We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Restaurant, Great Host and Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket

O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket
Reserve with
O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 549 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Great Host and Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ate at this Restaurant twice whilst on our regular two week break in February. Early in week one there were four of us for dinner. we all ate something different and all went away 100% impressed with the quality of the food and the surperb service that Tony's Team deliver! Having had the "O Chefe" Prawns which were the best I've ever had, I was keen to return and try the fillet steak on the stone three of which I had whatched the family on the table next to us eagerly devour! The following week we booked a table for 8 people having been joined by friends and family for week two. On arrival we were shown to our table again by Tony who made us very welcome and again we all ordered a variety from the menu, myself opting for the steak on the stone. This melted in your mouth and was one of the best steaks I have had for a long time. Everything abouit this Restaurant is superb! and on both occassions was very good value. Tony is an excellent host and Alberto strives for perfection every time! I would thoroughly recommend anyone visiting Madeira to put this Restaurant on their list for lunch or a night out if looking for somewhere that serves excellent food with great service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyChrisMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We are happy we matched your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    114
    33
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited this excellent restaurant three times, twice at lunchtime once for dinner and was more than satisfied with food and service.
Lunch time is particularly good as there is a very good snack menu at very reasonable prices and no pressure to order from an a la carte menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrPlmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest thank you so much for your review.

We couldnt be happier to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Madeira.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food great friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This has to be a must in Funchal if you enjoy a good steak, ate there twice on our recent holiday . Tony has done a fine job with this Restuarant , the food is by far the best we had on our two weeks in Madeira. Good knowledgeable staff and great wines, I can recommend Steak & Prawns it was fantastic and the sauces are excellent .
But don't just take my word for it "Try It Yersel !".Gerry Mac.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We are happy to have met your expectations during your visit.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Visited this restaurant on the first and last night of our holiday. Salmon on the stone highly recommended! Steak & prawns excellent. Staff very attentive. Busy and popular restaurant. Very reasonably priced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest we appreciate the time you took on writing your review.

We always feel extremely satisfied when our guests enjoy their experience with us.

Looking forward to see you on your next visit to the island.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine Food with Friendly Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We dined here twice on our recent holiday. Food excellant, good atmosphere, friendly staff and great service all at a reasonable price. It may be an idea to book, we did'nt but were lucky to have a table for two near window and were able to watch the sun go down, what more can you ask for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest thank you for the time you took to write your review on our restaurant.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to our wonderful island.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket also viewed

 

Been to O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing