We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Pestana Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Promenade
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely hotel--position, views, staff, facilities, food,all very good.Has indoor pool if needed. The only fault I had was the glass door in the bathroom knocked onto wc when opened inwards. The rooms with side (ocean) views look onto another hotel.

Room Tip: get pool view & central
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your latest visit to our resort and for your time spend in posting your travel experience, which we are sure to be usefull to others that may decide to visit us.

We cannot thank you enough for the polite words conveyed in this review towards the resort and its staff.

Concerning the downside towards the glass door in the bathroom, please rest assured that such has been rectified.

We expect you may visit us again in the future.

Presenting our kindest regards

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a wonderfully equipped Hotel, great Pools, Spa facilities and very modern.
We stay here every year in June - and Madeira is a wonderful Island anyway. Very efficient bus service to Funchal town and plenty of Restuarants and shopping in the area.
beautiful views out to sea.
Never tire of being there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for submiting your review in this travel review site and for your continuous preference in our resort.

It is wonderfull to become aware that we have had along the years a positive impact in your visits to our Island, and that such positive impact still prolongs in your mind for the future to come.

Therefore we are happy to say.... See you in June!!!! Looking forward.

Until then,

We present our kindest regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Could not fault this hotel, beautiful clean rooms, nice helpful staff, good food, great pool. I went for a holiday with my wife and friends to get away from the stresses and strains of life at home in the UK. This was perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms by the pool are brilliant, I was worried about late night noise but there was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy_millerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all, let us start by thanking you for posting your travel review and for your support to this web site.

Each word conveyed by you had a strong impact in our owns pride and in our daily job by the service which we provide to your guests.

It is not only a pride to be able to provide memorable moments to our guests, as it is a pleasure to do so.

Therefore, we cannot thank you enough for such polite words as it is a culminate of the job of our teams given back by you in such a wonderfull review.

We sincerely hope you may continue to visit us in the future and that you may continue to entrust in us for such commitment in the future.

We say Goodbye for now....

With our most respectfully regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spent a week 22nd-29th April at Pestanta Promenade, room no: 1136 which was on the left hand side looking from the front of the hotel. Our room, which was on the 1st floor overlooking the pool, had an ocean view. The balcony was in the shade for most of the day which was fine by us as we didn’t sit out very much, preferring to be out and about visiting the island. The room was just above the entertainment and this sometimes didn’t finish until after 11 o’clock. The room was huge (10m x 4m approx) with a very big bed which was comfortable enough but had lumpy pillows. TV had many channels with many languages but did included most BBC and ITV channels as well which was an added bonus Asked at reception about WiFi and was given free access for the week. The bathroom was spacious with the shower over bath and a glass screen. No shower curtain to wrestle with. The hotel was absolutely spotless; people seemingly cleaning all day. The staff were so very friendly and helpful and always smiling. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss; some days the ‘hot’ food was stone cold. Unfortunately we only found out on the last day that freshly cooked omelettes were available. The lifts were a constant nuisance. There were only 2 lifts and one of these broke down twice during our stay which left only one working lift and since we were on the 1st floor and reception was on the 5th floor it could be a long wait for space in the lift. The stairs were not easy to find and more like emergency exits and consequently few guests used them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for submiting your travel experience in this travel review site.

We cannot thank you enough for the polite words given towards our staff performance, the maintain of your resort and rooms spotless and the resort's location.

Concerning the less positive remarks, we apologize for the entertainment some nights lasting a bit more on request of some guests. However, if you decide to visit us again in the future we take the opportunity to inform that at any time during your stay you may inform the main reception so we may help you in what is needed. That is our main purpose of existance in the resort.

As for the lumpy pillows, please be advised we may change them if they are not suitable to your confort.

As for the lifts, we present our sincere apologies, as during the time of your stay we encountered a fault which is now resolved and all back to normal.

As for the lack of signs showing where our stairs are located, please rest assured such point is being promply adressed to our management for review.

We hope you may decide to visit us again in the future.

With that in mind,

We present our uttmost regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in January 2012. The staff were friendly and helpful, food excellent - out of this world ! also a late bar. The room was spacious and clean, bed comfortable with a wonderful view overlooking the ocean. Would definitely recommend it. Also had a gym and spa.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for submiting our travel review and we present our sincere gratitude for your latest visit.

It is a great sucess to us all and a continuous stamina to all envolved to have read that we managed to live up to your expectations.

We will be the faitfully messengers of such strong review to all teams, so they may keep up the good work and always provide nothing more than an excellent service.

We say "Adeus" by now, as we will be looking forward for your visit again in the future.

Kind Regards from Madeira Island

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We visit the Promenade every year. The staff and facilities are superb. Sometimes the apartment is not ready, but that just shows that previous guests are not rushed out of their rooms. As a multi national destination, plane times are very varies.
Finding a sunbed on a hot day can be a bit of a problem as there are people still "marking" their spot with towels.
overall I love our visit and the local restaurants. its like coming home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuszyQ5414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for submiting your travel review and for thr providing of your travel experience.

It is with sense of pride and achievement that we read that you continue to entrust in us as the preference in resort for your holidays stay.

It may indeed from time to time be difficult to obtain a free sunbed by the pool area. We do our very best to control such use by our guests, by kindly asking our guests not to keep such beds reserved if not in use.

Nonethess, we try not to enforce this atitude to our guests, rather we do our most to make the guests understand that sunbeds should not stay reserved if not in use, as for ourselves the enforcement of this is not the proper atitude to give to someone in holidays and in hope of relaxation.

We hope you may contiunue to visit us, as we are honoured by your continuous belief in us and in providing you an excellent stay.

We present our kindest regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have just returned from a week at this hotel which I know gets good reviews regularly. On arrival I was informed that my room would not be ready for 2 hours, it was then 2.15pm. I was given a complimentary drink token for the pool bar. I went back to the reception later and was given an upgraded room on the fourth floor with sea view, very nice and modern, good bathroom and excellent shower, the bed was very comfortable but the pillows were very lumpy, the maid changed one for me smoother but hard. I was aware of some noise going on at the time but thought it was someone banging around in the room above. The next day at 8am the banging started again, worst still a pnumatic drill started. On investigating I found that there are MAJOR ROAD WORKS in progress to the west side of the hotel, a new road is being laid to join the estrada monumental. I was in room 1428 next but one to the end of the hotel, the vibrations from the mechanical digger and drill literally shake the room and bed The work is in progress for 14 months from 8am - 5pm each day except weekends. No chance of a lie in or afternoon nap here.I do think Thompsons should inform clients beforehand about this. On complaining to reception staff I was told that the hotel was full (as usual).

On the whole I found the hotel a bit souless and the chairs in the dining room are awful plastic bucket type things very uncomfortable and too low for dining. The breakfast buffet area is too small for the amount of people using it, you do get jostled and elbowed when trying to serve yourself. The food is ok average buffet food, eggs and bacon were mostle cold, you could ask for an omelette although this service was not advertised anywhere,it was cooked in the kitchen so no one seemed aware of it.
There are only 2 lifts and one was out of order on the Monday when lots of people were leaving and arriving we resorted to using the service lift or the back stairs during the week.
I did not eat in the evening at the hotel since the buffet was 28 euros and there are plenty of good restaurants in the area where you can eat well for much less. I stayed next door at the Enotel Lido at Christmas and much prefer the friendly atmosphere and piano bar area of this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side back onto the road works, the nearer to the end of the hotel you are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeeganLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to our resort and for taking out your valuable time to post your review.
Pestana Group and Pestana Promenade always had and continues to have the solo purpose and aim to exceed the expectations of all those who, every day, choose to honor us with their choice.
We want our guest´s experience with us to be truly memorable; therefore, we do try very hard to deliver the best service and go beyond what is needed so that our guests can indeed have memorable moments in our company, and it is with deep sorrow that we become aware that we did not meet Your expectations , as it is our main purpose of existence and our everyday goal.
It´s our commom procedure that upon guest´s dissatisfaction with the room allocated, that we always provide an option, either a room move on the day if available or in the next day, even when we are fully booked we give our
Guet´s the chance move the booking free of charges to one of our other´s hotels in Madeira .

Please be assured that your valuable comments are positively taken onboard and has been addressed to the manager. We would however very much appreciate the opportunity to speak to you personally and would therefore kindly request you to contact us directly on fo.promenade@pestana.com.

On a more positive note, we are glad to know that found your sea view room to be very nice and modern with good bathroom and excellent shower.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to hearing from you.

Yours Sincerly
Tania Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#16 of 88 in Funchal
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia No 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $92 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Promenade is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira and is one of the newest and most sophisticated contemporary hotels in Funchal. It is 2 minutes on foot from the beach and near Lido with direct access to the promenade that stretches all the way to Praia Formosa. Take a stroll through the vast garden area and discover one of the largest swimming pools of all of the hotels on Madeira. Visit the Spa with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, whirlpool bath, sauna, Turkish bath and gym. It offers two restaurants and a bar. Most rooms offer a relaxing view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pestana Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort
Pestana Promenade Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing