We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palheiro Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palheiro Village
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location, very convenient for families, Vera was extremely helpful with our many requests including car rentals, diving options, dining recs, whale watching excursions, & the best beaches on the island. The grounds were very beautiful and it was very easy to get around the island whether it be via rental car or taxi. There is also a bus stop nearby. Madeira is beautiful- a mix of Maui & Positano. Excellent overall!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for the great feedback.

It is always a pleasure having guests from all over the world. Providing information, being of assistance and bringing the beautiful island of Madeira closer to you (customer service) is what our job is about and that is why we are here.

You were quite a large group. It was wonderful to see so many WELL behaved children.
The whole staff enjoyed having you. You were a great bunch, always smiling!

Please don´t make it your last visit. I remember you saying that you rarely go back to the same place. If you don´t come back, then send your family and friends. Or make an exception and come back to the Palheiro Village. Book directly through our reception this time or via the Trip Advisor site.

From all of us at the Palheiro Village (Louisa, Crisitina, Fatima, Emilia and myself, Vera), many thanks for your visit and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    50
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
152
145
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I visited this stunning island (for the 5th time for my parents, my 4th) in March 2013. It was my 21st birthday too and on arrival we went into our apartment and saw the most beautiful bouquet of flowers and a birthday card on the table - which was a complete surprise! The apartment was clean, spacious and had wonderful views over the sea and the bay of Funchal. On arrival we asked for a medium sized welcome pack which has all the food you need for the first day. (Pizza lovers will be pleased) If you like a bit of luxury check this out - a heated bathroom floor in the main bathroom!

I couldn't fault the facilities this village has. We had stayed in the complex before in October 2009, and were disappointed then that the swimming pool was so cold! However this time it was a bit warmer which is a huge positive.

I am an avid golf fan so we were all regulars of the golf course and club house.
The golf course is absolutely stunning, but very challenging so expect your ball to roll down the hill back to you at frequent intervals. It also has an academy 6 hole course for those who are beginners and/or can't manage the full course. Be warned though - its harder than it first looks!!
The club house is first class. The food in there is delicious and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Those of you who haven't been to Madeira before, it's a very beautiful island and has lovely mountain walks that are available for the beginner or the experienced. Funchal centre has lots of shops and plenty of food shops for those staying in the apartment complex. I highly recommend 'L'Osteria' restaurant in Funchal centre - the food in their is absolutely first class (my favourite in their is the seafood spaghetti)

Room Tip: Rooms near the bottom can be affected by road noise, but it didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Emma,

Thank you very much for your comment.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and by the sounds of it, we will have the pleasure of having you back again. (5th time).
Yes, the pool is heated to ca 22-23ºc all year round. The pool, as you know, is huge (10m x 18m) and to keep it warm is a challenge. I am glad to hear that it was to your liking.

When you come back, if you have some time, I´d like to play a round of golf with you. I too, am an avid golfer. I love the game more than it loves me though.....

Should you wish to play regularly during your stay, please contact me directly, as in the past. We offer great unlimited golf packages.

I look forward to your next visist.

Kind regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

So glad we booked Appt 11,Palheiro Gardens, with Holiday Rentals Madeira for our first visit to this lovely island! From the moment we landed at Funchal airport on 24th June(that run way is something else!!!),everything exceeded our expectations. Our appartment was identical to the pictures on the website(you become cynical about such things and don't expect it!),so we did have the spectacular view over Funchal as well as the spacious, luxury accomodation that was promised!
The Palheiro Village facilities were outstanding, the pool area was really special, our son and daughter had a lovely spa day, we popped into the golf club for a BBQ(and were made very welcome!).The family games room is a great idea, not that we used it, never had any spare time! We picked up our hire car from the airport and I would suggest that this is an essential ingredient for your holiday(as long as someone has nerves of steel for driving up the mountain roads).We were able to pick up groceries from a couple of really good local supermarkets(which had great supplies of fresh veg,bread ,meat and fish), but it also meant that we were able to tour the whole island and visit Funchal most evenings(once we sussed out the parking, loads of free spaces underground,below the shopping malls). We loved the Zona Vela(Old Town) and despite what people say about the restauranteurs harassing you for your custom, most of them are highly entertaining, very friendly and welcoming! We struck up quite a banter with them and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of deciding where to eat each night(good value, great quality,excellent service).We didn't have afternoon tea at Reids(why would you pay £32 for a few finger sandwiches and a scone!!!) and we did visit the Casino, but wouldn't recommend you bother(smokey,tacky, slot machine arcade,urghh). Did an evening trip on a catamaran and saw loads of dolphins, did the toboggan ride down from Monte, well worth doing both.
Our holiday tip is don't be fooled by the clouds! Several others have commented, they obviously didn't discover that if you got into your hire car with a picnic and drove up into the mountains for 10 minutes, you'd find blue skies, brilliant sunshine, awesome views(above the clouds),stunning walks,secluded picnic areas(one day we bought a bbq chicken and home baked garlic bread from the roadside stalls,which made a delicious lunch). Thanks to Amr and Ricardo at Holiday Rental Madeira for making our stay so memorable..we'll be back!

Room Tip: Some properties on Palheiro Village are up a very steep hill, so if this is a problem for you, reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review Mrs Galloway!

I am very pleased that you mentioned the sun above the cloud. This happens on Madeira. Forget the weather forcast for this island. Get in the car and find the sun. It shines here everyday....you just need to know where to look. Due to the huge body of water surrounding us ( the Atlantic Ocean) and the tremendous amount of flora on the floating garden (as Madeira is known), there is a huge amount of condensation and therefore, it can becomes overcast. It is only blue skies all week. For those who still want to be able to move in the summer months without wilting, Madeira is the island.

On your next visit to Madeira, the palheirorentals.com site or the Trip Advisor site have the full selection (43 villas and apartments) of what the Palheiro Village has to offer.

Till your next visit. All the best and kind regards,

Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Well designed and excellently equipped with great sea/Funchal views. Casa Vehla restaurant a real treat. Swimming pool and facilities good. Car essential. Rentals manager very helpful. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Apartments on front row experience greater traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben_3_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Thank you for staying at the Palheiro Village and dining at the Casa Velha restaurant.

Many guests do not realise how much the Palheiro Village / Estate has to offer ( golf, spa, two restaurants and the tea house).

I am very pleased to hear that the accommodation was to your liking. Only with feeback are we able to improve and keep the standard high.

When returning to the Village and booking directly via the Trip Advisor / Palheiro Rentals site, you are able to choose the apartment / villa (subject to availability) and WIFI is included in the price.

We look forward to having you back as guests in the future!

Kind regards ,

Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family visited Madeira in a group with three other families and stayed at Palheiro Village in May 2013. The villa we stayed in was lovely and very clean. The beds were comfy, we slept very well! Kitchen was well stocked and bathrooms were spacious. The clubhouse and pool were also wonderful. Staff were very friendly, especially Vera, who went out of her way to return one of my daughter's possessions that she left behind in the villa. We are very grateful to the staff for being so accommodating of all the requests we made. We would definitely choose to stay at Palheiro Village if we were to visit Madeira again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Emma,

Thank you very much for your comment and for your thank you card. It is on my desk.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Palheiro Village.

Your group and the BBQ´s by the pool have inspired us to have a BBQ´s every two weeks in the Clubhouse. It is very popular. Thank you!

I hope your lamb has arrived home safely. He looked very sad when I stuck him in the envelope and sent him home to you. I am sure he and you are both smiles now!

We at the Village hope to have you, your family and friends back to the Palheiro Village in the future.

Kind regards from the ladies in the reception: Louisa, Cristina, Fatim and myself, Vera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Madeira in June 2013 and we stayed at the Palheiro Village. If you like breathtaking views then this is the place to stay. There is no other property on the island with views like this one. At night the view is even more stunning. We stayed in one of the self catering villas on the Palheiro Estate. The villa was very comfortable, a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, comfortable, clean and spacious bedrooms and bathrooms with lots of closet space. Patio with table and chairs to enjoy your breakfast/luch or dinner with Funchal in view. We picked up our own groceries on our way in from the airport but if you like a shopping list can be pre-arranged prior to your arrival by the Palheiro staff. They can also arrange to meet you at the airport. The staff was very friendly and professional and willing to please. Vera, the rental Manager was great and took care of all our needs and reservations by e-mail. Thanks Vera and hope to see you again soon. The property's location is about an 8 minute drive into town (about 7 EU) or a 15 min bus ride (1.25 EU). We did both and enjoyed the bus ride as we were able to see other neighbourhoods and mingle with the locals.. Walking is not recommended as the narrow roads wind up and down hills. The property is huge with gardens, hotel, restaurant, pool, golf and many more amenities. Tours of the island can be arranged by the staff and we would recommend the East and West tours. The only negative I can think of is that June is a cloudy month in Madeira and many of our days were overcast other than that, I would highly recommend this property and would return in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Corner or end units have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12boltontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello fellow Canadians!

Thank you very much for your comment and of course your visit!
It was a pleasure having you as guests.

I look forward to having you back as guests again. The weather at the moment is ( eat your heart out) sunny, sunny and yes, sunny and ca. 28ºc. Absolutely fantastic.

If you want to escape the Canadian winters, then come back to Madeira between October till March. Average temperatures of ca. 20ºc and sunny days too.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and a beintot!

Kind regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week at Villa 34 which was on the Palheiro Village but was managed by Amr at Holiday Rentals Madeira beautiful villa the weather was a bit mixed. We have stayed at Palheiro about twenty times and will always return. The one point that I would like to get over about the village is there are wonderful facilities there the swimming pool, the golf club and the hotel but Palheiro do not make the best of this, If they ran a courtesy bus a few times a day from pick up points I'm sure they would find that the golf club and hotel ect would benefit from this. Many times we have been at these places and they are empty as it is to hard a walk to them. The village would also benefit from a small shop selling essentials. Not every one wants to hire a car and taxis are expensive although the bus is good for going down to Funchal it is not recommending for coming back as the walk up to villas is not for the faint hearted. The village has been up and running a few years but needs some tweaking as I am sure more people would return if it was easier to get around. The staff there are lovely and the villas and apartments first class.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bliss1Glasbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Palheiro Village.

Your feedback is always very important.

When booking directly via the reception ( Vera- Palheiro Village) we are able to provide a welcome food pack upon arrival.
A shop is certainly a possibility. However, clients that know and visit the Palheiro Village do require a hire car for greater flexibility.

Clients that do not have a hire car, however wish to access the Spa, Golfcourse or the Palheiro Clubhouse restaurant (during office hours),simply need to request and we have always driven our clients to the upper half of the Estate. No problem.

The bus stop which is just outside the main entrance runs regularly into Funchal. It is used quite often by guests and the majority seem to be very pleased. It is impossible to please everyone.

Best regards from the girls at the reception (Louisa, Cristina and Vera).
We look forward to having you back to the Palheiro Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palheiro Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palheiro Village

Property: Palheiro Village
Address: Estrada do Aeroporto, 65, Funchal, Madeira 9060-382, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palheiro Village 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a wide choice of Luxury Villas and Apartments we are able to offer you a home away from home at very reasonable prices with excellent conditions. Additionaly, our guests are entitled to a great selection of facilities and services at discounted prices. Located on a prime hilltop site overlooking Funchal, the 120 hectare Palheiro Estate has grown from an early 19th century hunting lodge and summer retreat for nobility into a sophisticated resort destination. It is important to remember that renting a holiday home in Madeira differs from reserving a hotel room or bed & breakfast. The advantages of renting a property at Palheiro Village allow our guests to enjoy privacy and flexibility within a luxury property offering unsurpassed views. Many of our guests find that renting a holiday home provides them with exceptional value and freedom. All of our fully furnished and very well equipped properties will surpass all your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palheiro Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palheiro Village Hotel Funchal
Palheiro Village Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing