We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything it promisied to be - stylish, friendly and fantastic value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal
Certificate of Excellence
Annecy, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything it promisied to be - stylish, friendly and fantastic value for money”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The Residence Conde Carvalhal definitely deserves the reputation it has built up. Even before arriving, they were extremely friendly and professional, helping with airport transfers and giving advice about Madeira. The staff could not be more willing to help - evenything we have asked for they have gone out of their way to deliver. The rooms are comfortable and clean - stylishly decorated with all the comforts of a four star hotel set in a private estate which makes you feel as though you are guests at a family home. The hotel is not in the touristic hotel district of Funchal (thank goodness), but a 10 minute walk from the centre into the chic residential area with beautiful mansion houses overlooking the old town and port. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJElias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    46
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
91
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend get-away, and we felt instantly at home. The hotel is modern and extremely new, but set in a cosy 19th-century garden and connected to an old mansion. It feels like you are escaping into the old, wealthy quarter of Funchal, and we relished the quiet atmosphere and the views of the sea.

The hotel hosted a hen night one evening, and despite the staff giving us a friendly warning in advance, we were up until 3am with the noise. The hotel has the sort of hard-surface acoustics of a Wagamama's and the doors are not well insulated to the sound. Nonetheless, after mentioning this to the staff, we were astonished to receive the night for free. It was an otherwise flawless stay at a beautiful hotel, and the staff's generosity more than made up for the disturbed night.

A helpful tip - if you would like to cook while you are there, you can ask the staff for pots and pans. They volunteered these for us when we said we were going to go buy some from a local shop.

Overall, a wonderful place and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal is really a gorgeous place to stay. The residence is very nice, just few minutes walking to city centre, and rooms are spacious, clean and peaceful. But what I will remember for all of my life was the staff: Beatriz and Mariana let my stay as if I were sleeping in my home. You’ll feel free to do what you prefer and they will help you in any situation. I work in hotel field and due to my work I travel a lot around hotels: I can definitely say that this was the best I’ve ever been. Congratulations!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

I recently went to Funchal (Madeira) on a week long trip. Being in the hotel industry myself , I am not the easiest person to please. This hotel is in a great part of Funchal - 10 minutes walk to old town restaurants and nightlife. The hotel itself is beautiful and not a scent has been spared on the building and furnishings of this establishment. From the finest linen, state of the art beds and beautiful art. Exquisite gardens and even a tiny little chapel. But the best part of this hotel was its staff. There are 2 people that this hotel cannot exist without. Mariana and Beatrice. These 2 ladies are the soul of this business and work very hard 24/7. Nothing is too much for them and they always have a smile on their faces. They have gone out of their way to make my stay the most memorable and when I fell sick on my last night and had to get to a hospital, they even organised a taxi for me and arranged that i didnt have to pay for it. When i open my next hotel, I will have to find a way to lure them away and come work with me - they are gold and would be an assett to any business. Thank you Mariana and Beatrice.!!!! Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalvadoreCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2.7 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#15 of 86 in Funchal
220 reviews
2.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#27 of 86 in Funchal
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal

Property: ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal
Address: Rua Conde Carvalhal 53, Funchal, Madeira 9060-011, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting, carefully restored Madeiran mansion is a 15 minute stroll from Funchal's Old Town, with sweeping ocean and mountain panoramas from its own botanical gardens and terraces. Designed by esteemed Portuguese architect Paulo David, this is a true art hotel with an annual curatorship, showcasing the very best local artists. Wandering the property, you will delight in stumbling upon hidden vistas, or encountering the latest urban photographic print from 2016 curators Urbanistas Digitais. Tended to by their own in-house gardener, the grounds boast exceptionally rare plants and ageing trees, such as Madeira's bewitching "Dragoeiro". Breakfast holds claim to strong, Portuguese coffee and homegrown, organic herbal teas and fruits. The charming service team will welcome you "home" as cherished friends and family, assuredly sharing with you the island's best kept secrets. Furnishings in the rooms are bright and breezy with wooden floors and air conditioning throughout. All rooms are connected to complimentary wireless internet, many with well-equipped kitchenettes and open terraces. Suites are located in the original mansion, while the studios are situated in a modern annex. Covered, on-site parking is both secure and complimentary. A private transfer service is available from Madeira Airport, which is a 20 minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing