We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket
Reserve with
O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 661 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great food and attentive staff. Try the steak-on-the-stone..the best steak I have ever tasted. A little cramped outside on the balcony and the food more than makes up for the view overlooking the supermarket car park.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank whosyabuddy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thank you so very much for your review.

Our guests feedback is trully importante to us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant on your next visit to Madeira.

Best regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 385 of 714 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

Over my four holidays in Madeira there has not been one time of going to Chefe for dinner that I have not enjoyed. Love the food and the staff provide great customer service. Steak on the Stone is a personal favourite. I also like their homemade desserts. Service is not particularly quick but it is efficient. I also feel a personal connection to this restaurant as the owner helped my grandmother when she fainted outside the restaurant and no one else was around. So we came to give it the name "Che Doctor" and long may it continue!

1  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Gerente at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thank you so very much for your review.

Our guests feedback is trully importante to us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We try and take care of our friends and guests the best we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant on your next visit to Madeira.

Best regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited this resturaunt twice during our week stay in Lido as it came highly recommended by a friend. We thoroughly enjoyed our nights out here. Our second meal we had steak on the stone and salmon on the stone - absolutely delicious. Will highly recommend this resturaunt to anyone visiting Lido.

1  Thank Rosaleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thank you so very much for your review.

Our guests feedback is trully importante to us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant on your next visit to Madeira.

Best regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

He is famous for his steaks. Some years ago his restaurant, in the middle of a shopping mall, with no view at all, was constantly full and overbooked. Quality of the meat, fish, desserts (try the passion fruit mousse). But now recently he moved outside, you now sit on top of the shopping mall overlooking the bay of funchal, marvelous! Recommended!

1  Thank WimdeWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Gerente at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thank you so very much for your review.

Our guests feedback is trully importante to us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant on your next visit to Madeira.

Best regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just had the most perfect meal here.
Having travelled extensively through Europe I can honestly say this is one of the best places we have eaten, I had the grilled limpet starter( a type of mussel) my wife had avocado and prawns, for main was mixed grill for me and fillet steak for my wife all cooked to perfection!
The owner was so charming he spent the best part of 15 minutes telling us about the island and the source of the food we were going to eat, nothing was rushed, a really relaxing atmosphere, we will be back..and the cost with wine 57 euro...excellent.

2  Thank Puttman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thank you so very much for your review.

Our guests feedback is trully importante to us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant on your next visit to Madeira.

Best regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket also viewed

 

Been to O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing