We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madeira Experience”
Review of Pestana Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Promenade
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited the Pestana Promenade Hotel in June 2013 (got back yesterday) so this review is fresh in my mind. I try to be fair to ensure that the reader can make decisions based on a review which is as impartial as possible.
The Hotel is generally of a high standard and staff try hard to be helpful. Food at breakfast is good quality but the restaurant is small so breakfast can be a difficult time around 8:30 to 9:30. We did not eat evening meals at the restaurant because we found that we could get good food at local restaurants cheaper. We came in from an evening out to get a drink from the bar at 11:35p.m only to be told it was closed (go to the bar down the promenade called Number 2 which is open til later).

Downsides are that the woodwork outside the restaurant could do with some fresh stain to freshen it up and they have some 'beds' to relax on outside the restaurant and in the bar area which could do with a good clean.

The rooms are of a high standard but again the settee in our room had grubby cloth. Otherwise the cleanliness is good.

Location is a fair way out of Funchal and a taxi costs around 7 Euros to the centre or a reasonable walk for able people (about 30 - 40 mins). This area is very hilly so expect some climbing of hills.

This group have some kind of club in operation called 'Pestana Options' which we experienced when we received a note under our door inviting us to pre-dinner drinks. This turned out to be a selling opportunity for the local Brummy salesman (Jack). They also bring people round to view the hotel during the day (a bit off-putting when you are trying to relax and people are taking photographs etc).

I booked a seaview room and was given a ground floor room which smelled of stale cigarette smoke and air freshener (my wife and I are non-smokers) but they changed it for a first floor room but I would advise booking a high floor in advance.

Room Tip: Book a high room in advance of your trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iamagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your experience towards our resort.

This not only enables us to evaluate ourselves towards the service given and also to be aware of our guest’s satisfaction being perceived or not, therefore we cannot thank you enough.
All the less positive comments posted will be forward to the departments in questions for changes in the future, if they are find needed.

We hope we may welcome you again in our resort in the future,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were unfortunately caught up in the French air traffic control strike which delayed our flight some 3 odd hours so instead of arriving for the evening meal we checked in at 11pm. Not the hotels fault I realise, but found we could have nothing to eat as the kitchen had closed and the surrounding eating places had closed too. We were starving, thirsty and tired. Not even a glass of water was offered. I have read reviews about other hotels who's guests have checked in late and had a nice platter of food and glass of wine waiting for them in their room. Not in the Pestana. It would have just been a nice gesture after having had a very long day. To top it all I had arranged before our visit to have tea/coffee making facilities so we were looking forward to at least having a hot drink, but when we reached our room (we weren't shown up as other guests seem to have been) there were only 2 cups. Went back down to reception couldn't have a kettle until housekeeping arrived the next day. but on getting slightly annoyed (which is unlike us but we were fed up by now) they managed to find one.

However aside from all that the hotel is well maintained and spotlessly clean. The pool area is very attractive. The room was nice and well equipped. The breakfast was good enough. It's totally self service including hot drinks. The evening meal was nice. Bit limited for a vegetarian who doesn't eat fish like myself but I managed on potatoes and veg. Italian evening was my favourite as had some nice pasta, but I certainly wasn't going to starve. There was plenty for me anyway.

It was a very quiet hotel. Lacked atmosphere in the evening. We could never understand where everyone was. They seemed to have their meal then disappear in a puff of smoke. The last night we were there was the first time a few people were sitting in the bar area, but maybe that was because there was a good singer on.

The staff were all excellent. We were asked to nominate a member who shone, but we didn't fill it in as couldn't choose any one in particular. They should all be nominated in my view.

All in all a good hotel. Would have gained more brownie points had we been greeted better on arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleypuplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest

As per messages exchanged time ago, we sadly regret that your start with us was not of the best of ones.
Nonetheless, please rest assured it is a common practice to provide to the guests that are in half board basis arriving late in the resort a cold plate of food and something to drink in the room to have upon the arrival.
The reason for this not being made was that we were not informed of your late arrival, therefore expecting you before the restaurant closure on that day.
We sincerely apologize for this outcome and become yourselves available in the future if you decide to return in the same type of accommodation and one a late flight.
Presenting your best regards, and looking forward for your return visit.

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for the second year running and had a wonderful time. The hotel is very well maintained and the staff are only to willing to help in any way they can. Nothing is too much trouble.
We had a ground floor room, which we had requested, and it was lovely to sit on the patio people watching and then just walk across to the pool and have a swim. The outdoor pool was a little bit chilly but there is also an indoor pool and Jacuzzi.
We had 4 evening meals in the restaurant and they were all very good with lots of choice. The breakfast offerings were the usual fare you get abroad and although my husband commented that the hot food could have been hotter I was happy with the items on offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beagle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your travel experience and for your continuous belief in our resort and group.
We hope the belief you entrust in us may continue in your choice in the future to come as we will be delighted to welcome you back in our resort.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I booked this hotel recently for my wife ,Daughter, Grandaughter and myself, three days before we are due to go we had a phone call from the travel agents to inform us that the Hotel could not accomodate us as the hotel was full so they have moved us to another hotel if we still wanted to go, surely the hotel should have known when we booked that they were full, if not then all i can say the management there are not up to the job, I will be going to the hotel while i am in Madeira and make a formal complaint, the hotel that they have moved us to is farther out of Funchal and will need the courtesy bus as it is two Kils and the bus does not go out after 7.30 at night, I hope that this is not going to cost me more for this holiday because of there incompetance as I will be expecting some reimbursment from someone,

Room Tip: Please if you book this hotel please make sure that they have the room for you when it is confirmed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
5  Thank jacko42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Customer

Thank you for your comments.

Please rest assured your comments were already raised to the proper department concerned.

We present our utmost regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a very relaxing stay at this hotel. The gardens were beautiful as were the swimming pools. We had a sea view room on first floor with lovely views of ocean and gardens. Was a great relaxing stay in a very good quality hotel. Walk to old town about 40 mins but this was no problem as only wandered there a few times and was a pleasant walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your review and for such positive comments.

It is always of a great pride and success to be able to provide to your guests memorable moments and an excellent service.

We present our utmost regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booked this hotel in January via Travel Republic to celebrate our wedding anniversary with the family only to be sent an email 3 days before our holiday that the hotel had been overbooked and they could only put one of the group up here and two down at their Grand hotel 1mile down the road. Went onto the Travel republic website only to find 3 rooms still available for 21-28th. When I spoke to travel republic they said they had booked our original booking through Med Hotels and the one on the website was from another agent. They could not book them through them. What a shambles. 48 hours before our holiday and we don't know if we have rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your support to this site and for posting your review.

Concerning the point raized in this review we would like to clear up that this was prontly rectified and a solution given prior to your arrival, which was assured by us had been well perceived by you and of your satisfaction.

Presenting our kindest regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Where the hotel is located turned out to actually be much more convenient than we had expected as you can go out through Reception, turn left and up a flight of steps onto the main Estrada Monumental road. This gives a fairly level walk to the Forum in one direction (left and about 10 minutes walk) with shops, supermarket, cinema and restaurants, a bus stop into town a few yards in the other direction No. 1 and 2) and across the road about a hundred yards further on is a small supermarket. Reception is 0n the 5th floor as the hotel is built into a steep hill (as everything in Madeira appears to be).
The road immediately in front of the hotel leads past a few decent restaurants to the right. Be aware though that this road is being upgraded (finished?) right outside the hotel where it will eventually join the main Estrada Monumental road, there is quite a bit of noise and vibration from about 9am, not particularly intrusive but I guess it depends where your room is - we certainly noticed it a few times.

The hotel itself has a mix of hotel rooms and timeshare apartments and is finished to a high standard.
They all had one or more patio doors opening onto balconies, all with seating and tables of some description and the larger ones with sun-beds also. Most rooms are south facing over the pool area with direct sea views, getting the sun for a good part of the day, a lot are in shade from the balconies above though and do not get any sun at any time

Public areas in the hotel comprise an indoor pool and Jacuzzi with spa, sauna and steam room at one end of the site. The sauna and steam room are closed to guests between about 11.30 a.m. and 4 p.m. Otherwise they are free to use as are the gym and games room.
The outside pools are varying depths with one about knee-deep with big red floating seats, ideal for kiddies and those who just want a paddle, two about chest deep for swimmers, one of which is an infinity pool with steps at one end and a sloping floor at the other, and one smaller infinity one, semi-circular with air jets, and seemed well placed by the Pool Bar. All of the pools are surrounded by sufficient sun-loungers which seemed enough to cater for most of the dedicated sun worshipers, the hotel has a “no reserving sun beds” policy, to be fair we always got a bed no matter what time of day we went down.

There are loads of comfortable seating areas, mainly shaded, ideal for reading or just chilling

Indoors on the ground floor is the bar area (Breezes) with seating mostly around tables but also a row of bed-sized seating against one wall where you can stretch out. Did not see these being used once as they look quite awkward

The only “niggles” are:

The poor provision of public lifts; only two in the central area for everybody. The lifts seemed to have minds of their own so if you wanted to go up you would first have to join everybody going down and vice-versa. They broke down the first time we used them, luckily the receptionist was showing us to our room and she simply pressed the alarm, it then went down to basement, sat for a minute and returned to reception. This happened once more to us and various other times the lifts stopped working totally. Believe it or not the stairs are hard to find and virtually no one uses them – need to sort the lifts and install better signage for stairs. (And remember reception is on floor 5 – not ground as we found to our cost many times)

There is an issue with sound proofing. People in neighbouring rooms, above and to each side, can be clearly heard dragging furniture across wooden or tiled floors and this can be quite annoying, particularly early in the morning. On our stay the guy next to us had a habit of clearing his throat loudly at 2 and 3 in the morning!!

Limited breakfast choice and sometimes ran out of products or food was not very warm.

One big black mark was the provision of transport into Funchal for the Atlantic Festival (fireworks) this is on 4 Saturdays in June, never having been there before we decided against going on the bus on our own and missing a viewing point, however we were charged £17.50 each for the 10 minute return journey to their sister hotel, the journey was on the yellow open topped tour bus (and it was cold!), some people also had to stand. In the end we could have got the local bus for a couple of euros, made our way to the front and got a taxi back. 35 euros for this journey with a cheap glass of juice and standing on a grassy area is far too much and just a money making opportunity in my opinion. Given what guests pay at this hotel they should have laid on transport for free or at nominal cost – left a bad taste.
Same goes for their buffets, overpriced, never went but heard many people complaining, why cant hotels learn to price sensibly, they would probably get more custom as loads of people end up eating out due yo the cost.

Room Tip: Higher floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your travel experience and for your visit to our resort.
Positive comments makes us proud, nonetheless less positive comments makes us evaluate ourselves and change in what is needed for benefit of both the service provided and to our mainly interest which is the customer satisfaction.
With that in mind, please do rest assured the less positive comments raised in this review will be forward to all departments in question.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#35 of 88 in Funchal
3,062 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#15 of 88 in Funchal
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia No 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $105 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Promenade is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira and is one of the newest and most sophisticated contemporary hotels in Funchal. It is 2 minutes on foot from the beach and near Lido with direct access to the promenade that stretches all the way to Praia Formosa. Take a stroll through the vast garden area and discover one of the largest swimming pools of all of the hotels on Madeira. Visit the Spa with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, whirlpool bath, sauna, Turkish bath and gym. It offers two restaurants and a bar. Most rooms offer a relaxing view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort
Pestana Promenade Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing