We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal
Certificate of Excellence
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This has been the first time I have booked a hotel from Booking.com that I did not like. Usually, the reviews are right on par with the hotel, but I have no idea why this hotel is rated so high. The costumer service is terrible (the hotel staff avoids you at all costs), and you have literally no help on tourist information. I called ahead to make sure our room had internet (I had an online work conference to attend), but when I arrived, that was no internet service in the room. I had to wake up in the middle of night to get internet in the communal room with no AC. The breakfast is also the biggest waste of 7.50 euro I have ever seen. My husband decided he couldn't take it anymore, and we booked another hotel for the remainder of the week.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the view have internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makenzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    32
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
63
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel was clean and the rooms were a good size however the towels were not changed very often. We were kept a wake a number of times during our stay by dogs barking throughout the night. Not just one but a number.
We believed that we had booked our holiday direct with the hotel and paid well in advance. However when we arrived we were asked to pay again as we had apparently booked with a agency called 'Strawberry World' who had just gone into administration. According to locals they are now trading under the name of Lido tours. We suggest if you book very carefully if you book on the internet as we were convinced we had accessed the hotel site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan227059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matosinhos, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Madeira island has its ups and downs, being a mountainous place, and all of them are a must-see.
The Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal is a great place to base your camp. Away from Lido's hotel center (although you can walk there easily, if you want to), makes you believe your one of the locals. If you treasure your independence, stay there, in the old manor or in the design studios (with a nice kitchenette), full of light, space and garden views that goes as far as Funchal and the busy harbour. The staff is precious in giving away great tips for good food (Olives and Venda da Dona Maria are not to be missed) as well as in how to get your appetite back, trekking away in the 'levadas' and other official paths (we recommend the PR1 trek from Pico do Areeiro to Pico Ruivo). Great breakfast (if you want it), good indoor parking and a lovely walk to the old town and center (don't take the car, it's hard to find a parking spot in town). Luxury made simple.

Room Tip: Our Garden View room, 105, on the ground floor, had a great sea and harbor view, although being next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruiloureiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

+ nice and clean rooms
+ great location
+ friendly staff
+ garden for relaxation
+ kitchen with accessories
+ garage

the only "con" I can think of is that free wifi does not cover all rooms, but is available. Definitely very nice hotel with friendly staff!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMD_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in a garden view studio for 3 nights over new years eve. The accommodation was stylish, comfortable, and most importantly, clean. The views over the harbour for the new years fireworks were superb.

The in-studio catering facilities are good, with a kettle, two ring hob and combi oven and fridge. Plenty for the snacks and bits of self catering we wanted to do. The only negative here was the lack of provision of any pans or utensils. We got what we wanted no problem when we asked for it, but considering the effort they've gone to building and furnishing this place beautifully, sticking a pan in the room to begin would seem a small expense.

The location is great and different to a majority of funchal hotels bundled into the Lido area. It's a short (though fairly steep) walk into funchal centre and old town. The negative part of the location is that the residential neighbourhood the hotel is in is well populated by dogs, so although it is 'quiet' there can still be quite a lot of noise! It didn't bother us too much though.

The other factor worth mentioning is that the location would be a nightmare to drive in and out of. We hired a car when we departed the hotel, and were glad we only had to drive out of that area once. So while the provided parking facilities are great, this isnt the best location to be driving from.

This shouldn't put you off though. Just do what we did, see Funchal on foot(easy from this location), then hire a car when you leave to see the rest of the island.

All staff we're very friendly and happy to use English with us, both in our communications prior to arrival, and during our stay. Excellent.

Any negative points i've made are just advisory. I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again, especially considering the very high standard of accommodation for a great value rate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelPaulUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We booked the suite with balcony which was fantastic - A very stylish 'apartment' and the balcony had terrific views of Funchal. The hotel also had a very convenient 'James Bond' style underground car park for guests. We didn't want to stay in a big resort hotel, and liked the privacy of this hotel. However, a few things were disappointing. The bathroom just had budget sized soap dispensers and could have done with small bottles of shampoo and conditioner. Luckily I'd brought my own. We ordered room service for dinner - my partner liked his steak sandwich, but the burger I had was disappointing - it was small, looked like something you'd get from a frozen meal and was just serviced with some crisps. For breakfast we were surprised to be given satchets of coffee, and had to ask especially to get fresh coffee which on one morning they had run out of. They only had one choice of cereal (luckily we like bran flakes) which was served with hot rather than cold milk. They provided a generous bread basket of fresh rolls, which was nice and a couple of cakes which we ate in the afternoon. It would have been nice to have fresh juice rather than squash too. On our last morning we paid extra for an 'English breakfast' - which we were disappointed with. We were given scrambled eggs (there was no choice), beans, sausages (from a can) and very fatty uncrispy bacon. The food could easily be improved if they took the trouble. We thought about offering to show them how to make a proper English Breakfast. Another thing to bare in mind is, on hot nights if you decide to leave the windows open, you can hear lots of dogs barking in the neighbourhood if you're not a deep sleeper.
The place has lots of potential. However, for an upmarket hotel, it lacked the finesse and detail one would normally expect.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRAVELLERTOMADEIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Nice boutique hotel. Consists of two parts:one in traditional style one in modern, combined in an a very good style
Not evpensive and close to center of Funchal

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ekorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal

Property: ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal
Address: Rua Conde De Carvalhal, 53, Funchal, Madeira 9060-011, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting, carefully restored Madeiran mansion is a 15 minute stroll from Funchal's Old Town, with sweeping ocean and mountain panoramas from its own botanical gardens and terraces. Designed by esteemed Portuguese architect Paulo David, this is a true art hotel with an annual curatorship, showcasing the very best local artists. Wandering the property, you will delight in stumbling upon hidden vistas, or encountering the latest urban photographic print from 2016 curators Urbanistas Digitais. Tended to by their own in-house gardener, the grounds boast exceptionally rare plants and ageing trees, such as Madeira's bewitching "Dragoeiro". Breakfast holds claim to strong, Portuguese coffee and homegrown, organic herbal teas and fruits. The charming service team will welcome you "home" as cherished friends and family, assuredly sharing with you the island's best kept secrets. Furnishings in the rooms are bright and breezy with wooden floors and air conditioning throughout. All rooms are connected to complimentary wireless internet, many with well-equipped kitchenettes and open terraces. Suites are located in the original mansion, while the studios are situated in a modern annex. Covered, on-site parking is both secure and complimentary. A private transfer service is available from Madeira Airport, which is a 20 minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing