We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Hotel”
Review of Pestana Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Promenade
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I are in our eighties and have stayed in this Hotel many times.When visiting Madeira we wouldn't consider staying at any other hotel. The management and all the Staff, including the restaurant and the room maids are polite ,considerate and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them.The front desk reception staff are exceptional and most of them are the same personnel as on our first visit five years ago. John from Cornwall

Room Tip: 6th and 7th floors obviously have better sea views
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnStAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for such good comments posted in your review.

It fills us with an enormous joy to know that both the resort and its staff were up to our standards and we take the opportunity to thank you for such polite words concerning the level of service and dedication conveyed by all staff members.

We are all looking forward to your return visit,

With our kindest regards

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Promenade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

The welcome from the hotel staff is lovely. The hotel is situated beside a promenade where you can walk for miles beside the sea. The location of the Lido district of Funchal also means you've got many restaurants and some bars within a few minutes walk, including Indian, Chinese, pizzeria, and many good Madeiran restaurants, with good fish and meat dishes. Garlic is often an ingredient. The hotel offers a good buffet-style restaurant ("The Breezes") allowing you to have your breakfast outside overlooking the sea if you want to and doing (not on every night) a buffet style evening meal. Their other restaurant (Deep Blue) offers an a la carte menu. There is also a pool bar and a good lunch menu there every day. All the staff are so friendly and have remained with the hotel over the many years I've staid there. I would give it 10 out of 10 for a totally relaxing holiday destination with beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YetanotherJohn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for posting this review.

Good remarks are always a sign that our efforts in the practice of an excellent service is being well perceived, therefore we cannot thank you enough.

We thank you for such good comments concerning both the resort facilities and its staff and for such good recommendations for those who may decide to visit us in the future.

Looking forward to your next visit,

With our warmest regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 10th -17th December 2012.

On arrival room was not ready ? Hotel was empty waited 1 hour for room in reception. The hotel is only 3-4 star. The staff gave an excellent service. Beware of extra charge Iron Board 5 Euros per Hour, Dressing Gowns 15 Euros, No coffee/Tea facility in room.

The room given was basic and small and dispite the hotel been empty they would not upgrade only if you paid 35 Euros per night.

The hotel Sauna only available few hours and evening not all day ??

The hotel provides a small towel in your room for the pool and sauna no towels by the pool very tacky. I have travelled all over the world and 2 star hotels have pool towels in other country's.

The food was ok nothing special over priced.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room before you go A/C Very Loud
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackie048_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for submitting your feedback, and also for the polite comments concerning our staff dedication and level of attention.

We regret that you haven't enjoyed completely your stay in our resort, therefore and with that in mind, there are some points we would like to clarify. As a 4 star hotel, there are some services which are not included on the package which you have purchased directly to the hotel or through a travel agency.

Indeed the upgrades have an additional cost and these may be required trough a travel agency or directly through the front desk,

We advise you it may be provided in the room at all times pool towels and changed daily in the room also.

Concerning the less positive points, please rest assured we will convey such to our management and to all departments concerned.

Presenting our most respectful regards,

Front Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

By far one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in (and I've travelled all over the world). Our room was modern and spacious, with a balcony and views overlooking the swimming pool and ocean. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and we had the option to eat outside on the terrace. We enjoyed the spa facilities and pool room during our two week stay. The best part about the hotel though was the staff who were absolutely lovely. Every aspect of the hotel service was top notch and exceeded all our expectations. My only small request is that the hotel provide tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: When you make your booking request a room that is ocean side and high up to get the most of the view...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BrizzleSweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for both your visit and the posting of such review.

It is very rewarding to receive such a good comment such as yours. It is top class and surely we will forward such polite words to all staff members, so they may be aware they have made the difference on the level of service and dedication in which they kindly offer on a day basis.

Once more we cannot thank you enough for such polite words for both the staff member and our resort facilities.

We all look forward to welcome you again in your resort.

With our warmest regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, and could not have picked a better one. The service from all members of staff that we encountered was first class - they could not have been more courteous or helpful. When the reception learned that we were celebrating our Ruby wedding, a bottle of champagne on ice appeared in our room!
We stayed on a B&B basis, which suited us, as there are some fabulous restaurants to be discovered in Funchal. Breakfast was plentiful, with a large variety to choose from , both hot and cold.
The gardens and pools are excellent, with lovely sea views as well. We had no problem with sunbeds, but being November, the hotel was probably quieter. The same can be said of the lifts, which have been commented on before.
All in all, a really good week, and we would love to return to the Promenade in the future.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent - worth the extra!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rubyann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for both your visit and the posting of such review.

We give you once more our sincere congratulations on our recent ruby Wedding celebration and all of us wish you a long life of continuous happiness and love.

As for your review, we cannot thank you enough for such polite words for both the staff member and our resort facilities.

We hope you may decide to revisit us in the future, as we will be more that delighted in welcoming you once more in our resort.

With our kindest regards

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

visited this lovely hotel in early October. Could some-one enlighten me as to why a window is provided in the bath-room with no other view than into the bedroom? I found it very dangerous, as an elderly person trying to get into the shower with no grab rail available. Otherwise I could not find anything to complain about I had a wonderful holiday in this hotel and would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor was very quiet and had easy access for and from pool and other ameni...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wbilly38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for your recent visit.

Concerning having a window in the bath-room which as a view to the room and to the main door from the balcony, this reason is so you may enjoy the view of the Atlantic Ocean while in the bath.
However, we have at disposal others rooms without this window in between, so we advise you in a future booking you may require a room without this facility.

We will be looking forward for your future visit.

With our kindest regards

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Visited in June when the island is in full bloom. Great hotel, friendly and welcoming check in experience. Our room was pool and sea facing (dont be tempted to make the mistake to pay extra for a Sea View like we did as most rooms are anyway!) Room nice and clean, large balcony with beautiful view, air con, shower, bath, free inroom safe, large bed, bath towels and separate pool towels. Pool large and clean and hardly ever full during our stay. Breakfast good, good buffet selection and kept well stocked, you can sit outside too which is nice. I'd recommend to get down to breakfast before 'peak' times (probably 9-10am) as restaurant not that big so could be trouble getting tables for larger groups. Hotel not that close to Funchal centre but buses are great.

Pool side cafe is nice, we had lunch there a few times but quite pricey, however service great..the kitchen was closed one time we arrived but the waitress still got us a big bowl of chips :-) One criticism is the wait for the lifts, very slow and small and as our room was right opposite the lifts we occasionally found groups of people stood right outside our room door!

We never ate in the restaurant but wish we did as we never really found any nice restaurants nearby. However if you turn right outside the hotel you come to a small italian restaurant and they did a take away pizza for us when I was feeling under the weather.

Madeira has a reputation for a holiday destination for older travellers, but we loved it (aged 20 and 23!) and would definately recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fulltimetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.


We cannot thank you enough for such kind words that will certainly motivate our team to continue to deliver the best service to all guests that decide to visit us.

Indeed the lifts do take longer than expected to reach the specific floor, however it is out of our control, since the resort is already settled, therefore little we can do to improve in this matter. Nonetheless we have forward this comment to our technical support in a way they might find a solution.

We thank you for recommending us to others; we will surely be looking forward for a future visit

With our kindest regards

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 88 in Funchal
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia No 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $104 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Promenade is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira and is one of the newest and most sophisticated contemporary hotels in Funchal. It is 2 minutes on foot from the beach and near Lido with direct access to the promenade that stretches all the way to Praia Formosa. Take a stroll through the vast garden area and discover one of the largest swimming pools of all of the hotels on Madeira. Visit the Spa with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, whirlpool bath, sauna, Turkish bath and gym. It offers two restaurants and a bar. Most rooms offer a relaxing view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort
Pestana Promenade Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing