours that blended together perfectly. Felipe works with his team teaching his skills not only to the chefs but also to his waiting staff even accompanying them in polishing silver & glasswear for table preparation. His banter with the customers is amusing & gracious. He really has made this into a total dining experience & it is a restaurant that I would certainly visit again not only was the food superb but the quality of service & atmosphere was delightful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We ate here last night, good value for money even though it is a little more expensive than other restaurants close by. Only had starters and a main each and too stuffed to eat a sweet. Booked again for Thursday (it's that good)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry121053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Entertainment on tap!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a most magnificent and unusual experience. The chef greeted my husband and I at the entrance. He proceeded to offer us a glass of champagne whilst we waited for our table and wittily informed us off the variety of fish dishes on offer that day.

The food was excellent, the staff most attentive and would recommend it for anyone visiting Fenchal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokos Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tokos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing