We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous hotel, staff, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, staff, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Third time in a Pestana hotel - loved it. Wish we'd asked where our room was as we overlooked the back of the kitchen and the car park but to be honest we weren't in the room much but breakfast on our balcony could have been prettier. But - staff, food, facilities, pool, bar, everything was just perfect, with half price happy hour cocktails thrown in for good measure.

Room Tip: Sea view would have been preferable - we overlooked the car park on the shady side and above the kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy_Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for submiting your review through this website and we cannot thank you enough for your continuous belief in our resort and group.

Concerning the room allocation, we apologize ourselves for its location. Nonetheless, on your next visit, if you do not find the room up to our standards, please do let us know so we may present other options.

We will be sured to convey such good remarks to all staff, so to keep up the good work.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    400
    68
    15
    6
See reviews for
299
1,006
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been staying here since it opened in 2009. Originally we stayed for a week each February and then we decided to stay in November and February.

We love the place!! It has become 'home from home. The rooms, staff and facilities are excellent.
Because we stay in an apartment we have not used the restaurant for breakfast or evening meals so cannot comment on the quality or standard of food.

The Hotel is well placed for local restaurants and supermarkets and the walk into the centre of Funchal takes around 30 minutes.

We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for continuous loyalty to Pestana Promenade Hotel and for writing such a positive review, following your recent stay here with us.
Your recommendation is greatly appreciated as are your compliments regarding our Staff and exelent rooms and facilities.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at Pestana Promenade the last week in Dec.-12 together with our son and daughter in law. Both the young ones and us loved the stay in all ways. Service,pesonal and food.
Therefor we returned in febr.-13 with our daughter and grandchild. We kan give the same conclusion this time. We hade even free Wi-Fi both times. This hotel I strongley recommand to all our friends. We love Madeira so much so we now plan to tent an apartment to stay there next winter. Our gests will be booked at Pestana Promenad

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laanonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Pestana Promenade with the TripAdvisor community.
We are delighted to that you loved your stay in all ways and decided to return 6 weeks later with your daughter and grandchild.
Here at Pestana Promenade we strive to deliver exceptional service therefore your comments regarding the great service and our friendly staff are greatly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully again in six weeks ?!

Yours Sincerely

Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good choice of hotel for our week away to celebrate my birthday, very modern decor with clean and comfortable rooms.
Particular mention to all the staff at every level from reception to the cleaning lady, very friendly and efficient who are all trained to a very higher standard and a credit to the hotel.
Breakfast with good choice of hot and cold buffet but did not try evening meal as we prefer to go out with bars and restaurants which would highly recommend in the local area.
However "happy hour 5 to 7pm" at the bar was enjoyable, hic!
Lovely pool area but unfortunate our visit was out of season in February therefore not used but also an indoor pool and spa facilities.
Location away from the centre which was a decent walk but regular bus transport and taxis readily available.
Overall would recommend as excellent hotel in good location with great facilities and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for choosing Pestana Promenade Hotel to celebrate such a special occasion, as it is your birthday.
We are flattered that you take the time to write such a fantastic review following your stay with us, and to hear that you found the hotel to be excellent and our staff very friendly and efficient.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

As soon as we entered the Pestana Promenade we thought how beautiful it was and we still felt the same at the end of our stay. It is so clean, the staff are so friendly, helpful and polite, the garden and pool areas are amazing. We will definitely stay at the Pestana Promenade should we decide to visit Madeira again.

Room Tip: We had a groud floor room which was lovely but I would have preferred a higher floor so maybe next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review and for recommending Pestana Promenade Hotel on the TripAdvisor Site. We are delighted to hear you found the staff friendly, helpful, polite and the garden areas amazing.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and in the mean time thank you once again for your review.

Yours Sincerely,
Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had a week in this hotel and could not find any faults. The staff spoke excellent English and all seemed happy in their jobs. Huge breakfast - did not need to eat again until the evening! Pools and facilities excellent. Plenty of restaurants nearby and the local buses go from close by. You can walk into Funchal in about half an hour and there is a lovely coastal walk to Camara de Lobos. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwil186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay at Pestana Promenade Hotel.
It is always pleasing to receive such positive comments regarding our high standard of customer service. Your review will be read with a great level of pride by our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for one week in Feb 2013 and it was fantastic.

The service from the staff, the cleanliness of the place, nothing was too much trouble for them - it would be wise for a few of our English hotels to visit and see how it can be done properly.

It was so nice in fact that we'll come back again and probably stay for two weeks, it was that good!

Room Tip: We had a suite which had a side view of the sea, I would recommend having a full sea view if possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trouble_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving such kind feedback following your recent stay at Pestana Promenade Hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated, it is a real pleasure to hear that you had a fantastic time with us and that you are planning to return again soon. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Property: Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing