We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A must have”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mutley8
west sussex, england
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Like the curate's egg - good in parts”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Pros:
1. Beautifully constructed and finished villa with lovely views and immediate access to bus services to Funchal
2. Nearby cafe with excellent cheap food and friendly service.

Cons:
1.Described on Trip Advisor's site (where I booked the villa) as having three bathrooms, one with half bath (the reason I booked this particular villa), we discovered one en- suite shower room and a very small general shower room and no bath. The agent did not seem bothered about this misrepresentation. Despite a long discussion with him about the washing facilities, I notice the error is still on the Trip Advisor web site! The lack of advertised facilities makes this very expensive accommodation.

The site also advertises infinity pool and while it didn't bother us, it is not an infinity pool.

2. Because of its location directly on a hill road it was very noisy making sunbathing unpleasant.
3. Internet connection is only reliable in the living area which can be a problem when children want to use it in the bedrooms.
3. Check-out at 10 am is very early and, to make matters worse the agent turned up with cleaner 15 minutes early putting extra pressure on an already pressured situation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2018
Thank you for posting your comments.
We think anyone reading the previous 5 reviews will be comfortable in the knowledge that Vila da Portada is a great place to stay. Website accuracy is a priority for us, and we continue to be baffled with this customers expectation of 3 bathrooms and a bath, as we have never advertised this. There are 2 shower rooms – one en-suite to the master bedroom and a good size family one. In addition, there is an outside shower for the swimming pool.
There are plenty of photographs of the swimming pool, so guests know what to expect.
This is the first negative comment regarding the internet connection, but is something we will certainly look into.
It is located above the main road, but this is not something that has impacted the enjoyment of previous guests stay.
When there is a departure and arrival on the same day, then check-out has to be at 10:00 so we can prepare the house for the new guests. This is standard for rental houses, certainly in Madeira. We will always accommodate a late check-out where possible, but if a guest has to check-out at 10:00 on departure day they are advised at check-in, so there is plenty of warning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mroshier
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must have”
Reviewed December 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A fantastic place, living area was nice, kitchen had everything you needed, bedrooms were really comfy. Outside BBQ was great and swimming pool was lovely.
Pub just down the road and used the local bus service which was easy and cheap.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2017
A great review - thank you very much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen w
1 review
“Great villa with excellent facilities.”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A very well equipped villa, with great views over Funchal. The villa has been renovated to a very high standard with attention to detail and I would definitely stay here again. The welcome pack on arrival is a nice touch and the management company make the arrival and departure very easy. The villa is not within walking distance of Funchal, however the local bus service runs past the villa and operates a good service, taxis are approx 10 euro from the town but do not pick one up from the bottom of the toboggan run to go into town as they are charge double. A great place to stay and recharge the batteries.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
We hope to welcome you back one day to recharge your batteries! Thanks for the great review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etzcl
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Madeira, dreams come true”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Beautiful new house, very well equiped with all you need for a enjoyable stay. We loved the big views over Funchal and the sea. Right from the house you can walk up the hill. There is also a little restauran near by, where you can eat very cheap meat and fish. And it is not only cheap, it is also very very good!!! For us holidays on Madeira is a dream coming true! Thanks a lot to Linda, Norberta and Ricardo, who did all to make our stay unforgettable! We will be back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you very much for your comments and recommendation and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our service. We look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullin4
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in Monte, Funchal.”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent a very enjoyable ten days at this property - it was just as described in the details and had all you need for your stay and very clean, including a mid week clean and change of bed linen and towels.We mainly ate out although it was useful to have the BBQ. It was nice to be able to walk to O Rustico's just down the road from villa and we also enjoyed meals at Olives and Espettus (our favourite). We didn't have a car and although buses regular did feel a car is a must. Would definitely recommend this villa to anyone visiting Madeira.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you very much for your comments and recommendation and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanilleCa...
caudry
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2018
What an absolutely super review and great for our future guests to read. Thank you very much for your lovely comments, all very much appreciated. We hope to Welcome you again one of these days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent19...
Schifflange, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
Merci Beaucoup
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing