We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best stay ever in Madeira” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palheiro Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palheiro Village
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our best stay ever in Madeira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This vacational rental home was everything we wished for. All the amenities needed, an astonishing view of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, very secure and close to everything.
It could not be better.
Mrs Vera Prömer was absolutely competent and attentive. She provided every little thing we requested. Absolutely flawless. I definitely recomend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraCRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Olá e Viva Sandra!

Regards to Brazil!

What a great family! Always smiling. Fantastico!
I hope that during your next visit, you and I will have time to go for a run ( jog) around the Palheiro Estate.
One week is too short, especially coming from Brazil.

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

From all of us at the Village ( Louisa, Cristina and myself), we look forward to having you back.

Best regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    48
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
150
142
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

If there is a paradise on earth, it's here. We lived in apartments # 24 in October. Scenic views of Funchal and the ocean. The design and equipment of the apartments at the highest level. The kitchen has all the details thought out from a corkscrew to a large saucepan. Supermarket next door, but you need a car. All very much. This is the place where you want to go back. Special thanks to Vera for the warm welcome and is always ready to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello , Privet, Good afternoon and Olá!

Thank you very much Lev for taking the time to review us. Most of all, thank you to you and your family for staying with us at the Palheiro Village.

We look forward to having you back.
Your feedback is very important for future holiday makers and for us.
We will continue doing our best.

Kindest regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Returned to Palheiro for the 2nd time and it is just like home from home. Appts are very well equipped, We stayed in a 2 bed appt & it was as good as our 1bed appt last year. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Vera took time to show us a 3 bedroom appt for next year (extra bodies!)
We have been to Madeira several times and now prefer to self cater. The fruit & veg available on the island is fresh & tasty (nearly took the spare potatoes home with us!) The butcher in the local pingo dulce supermarket was very helpful for cuts of meat
Had a good meal at the clubhouse & a birthday celebration at Reid's (afternoon tea) otherwise we cooked all our other meals at the appt.
One suggestion, get to know the location of the mains trip switch (in case of those rare electrical storms) & make sure you have a torch!! (maybe one in each appt Vera?)
It was fun torch signaling to the appt oposite during the power cuts! Also free or cheap wifi in the appt would be good
Once again many thanks Vera & team, see you next year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B0bw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to review us!

I am very pleased that you have come back to the Village and are looking to come back again in the near future.
Your party and size of accommodation keeps increasing. Great!
Thank you for your tip ( the flashlight).
Regarding the WIFI: as you booked directly, you were not charged for WIFI. It is included for guests that book directly.
Regards to your family ( especially to your mother in-law).
We at the Palheiro Village look forward to welcoming you back ( go for the hat trick)!

Best regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our second stay at the Palhiero Village and again nothing but praise for the standard of the properties and the professionalism of the staff.
The golf club not only offers good golf but also excellent clubhouse facilities with the very good food, service and views second to none.
A car is a must because of the location but there is a local bus service that meets needs if required.
Keep up the standards, a very good choice for a stay in Madeira

Room Tip: Property number 24, 2 bedrooms offers the best views. 2 large balconies and large living accomodatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank philipos969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Good afternoon and regards to Wales!

Thank you very much for visiting the Palheiro Village again and taking the time to write a review.

It is always a pleasure having you back. Returning guests are very important as are new. Existing guests remind us of how the property was ( if standards drop) and how it is ( when we improve). This information is vital for all. Thank you.

We all look forward to welcoming you back. Apartment #24 is waiting!

Kind regards from the reception team ( Louisa, Cristina and Vera).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aartrijke, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

With two children (aged 9 and 11) we prefer the flexibility of a self catering holiday home above staying in a hotel. In view of this, for our summer holiday on Madeira earlier this month, we rented a villa at Palheiro Village ... and we couldn't have made a better choice. As a matter of fact, we got a spacious, clean, cosy furnished self catering holiday home equipped to a very high standard ... as well as some hotel services (regular cleaning, fresh bed linen and towels) ... which was the perfect combination for us.

In addition, I may not forget to mention
- the stunning views over the Atlantic Ocean and Funchal from the villa terrace and balconies.
- the Palheiro Village pool complex which was perfect for our two girls : good size, never too crowded.
- the Golf Club House where we enjoyed dinner twice during our stay.
- the welcome food package (... to avoid having to run to a food store immediately upon arrival) which even included some specific requests from our two girls.

I also recommend to rent a car when staying at the Palheiro Village ... to conquer the steep roads in the Palheiro Village (... rewarding you with the stunning views)... but mainly because it gives you full flexibility to go everywhere at whatever time ... and return afterwards to the luxury and quietness of the Palheiro Village :
- picking up food supplies
- enjoying dinner in Funchal (... good parking facilities)
- visiting, as we did, lots of places on Madeira : of course Funchal, but also Monte, Cabo Girao, the Sao Lourenço peninsula, Pico Ruivo, Santana, Porto Moniz, Curral das Freiras, Aqua Park in Santa Cruz, Machico sand beach, ...)
Once used to the steep roads, I experienced driving a car on Madeira not such a nervous activity than what I am used to in most (urban) areas on the European continent.

Summarized, I recommend the Palheiro Village to everyone visiting Madeira ... and, if we return one day, we will certainly stay at the Palheiro Village.

Geert Eeckeloo - Aartrijke - Belgium.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 54 close to the Palheiro Village pool complex, which was very convenient for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nele_Vanhaverbeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello and good morning and regards to Belgium!

Thank you very much for your visit and your comment. It was a pleasure having you as guests.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Palheiro Village and the facilities of the Estate.

The photographs of your daughters in the pool is beautiful. Thank you!

Please do not make it your last visit.
Kindest regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

2nd time at Palheiro Village. This time with 4 children aged 13 down to 10! Exceeded our expectations staying in Villa 73 at the top of the hill, or more like mansion. Lift connecting the floors, fabulous pool and views. So clean and homely. Staff are as always helpful, thank you Vera. Very quiet at the top. We walked down the hill to use no 38 bus into town which the children enjoyed but we did use a taxi back stopping outside the villa! We love Madeira. The only down side with staying in these villas, if you are with children is that it is very quiet, not really many children around. Maybe a hotel would have more action in the evening. However, we are out most nights and enjoyed the luxury and comfort of returning in the evening to this beautiful home. We prefer self catering when with the children. Recommend this beautiful and well kept village. The golf club at the top served a very good evening meal as a treat on our last night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammi517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello and thank you once again!

It was a pleasure having you back. It was not too long ago that you stayed with us.
Yes, Villa #73 is a dream like mansion. I am very pleased that you enjoyed it.
Although you may feel that there are not many children around, the property was absolutely full when you visited us last week. Is still full. The beauty of the Palheiro Village is that it is very private and you do not notice the people. You had your own private pool. There was no need to mingle.

We all look forward to your next visit. As you are aware, as returning guests, you receive a 10% discount when booking via the palheirorentals site or the TripAdvisor site.

Many thanks and hopefully soon again!

Kind regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

All these Trip Advisors can't be wrong, we stayed in Ap 27 for 2 weeks, our first visit to Madeira, the Palheiro Village was all we had hoped for. The apartment itself is spacious and very comfortably furnished with every modern convenience. We were surprised to find that we could receive prime uk TV channels and limited Sky sports. Views from the balcony were stunning making it a great place to eat, drink or simply soak up the sun. The pool complex is good, never overly busy with ample comfortable beds. Really enjoyed the golf.
The island of Madeira was a very pleasant surprise, rather unique in its mix of landscapes, the mountain views are stunning. No real natural beaches though.
Definitely worth another visit, a big thanks to Vera!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter-Cath-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Good afternoon and many thanks for taking the time to review the Palheiro Village.

It is very difficult to look into people and see what they want, expect and above all ,are thinking.
We at the Village are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Even with the resort being full, the pool is never crowded or busy. I am also pleased about that.
I have spoken to the ladies in the golf club, they have found and shall be returing your 8 iron shortly.

We look forward to having you back as guests in the Palheiro Village.
Kind regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palheiro Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palheiro Village

Property: Palheiro Village
Address: Estrada Aeroporto 65, Funchal, Madeira 9060-382, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palheiro Village 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palheiro Village is situated within the 120 hectare former hunting estate "The Palheiro Estate". The Palheiro Village offers 48 exclusively built and furnished apartments and villas. The superb sea views and panoramic views over Funchal make this the ideal holiday destination for the single traveller or families and friends. On the Estate you will find two restaurants, a tea house and an 18 hole golf course,a tennis court, a newly built spa and a sub-tropical garden. A hire car is advisable for the property. Public transport into Funchal is just outside the front door. Welcome to the Palheiro Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Expedia so you can book your Palheiro Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palheiro Village Hotel Funchal
Palheiro Village Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing