We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing outstandiong but enjoyable - would go again which is important!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gaviao Novo

Gaviao Novo
Reserve with
Gaviao Novo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 606 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nothing outstandiong but enjoyable - would go again which is important!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

On Rua de Santa Maria in heart of old town, we sought this out following a review in the local Essentials magazine which said it was good for fish and frequente3d by locals. Exactly right on both counts! There's something different about dining in th estreet watching the world go by, and this restaurant gave us the opportunity to do just this. Knowing th eold town restaurants can be hit and miss, it was good to go with a recommendation and we were not disappointed. Fish was excellent, side veg cooked perfectly and service very good. Would eat here again, just missed any WOW factor or Unique Selling Point - without recommendation would probably have gone by.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank broomsticklady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    265
    74
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Attentive and charming service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Garlic prawns very good. Steak excellent although the sauces less so. Very nice drinks service and charming ambience. I had not read the reviews before trying and was concerned to see a comment about the freshness of the fish. The presentation platter shown to us as part of the sales pitch included a piece of fish that was definitely past it's prime. Hence we ordered steak. Given other similar experiences on Madeira I am beginning to wonder whether people recognise "fresh" fish when they see it?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Very friendly. Great fish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful. Mid price. Excellent service. Great fresh fish. Made special chicken skewers for our daughter even when not on menu. Superb

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vollen, Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“With a taste of mould”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had the chefs recommandation for lunch, a tomato based fish soup/stew with sea bass, shrimps and rice. Bland in taste, but worse the shrimps tasted mouldy and definitely "off". Frozen twice perhaps? Went after paying for drinks only, the waiter could of course not understand that guests could actually complain...Felt lucky not to be sick afterwards!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Henning I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best fish we tried”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We "found" this restaurant as we strolled one evening down R.de Santa Maria it looked very inviting and as it was too cold to sit outside we managed to get a table inside. We had prawn cocktails to start and a dish of three different fish, both were excellent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterandJackie639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaviao Novo also viewed

 

Been to Gaviao Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing