We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact seating arrangements but food okay!!”
Review of Gaviao Novo

Gaviao Novo
Reserve with
Gaviao Novo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 620 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $61
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: It is for us a privilege to be part of the good memories of those who visit Gavião Novo. In our restaurant you will find a friendly and committed team that will transform your meal into an experience worth remembering.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Compact seating arrangements but food okay!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Recommend to go and try here by our Villa owner Raoul. Sat inside as I am not one for smokers and smelly drains!!? It is a little cramped but our fellow diners were all very friendly!! IHad the Scabberd Fish with Banana which was very good,but not a lot of it,two pieces would have been better as they are small!!? My wife had the Chicken with mushroom sauce which looked good and tasted good,the only disappointment was it was served with chips,where I had a nice selection of vegetables!!?? That would have been good for both dishes if there was a bit more!! Didn't bother with pudding to Walls ice cream type menu. I think that they need a few home made deserts and it would have been excellent!! Overall pleasant dining experience. Staff friendly!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retep_rrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this review, April 13, 2017
Thank you so much for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    278
    79
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It was fine”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Good food and good service. Meat a little under done but rectified quickly and efficiently. Highly recommended. Only one complaint, and it's relevant to lots of restaurants in Funchal, wish you would ban smoking. Neighbouring table chain smoked. Wouldn't be permitted in Great Britain.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BILL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this review, April 13, 2017
Thank you so much for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A splendid meal!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by another guest at our hotel. Normally, I shun restaurants in a street full of restaurants targeting tourists. Luckily for us, I overcame my misgivings and we visited this exceptional place.
The service was perfect - not too pushy, but they made sure we knew about the dishes. They gave accurate advice about the wine also. My family had (another) amazing seafood selection while I had the best steak of the whole visit.
This restaurant is highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this review, April 13, 2017
Thank you so much for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“LUNCH WAS OK FOR A QUICK STOP BUT WATCH OUT FOR HIDDENS EXTRAS”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We called in for lunch and sat in the road outside. Pleasant staff and light-herated. Prompt service with a menu that is mostly fish and some meat. Everyone was happy except that it's annoying to find items billed without mention (the table bread). For this reasons alone it leave a bitter taste. But be warned and ask if it appears. I suspect restaurants that persist to operate like this will lose their trade and reputation in due course.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this review, April 13, 2017
Thank you so much for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you don't like it i'll pay for it...............”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

the greeting got us in and we were not let down at all, they would not say it without reason. The staff were very welcoming and attentive, making it a fun and enjoyable place to eat. Good banter without being too much. When the food arrived it certainly lived up to expectations. I had scabbard in passion fruit sauce, wonderful, and with a very fresh salad, the salt cod dish also lived up to expectations. Nice to see a restaurant that serves local dishes and not to suit tourists. Would recommend highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Buntyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this review, April 13, 2017
Thank you so much for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaviao Novo also viewed

 

Been to Gaviao Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing