We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Often recommended ...”

O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket
Reserve with
O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 628 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Often recommended ...”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

... but seemingly difficult to find; this is on the first floor, partly hidden by the sun-canopy, and appears to be two restaurants - the Steakhouse, and, Sea Basket - although you choose your preferred décor and select from either menu. A pleasant meal, well cooked and presented, by charming staff. Worthy of a second visit. The steak fillet was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to see you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    154
    44
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had never visited this restaurant on our previous visits to Madeira but having read such good reviews , we decided to give it a try ,What a fantastic experience .
Tony and his son are excellent hosts .The food , wine and service were excellent .
I cannot fault it in anyway and will certainly return on our next visit to Funchal .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your first visit to our restaurant.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistent excellent food highly recommended”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have visited O Chefe for many years and have always had superb food with a very friendly atmosphere. Tony is always a wonderful host and we look forward to seeing him in June when we next come to Madeira.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeeteeHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and the time you took to write about us.

We are really glad to hear you have Been enjoying your dining experiences with us along the years.

Thank you so much for your support.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our fantastic lunch and dinner meals”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had the most delicious lipids,fish and lobster at this restuarant in Madeira . All the seafood was fresh,non of it was frozen. The staff a extremely professional and friendly ,they speak english fluently ,but don't over service you which is great ! Allowing you to enjoy the stunning unobstructed view of the ocean.
Pricing is reasonably set ,so probably the best value for money dining experience we had on the island . We will defiantly be back on our next trip .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you Very much for your review.

We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Madeira

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dell's delight”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We found this restaurant excellent for lunch and dinner. The staff are friendly and efficient. The restaurant is very clean, and very well situated. We strongly recommend that you visit when you are in Madeira. We have known Tony for a number of years and the quality of food and service have always been consistent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank estelledell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you Very much for your review.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us once again.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit to Madeira.
Best regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing