We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed there last year for our honey moon escape and were surprised by the awesome service: we got an upgrade of our room when they found we're just got married and a bottle of wine together with their specific cake. It was a great beginning of our stay! We enjoyed a lot our vacation, even though the hotel is quite far from the center of Funchal, the bus station is near the hotel and you're in the center of the city in a few minutes. There are also good restaurants around the hotel with great food and service. The most I enjoyed each day of the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel was the outside pool! We loved the hotel and Madeira itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for such great comments. It is of great pride to us and increasing endeavor to read such review which makes us excel now and in the future.

We present once more our congratulations concerning the past wedding anniversary celebration. Lots of continuous love and hapiness in this new union is our sincere wishes.

We will await for a return visit,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    454
    81
    17
    7
See reviews for
327
1,119
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I chose Pestana Promenade for its location [just away from the centre of Funchal] and it being on more level ground. We then also checked other details with Trip Advisor and could see that the bulk of comments [such as cleanliness and food] were very favourable. So we went expecting something good.
I write to let you know that after a great week with this hotel, we can honestly say that it exceeded the highest of our expectations; the location was, indeed, superb, the room wonderful but it was the staff who offered a level of service that - despite a lifetime of travel to most continents - these good folk consistently exceeded the very best. Nothing was too much trouble at reception, in the dining room, by the pool or the young boy at the door.

A truly remarkable place.

Room Tip: If waiting for a few seconds for a lift - really bugs you - then you may better on the lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your support to this travel review website and for providing your travel experience
to us and others which in the future may choose to visit us.

We are extremely glad and overwelmed with such good points conveyed to us towards the service provided and our resort friendliness.

Rest assured such comments will be treasured among all envolved, to keep not only the good work but continue to exceel in our daily tasks!

Presenting our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

As reported by my husband 18/6/13 we booked 3 rooms in January and 3 days before we were to travel 2 of our rooms were offered an upgrade the the Pestana Grande. It took several phone calls to our travel agent and a considerable amount of stress to reject this up grade as it was important our party stayed together. The hotel did upgrade our rooms on arrival as compensation but offered no explanation why this had happened. During our week stay a large party of prospective guests arrived, which resulted in certain areas being cordoned off for "a private function' and one evening there was a cocktail party for these guests with copious amounts of free wine. It was obvious from the guided tours around the hotel for these guests that Pestana were hoping to sell time share or similar and this was why we had been asked to move to the Pestana Grande we have stayed on several occasions at both the Grande and Promenade and was somewhat disappointed to be pushed aside in favour of this group. The holiday was excellent and we will stay at the Promenade again as the location and facilities are excellent, but please don't treat existing customers less favourably than timeshare potentials.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JillBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your comments on this website and please allow us to inform our cocktail party is for existing members of the Pestana Vacation Club and visitors on exchange from other resorts and is held on weekly basis at all the Pestana Resorts on Madeira . By no means are these guests being favoured as all Pestana Guests are special to us

Conveying our sincere regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Professional friendly reception staff on arrival, had lunch at the pool bar, good food, nice setting, however hotel proces as you woud expect. The rooms are pleasant and kept immaculate. The whole hotel is very clean and tidy. It is a very peaceful and quiet resort, perfect for chilling out. Generally not a lot of children. The pool area is lovely and surrounded by nice gardens, also lots of different seating options, not just loungers. We did not eat in the hotel at night and if we went to the bar for a night cap it was usually very quiet. Having been here before however the hotel do offer good meal packages and event nights. Overall a very pleasant stay. My tip, 1/2 price cocktails between 5-7pm.

Room Tip: most rooms are sea view and this is the best option - if there are just 2 of you the studios are a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wewanttobe2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you both for your returned visit, comments posted and for your belief in us to recommend us to others. It is with great satisfaction that we become aware your stay in our resort has been once more a delight.

Until next time,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

First visit to Madeira and we were not disappointed to have chosen this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Booked a superior room overlooking the beautiful swimming pool and ocean. Large room, beautifully furnished opening out to large balcony with sun loungers and a table and chairs. On returning to our room on the first day, champagne in an ice bucket accompanied by large plate of prepared fruits had been put in our room with a charming note wishing us a happy anniversary. Popped the cork and sat on the balcony enjoying the view and the champagne. Great start to our holiday! The staff were delightful and so helpful wherever we went in the hotel. Breakfasts in the restaurant really good with a great selection. Staff very attentive and worked so very hard. We attended the hotel bbq evening out on the patio. Amazing food beautifully presented with lots of lovely wines. We don't normally like hotel barbecues because of bad experiences in the past, but this was exceptional and most people dressed up to make it a really special evening. Would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meggymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for such great comments. It is of great pride to us and increasing endeavor to read such review which makes us excel now and in the future.

We present once more our congratulations concerning the past wedding anniversary celebration.

We will wait for a return visit,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel earlier in the month and had a really lovely week. We loved Madeira and will certainly return. However I am not sure whether I would return to this hotel. It had many good points - the staff were excellent, the pools fabulous, lovely spa, spacious, comfortable rooms but a few areas were disappointing. Storage in our room was limited, just one wardrobe and half-sized drawers, the lifts were grossly inadequate for the size of hotel, sound-proofing could certainly be improved upon. The over zealous stirring of drinks very early morning next door, woke us up!! And the biggest niggle - the bagging of sun beds despite notices asking people not to. More beds and spacing for beds should have been thought of given the number of guests. We had room only as there are so many fabulous restaurants in Funchal so I am unable to comment on the quality of food. The kitchen in our room was well equipped and the dish washer very useful.

Overall a great week, but with lots of high quality accommodation on the island I am still unsure as to whether I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny one! Several are under cover despite being sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daph8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for such great comments. It is of great pride to us and increasing endeavor to read such review which makes us excel now and in the future.

We present once more our congratulations concerning the past wedding anniversary celebration.

We will await for a return visit,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited the Pestana Promenade Hotel in June 2013 (got back yesterday) so this review is fresh in my mind. I try to be fair to ensure that the reader can make decisions based on a review which is as impartial as possible.
The Hotel is generally of a high standard and staff try hard to be helpful. Food at breakfast is good quality but the restaurant is small so breakfast can be a difficult time around 8:30 to 9:30. We did not eat evening meals at the restaurant because we found that we could get good food at local restaurants cheaper. We came in from an evening out to get a drink from the bar at 11:35p.m only to be told it was closed (go to the bar down the promenade called Number 2 which is open til later).

Downsides are that the woodwork outside the restaurant could do with some fresh stain to freshen it up and they have some 'beds' to relax on outside the restaurant and in the bar area which could do with a good clean.

The rooms are of a high standard but again the settee in our room had grubby cloth. Otherwise the cleanliness is good.

Location is a fair way out of Funchal and a taxi costs around 7 Euros to the centre or a reasonable walk for able people (about 30 - 40 mins). This area is very hilly so expect some climbing of hills.

This group have some kind of club in operation called 'Pestana Options' which we experienced when we received a note under our door inviting us to pre-dinner drinks. This turned out to be a selling opportunity for the local Brummy salesman (Jack). They also bring people round to view the hotel during the day (a bit off-putting when you are trying to relax and people are taking photographs etc).

I booked a seaview room and was given a ground floor room which smelled of stale cigarette smoke and air freshener (my wife and I are non-smokers) but they changed it for a first floor room but I would advise booking a high floor in advance.

Room Tip: Book a high room in advance of your trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iamagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your experience towards our resort.

This not only enables us to evaluate ourselves towards the service given and also to be aware of our guest’s satisfaction being perceived or not, therefore we cannot thank you enough.
All the less positive comments posted will be forward to the departments in questions for changes in the future, if they are find needed.

We hope we may welcome you again in our resort in the future,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Property: Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing