We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Nice boutique hotel. Consists of two parts:one in traditional style one in modern, combined in an a very good style
Not evpensive and close to center of Funchal

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ekorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2011

Although a bit of a walk from the restaurants in the old town, especially coming back (uphill) this hotel is in a great position and the staff could not be more helpful. The rooms are very good, the beds very comfortable and there is a kitchen. We made breakfast in our studio room and also eat in some nights.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PostcardPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We expected more of a 'suite' and more of a 'kitchen', but it was really just a hotel room with tiny kitchenette and a railing over the window to justify claims of a 'balcony'. It's true that the place looks good, and the money put into finishing touches and technology is amazing. But this doesn't seem to match the laid-back family running the place, who have spread themselves out into most of the rooms. The bonus of the place is its location above the Old Town, but if going again I'd stay closer to the Cathedral, enabling you to get to either the Old Town eateries or those closer to Reid's in the West of the city. Also, avoid November for the rains.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ontheroad164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We worked hard at finding the perfect, affordable hotel for our honeymoon and boy did we find it. It looked good from the reviews and their website but as non seasoned travellers we were a little worried. We didn't believe we would get somewhere as good as this for the price we paid. It had everything we wanted, quiet, beautiful, great views, warm friendly hospitality and an accessible location.

We were warmly greeted by Beatrice who wasn't put out by our early arrival and she showed us our room and the rest of the public spaces. Her friendliness and 'nothing too much trouble' attitude was matched by the rest of the staff.

As for Madeira and Funchal we fell in love and will return again. We wanted a restful holiday after a busy few months and we got it, both mooching from cafe to cafe and sitting on the hotel balcony on an evening. Thankyou Conde Carvalhal

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Read Tripadvisor reviews before we booked and found all the positive comments made by previous guests to be true during our stay in mid-October. Friendly and helpful staff who make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dostrenostre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Once again Trip Advisor came up trumps with this hotel - lovely situation in the old part of Funchal away from the mass of tourist hotels the other side of the city. Excellent rooms - comfy beds and handy little kitchenette. Fantastic views of the harbour and city. Very helpful staff - would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillBeaminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The Residence Conde Carvalhal definitely deserves the reputation it has built up. Even before arriving, they were extremely friendly and professional, helping with airport transfers and giving advice about Madeira. The staff could not be more willing to help - evenything we have asked for they have gone out of their way to deliver. The rooms are comfortable and clean - stylishly decorated with all the comforts of a four star hotel set in a private estate which makes you feel as though you are guests at a family home. The hotel is not in the touristic hotel district of Funchal (thank goodness), but a 10 minute walk from the centre into the chic residential area with beautiful mansion houses overlooking the old town and port. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJElias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#28 of 88 in Funchal
498 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
466 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
2.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal

Address: Rua Conde Carvalhal 53, Funchal, Madeira 9060-011, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range: $86 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting, carefully restored Madeiran mansion is a 15 minute stroll from Funchal's Old Town, with sweeping ocean and mountain panoramas from its own botanical gardens and terraces. Designed by esteemed Portuguese architect Paulo David, this is a true art hotel with an annual curatorship, showcasing the very best local artists. Wandering the property, you will delight in stumbling upon hidden vistas, or encountering the latest urban photographic print from 2016 curators Urbanistas Digitais. Tended to by their own in-house gardener, the grounds boast exceptionally rare plants and ageing trees, such as Madeira's bewitching "Dragoeiro". Breakfast holds claim to strong, Portuguese coffee and homegrown, organic herbal teas and fruits. The charming service team will welcome you "home" as cherished friends and family, assuredly sharing with you the island's best kept secrets. Furnishings in the rooms are bright and breezy with wooden floors and air conditioning throughout. All rooms are connected to complimentary wireless internet, many with well-equipped kitchenettes and open terraces. Suites are located in the original mansion, while the studios are situated in a modern annex. Covered, on-site parking is both secure and complimentary. A private transfer service is available from Madeira Airport, which is a 20 minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ARTS IN Hotel Conde Carvalhal Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing