We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best location in the area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Probably the best location in the area!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel left mixed feelings.
The general impression is undoubtedly positive.
The location is great, the hotel's architecture is very interesting and non-standard. Stunning ocean views from most rooms. Beautiful, well-kept grounds with a large swimming pool. Easy access to the waterfront. Near a lot of restaurants, cafes and a small shopping center. All this is just a 5-minute walk away.
It's a real seaside resort.
Rooms are clean and ours (1702) was very spacious. Different sized balconies in each room. Some with sun loungers, some, like ours, with a table and chairs.
However, all this splendor for some reason is not supported by basic and expected service in the room. You will not find a bottle of water or a wine glass. Not to mention the dining knife and corkscrew. We arrived late at night in Funchal and, of course, everything was closed. There is no bar in the room. I had to go at the middle of the night to reception and ask for water.
And very uncomfortable beds. Very. Their king size bed consists of two single beds. Just put together. Each one has separate set of clothes and nothing keeps the beds together. Mattresses are also very uncomfortable. Such a wonderful hotel should have better beds.
Nevertheless, I certainly would recommend Pestana Promenade for those looking for a nice hotel resort in Madeira.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambler_Timca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Customer

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for the time spent in providing us with your review.

We appreciate all the comments given which enables us to see the positive aspects so to keep and also the minor faults which must be looked upon and rectified on a long term.

Therefore we would like to show our gratitude and thank you for the laudation to our hotel’s architecture, location and well-kept facilities.

We would like to inform that as for the non-existence of a complete mini-bar in the room, such service may be requested to the main reception by an additional charge, in accordance with the items requested by the guests.
The cutlery, due to the fact your standard rooms in general are not equipped with a kitchenette, items as a knife or corkscrew may be requested to the main reception, so we may send to the room.

As for the discommodity of our beds and mattresses, please rest assured that such points have been forward to our Main Housekeeper to see in which points we may change in the future.

Also we would like to have the opportunity to inform you that in term of the mattresses, we can also upon the guests request inform our chamber maids so to change for a softer mattress.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in the future,

Respectfully,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    468
    83
    17
    7
See reviews for
335
1,137
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great to return to our timeshare and as always, we felt instantly relaxed from the moment we arrived. Sitting on the balcony looking at the fantastic swimming pools, the sea, the rock, the palm trees and the landscaped gardens is something we never tire of.

Wifi signal has improved since last year and we had no problem picking up a signal anywhere, including our room. Wifi access is free for two users per room, just need to ask reception for the codes.

Since our last visit, the road in front of the hotel has been opened up to allow through traffic to and from town and we were dreading it because we like things quiet and peaceful. We were pleasantly surprised though as we could hear no road noise inside the hotel and it's very convenient now having a bus stop right outside and a shorter cut through to the Forum.

Drinks in the bar during happy hour are a real bargain. 50% off all drinks between 17.00 and 19.00 and we enjoyed some very nice cocktails in the evenings.

We love having the best of both worlds here.
- An apartment but with all the facilities of a hotel.
- Quiet and peaceful but with plenty of good restaurants and supermarkets close by
- a lovely area including the promenade but with easy access to town.

The staff all work very hard and are very friendly and helpful.

Can't wait until our next visit.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank queen_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Customer

We would like to start by thanking you for your return visit and for support in writing us your review.

We are very glad that another stay in our resort has been to your entire satisfaction, enabling many other return visits.

As for the improvements made concerning both the Wifi Connection and our efforts in maintaining the peaceful of the resort with the new road which is now open near the resort, we thank you for the providing us recognition for our efforts.

We are overwhelmed that you have decided to take on our offer of the Happy Hour.

It is wonderful to get such positive feedback of the changes that we have made along the months for a better Guest Service and Satisfaction.

We will be sure to have this review always as a pilot to keep up with the good work and continue to provide to all our guests memorable moments while in our resort.

Until your next visit,

With our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
255 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent a full week here mid- May 2014. We were very happy we picked this hotel, after much researching ( since there we so many to pick from .) The staff was every helpful and pleasant.The room was large, very comfortable, modern decorations , 2 couches ( great for relaxing ) besides a balcony with view of the sea. The bed was very comfortable, the bath room was roomy , & all very clean. The breakfast had endless choices from hot to cold and we esp. like having the choice of sitting inside or outside. It was a buffet. We also liked the location, easy bus ride to town or a easy 25 min. walk. you can also walk the beach walkway, which leads to grocery store, restaurants and more shops. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: request a high floor and a sea view is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryjoe0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest

We present our sincere gratefulness for both your choice in our group and resort in Madeira Island.

We thank you for the polite words conveyed to the level of service and politeness of staff.

It is wonderful to be a part on such memorable moments that you have spent in our resort, therefore thank you for let us play a positive and successful role in your holidays.

We hope you may visit us again in the future,

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent a week here up to June 2nd, weather, staff, location excellent. Modern, spotless rooms. We were half board which we felt excellent value. No scramble for sun beds and a pleasant helpful pool attendant if you needed a sun umbrella. Ideal situation for walks along the promenade. Free good speed wi fi even around the outdoor pool.
There are 3 things which stop this being 5 star. The are only 2 lifts , not enough for the number of guests. No hospitality tray with tea and coffee, always available in any other 4 star hotel we have stayed in. The last niggle was that the food buffet area in the dining room is in a corner and gets very crowed at dinner time, you have to avoid bumping into guests carrying plates of food and often wait ages behind someone putting tomatoes and lettuce leaves on their plate one at a time.
However, overall it is an excellent hotel which just needs a little tweak here and there. Would we go back, yes, in fact we are booked in for September this year, and my travel kettle is coming too ha ha.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greekophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Customer

We would like to start by thanking you for your contribution and visit to our resort and to Madeira Island.

As a rated 4 star hotel we do our utmost to provide you a service far beyond the rated star being our utmost endeavor the guest’s overall satisfaction.
Our goal always is to provide the guests a memorable stay, worthy of memory for the future.

Therefore concerning the less positive aspects mentioned in this review, rest assured such will be forward to the departments in question for improvements that may be fit and possible in the future.

Once more, we present our sincere gratitude for your visit and look forward to welcome you again soon,

Sincerely yours,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I am a returning visitor and the hotel is as good as ever. Lovely rooms. Great staff. Beautiful grounds and pool.

Breakfast is good and even when we arrived late, there was plenty of choice.

Came later in the year than usual. Pool was warm when the sun was out but a bit colder when cloudy.

Just great value for money, especially if you book early.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view but we prefer a higher floor to get the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Customer

We would like to thank you for your return visit to our resort and continuous choice in our group.

In behalf of our Management, we would like to thank you for your testimony, which is of the utmost importance to us all so to provide a better customer service, attentive to every detail.

We hope to have your continuous visit in the years to come,

With that in mind,

We present our highest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I am very anxious to express my satisfaction of our visit to Madeira and the especially the highest standard of services we received at the Pestana Promenade. The facilities exceeded all my expectations. The friendly and warm service attitude of all the staff, the cleaning ladies, the receptionists, the pool staff, at the sauna - everyone was something so good you rarely experience. The rooms, pool and location were the best I have seen.
- I felt that we are truly visiting "the Pestana family". Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulSS4674CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly, we would like to express our gratituide for your visit to Madeira Island and stay at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort.

We do our very best to go far and beyond what is expected of us, therefore, thank you for allowing us to welcome you and present you with our service.

Surely we will pass on such review to all the staff working in our unit so to keep up with the good work and continue to exceel in the future.

We say farewell for now and hope you may visit us again soon,

With our kindest regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owermoigne Dorset
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

A group of nine stayed for a week on half board. All the rooms were excellent, they were spacious clean and well kept, all had balconies with sea views. The food and service could not be faulted, all the staff were friendly and could not do enough to help. The indoor and outdoor pools and spa were large and spotlessly clean. Evening entertainment was maybe a weak point but we did not need it.
A great location for walking the promenade or for transport into the city centre with plenty of tour operators nearby. A super week enjoyed by the whole group.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TLPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Customer

We would like to thank you for your latest visit to our resort and choice in our Group.

Our sincere gratituide towards the good comments which were raised in this travel review site in terms of the level of service of our staff and the resort’s facilities.

Concerning the evening entertainment which in no way has spoiled your holidays but was
considered a less positive point, we would like to assure you that will forward this point to our Management for their review and for changes that may seem fit in the future.

in hopes of a return visit in the future,

Presenting our utmost regards,

Tãnia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Property: Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing