We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palheiro Village

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Palheiro Village
Certificate of Excellence
Glasbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

This is our tenth visit to Palheiro village. We have had several villas and apartments over a four year period. We have just returned from a two week stay. This time as there was only three of us we decided on the pool apartment. The apartment was as usual very well equipped and furnished to a very high standard. As Usual the staff were wonderful Fatima, Ameila and Amr the Rental Manager can not do enough for you. We were very saddened that half way through our holiday Amr left the village. I hope that this does not effect the service that ourselves have always received and effects the high quality of service. I find it hard to believe that they will find a replacement easily. I will watch with interest over the coming months the reviews.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank bliss1Glasbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    48
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
150
143
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We rented an apartment for five weeks in Palheiro during last week of February and the whole of March. Besides issues with the power circuit during the whole stay, the power went when using the oven and any more electronical item such as dish washer, tv or washing machine/microwave - the village is a great place to stay. Considering the time we stayed and the issue wasn't fixed then, I would perhaps have expected a cut on the price or any other compensation. After all, putting back the electricity 5-6 times when cooking wasn't fun and the whole apt turned black in the evening!

One should keep in mind the topography which results in steep roads and colder temperature (the village is overlooking Funchal). Not an issue in July but worth keeping in mind in March.

Would I still return? Without doubt, yes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiklasJorgensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conisbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just returned from a week's holiday (2-9 July) in Madeira staying at the Palheiro Village - our Apartment was no 13. Fantastic views, well equipped and tastefully furnished accommodation. Also, very clean.

The whole village complex is high quality. Might have been the time of year when we visited, but often had the luxurious swimming facilities to ourselves. Ate at the Golf Club restaurant twice - both occasions had very good meals with stunning views and good service. The restaurant closes early - last orders around 7.30pm - was not a problem to us. There is also a tea room on the estate which was delightful.

Slight drawback was the noise from the road which is very close (concealed by a large conifer hedge). We had read about the noise issue in other tripadvisor comments but were still surprised on arrival by how noticeable it seemed. We were offered an alternative which wasn't, in our opinion, as good as Apartment 13 although quieter. We decided to stick with the original allocation and to be honest after a day or so, we did not notice the noise as much - too busy admiring the views of Funchal and its bay. We would go back to Apartment 13 again, but may not suit all visitors. There is accommodation higher up the village.

Staff on site were very pleasant and helpful.

Overall, super holiday in Madeira - lovely weather and lots of great meals out in Funchal. One tip is if you are going to hire a car (like we did) make sure it has a good sized engine - possibly diesel - as some of the roads on the island are seriously steep and it is quite scary when you don't think you are going to get up them!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello to you both! Bom dia!

Thank you for your visit. You are now a part of the family and that means that you have to come back and visit us more often. We will hold you to your word and look forward to having you back.
Not in January ( it was a very dry month- you know what I mean)!
It was a pleasure having you as guests and all of us at the Palheiro Estate still speak of you ((positively).

My putting has gotten better ( stiff wrists). I won´t mention the rest of the game.
With the best wishes from our family to yours, keep well!

Kind regards,

Louisa, Cristina and myself, Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent managed property. Made of a number of appartments some (our too) with amazing 180 degree sea views and, as you go up the hill, superb villas. Our appartment was rather large, very well appointed and very clean. The terras gave privacy and full day sun. At the top of the hill there is a small and exclusive looking hotel with a very good restaurant and a lovely spa. Also on the property there is a large (18 holes I believe) golf course with its club and restaurant. All in all a great place to enjoy sun and quietness during the cold winter months. Supermarkets an restaurants are closeby. But be warned: you will NEED a car, there is no way around it if you want to move a little. Madeira is a very steep hills lovely island ! We were travelling with a baby of 3 month and we felt all the time safe and well taken care of. Fully recommended against the winter blues.

Room Tip: Ask for an appartment with the sea and Funchal view, you will understand why when you step out on yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristi_and_Camelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown On spey Scotland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just back after two weeks golf trip. Bookedas a result of high rating on TA.

The good stuff

Staff excellent
Outside pool great
Apartment beautiful
Clubhouse superb food excellent
Golf course tough but interesting
Bus close by into Funchal if you donr want to drive

The bad stuff

Very noisy apartment next to two main roads.
Extra 400 euros for two people if you want to use the spa and inside pool when it rains yet golf members get it for 200 euros. (we had just spent 2500 euros for two weeks) ++++ all the money spent in the clubhouse.
Golf buggys very expensive
Insulation and noise deadening in apartments poor.


Overall we had a great holiday. Disappointed with road noise especially after reading other comments on TA before we booked and specifically asking for an siting a previous TA comment about booking an apartment high up in the village so we did not have that issue of noise.


Amr was not there when we arrived and the lady who checked us in was really helpful and pleasant and did offer another two options. One had no balconies and up 25 stairs and the other was no better than what we had.

Turns out the apartments higher up are bigger and more expensive and so were not actually available to us on the deal we booked.

We were not told that at the point of booking had we known that we may not have booked.

We did also ask prior to arrival about a deal on the spa but never got a proper answer and Amr told us on arrival best to go see the spa people.

Surely as they are all the same ownership common sense should prevail and a package should have been offered.

The road noise was very very annoying even with the doors closed and so we spent very little time in the apartment sitting outside. In the mornings we were wakened early by traffic.

Amr did cone round a couple of days after we checked in to offer apartment 80 which was not ideal being beside the pool and up about 25 steps. We stayed put and put up with the noise.

We would go back but only to a higher up apartment and if we got a deal on the spa.

I marked the score down for the reasons above. Overall clean and very well appointed with attentive and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwd1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_ashour, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Mr Dick,

Thank you for taking the time to Review Palheiro Village and Palheiro Spa. Palheiro Spa apologizes for the mis-understanding which has regretfully occurred here. We advertise on our website, in Palheiro Village and at the Golf Club our prices for using the Spa Facilities which are: Day Pass €15, Weekly Pass €50. We do not differentiate between Village Guests and Golfers. It is very disappointing for all concerned that this information has somehow reached you incorrectly. When you are planning to visit Palheiro Village again please contact the Spa directly (spa@palheiroestate.com)
where we are more than happy to tailor a Spa Package to your specific needs.
we look forward to see you again at the Village, and we will do our best to help you to have a pleasant.

Best regards,

Amr Ashour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed in Palheiro Village for a long weekend in July and was incredibly impressed with it. The whole village was beautiful,and the apartment a very high standard. Everything was very good quality,and the kitchen well stoked with appliances. We had a problem with the shower but it was sorted out the minute we reported the fault.It was a lovely, relaxing break and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have just returned from the Palheiro Village in Madeira and have to say we had a fabulous trip.

Usually we are disappointed with accommodation due to our high standards, however on this occasion I have to commend Palheiro Village as it met our high expectations. I would definitely stay there again, and certainly would recommend it as a place to stay for either a couple or family.

The accommodation is beautifully finished to a high standard and was comfortable and felt home from home. We travelled with a baby, and I was initially concerned as I can get paranoid that she may wake if we make too much noise, but the internal walls of the apartment were solid concrete, so noise did not travel between the rooms in our apartment, meaning that I could relax a bit, she sleep well while we entertained in the lounge area.

Concerning noise our only bother was in the second week when someone moved into the apartment above us. You could hear them moving around upstairs, and dragging furniture, due to the tiled lounge/kitchen floors. They also showered in the middle of the night, which we could hear, again this is not usual behaviour and although this was slightly annoying, I would say this was an exceptional circumstance whereby they were very noisy at generally quiet times for us, which magnified the noise.

The view for the New Year Fireworks from our balcony was exceptional. We could view across the bay of Funchal and over the outskirts of the city which gave us a breathtaking view of the fireworks - this was definitely a bonus to our stay, and again a great opportunity as parents of a baby, as she slept in the room next door, while we still enjoyed the evening.

Lovely pool area, although heated it was a touch too cold for us to enjoy at the time of year we visited as the outside temp was approx 18 -20 oC over Christmas and New Year.

If you stay there is a bus stop right outside, but I would probably recommend that you need a hire car to get around the best bits of the island.

Room Tip: We had exceptional views as we were nearer to the main road at the bottom of the village hill. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palheiro Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palheiro Village

Property: Palheiro Village
Address: Estrada Aeroporto 65, Funchal, Madeira 9060-382, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palheiro Village 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palheiro Village is situated within the 120 hectare former hunting estate "The Palheiro Estate". The Palheiro Village offers 48 exclusively built and furnished apartments and villas. The superb sea views and panoramic views over Funchal make this the ideal holiday destination for the single traveller or families and friends. On the Estate you will find two restaurants, a tea house and an 18 hole golf course,a tennis court, a newly built spa and a sub-tropical garden. A hire car is advisable for the property. Public transport into Funchal is just outside the front door. Welcome to the Palheiro Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Palheiro Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palheiro Village Hotel Funchal
Palheiro Village Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing