We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean hotel with very good facilities and excellent staff”
Review of Pestana Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Promenade
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We (myself, my wife and 12 year old daughter) have just returned from 11 nights at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel) and it was a very enjoyable experience.

The hotel has a modern design with a clean plain decor. This makes it feel a bit 'clinical' but certainly not 'cheap'. In fact, driving up to it made me feel like I could be approaching a medical centre (this is not meant to be a criticism- just an observation). Once inside, I must say that the greeting we got from the staff on reception was one of the friendliest and most professional I have come across. Our room wasn't ready because we arrived before the normal check out time so this was understandable. We did not mind waiting (not for long) as it gave us time to explore and the staff handled the situation very well.

Once in our room we found it spotlessly clean although our sea view balcony was a bit small. The TV had enough channels to keep our daughter occupied whilst changing for dinner. This hotel has really got the acoustics right. We hardly heard our neighbours, or the people above us and the corridors seemed to soak up the sound of the odd door being slammed very effectively. For once it's nice to find a hotel that understands that some people like plenty of pillows and can simply choose not to use them if they don't want to (rather than the other way around). 11 very comfortable night's sleep thanks to good air conditioning, comfortable beds, quiet rooms and pillows!

Reception is on the 5th floor and the pool area is on level 0. There are two lifts and I must say one more could have been useful, particularly as the stairs are accessed from part way along the corridor serving the rooms and initially we thought that they were for emergency use only.

The pool area is very nice indeed with plenty of sunbeds. It accommodates a lot of people and yet never feels busy or overcrowded. The outdoor pool was one of the warmest I have been in making an early morning swim very pleasant even on cloudy mornings. Obtaining a sunbed was not a problem, some beds did get 'reserved' (against hotel policy) but it was not excessive and the pool attendant did a good job in removing the towels where blatant reservation took place - he even removed mine one morning after I had been reading for an hour or so then gone for some breakfast at around 9.30 - not a problem, it was my own fault and there were still plenty of beds left for us to use. The hotel provided towels for use by the pool which I like.

There is an indoor pool (reasonable size) and Spa with steam room, sauna and a large Jacuzzi. The sauna and steam room do not operate between 11am and 4.30pm but outside of these times are very effective. A nice touch was the provision of free lockers for valuables whilst using these indoor facilities. There are treatments available but we didn't use them.

There is no 'animation team' or activities during the day for children. This was fine for us as we wanted a quiet relaxing holiday. Some evening entertainment was provided but not too intrusive.

The Gym is small but adequate (you don't go on holiday to work out - or so my wife kept telling me) but a really nice touch was the provision of sanitary wipes so that the equipment could be cleaned after using it and a water dispenser. It never got too busy.

We stayed on a Half Board basis with drinks with our meals. The restaurant has a nice terrace area which was a nice place to eat. A good selection of food was available on a self service basis. There was a reasonable level of variety and it was kept hot - well done. The buffet area is smaller than I would have expected but even when very busy (at breakfast) this was not a problem. Very good selection of food available at breakfast. We did use the a la carte menu one evening and I must say that the meal was superb. The drinks package was very good value indeed and the house wine (white) not bad at all. One small point was that the deserts tended to be similar and I was getting a bit fed up with them although this comment could apply to almost all of the hotels I have stayed at. The restaurant is a bit 'clinical' and somehow lacked a bit of atmosphere (just my observation) but the friendly staff compensate for this. The hotel obviously has many guests staying on a self catering (or B&B) basis which probably explains why the restaurant does not need to be anything too fancy.

The drinks are not cheap but this was to be expected. If you want to sit in a nice environment served by well trained, nice people with excellent language skills, then you have to pay a little more for it. There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby along with supermarkets and shops so there are plenty of options.

It is a 10 minute bus ride to the centre of Funchal EUR1.80 each way and the buses are regular and the bus stop not too far from the front of the hotel. I did walk to Funchal one day but it's a bit too far for a family stroll. The promenade and general atmosphere of the Lido area is very nice so I would recommend the location.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. They have great attention to detail and it's the little things that they do that make it so nice. Every single member of staff that we encountered seemed genuinely interested in making sure that we enjoyed our stay and they succeeded! We do not tend to revisit the same location, as we prefer to try new places. However, if we decide to return to Funchal, this hotel will be our first choice

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrDShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time and positing such detailed review. Reviews like yours are always very helpful for us and for the guests who look forward to travel to Pestana Promenade.

We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed the tranquility of the Pestana Promenade and had a wonderful experience with us and that we are able to keep up with your expectations consistently.
We truly value our highly personalized service and believe that it is what sets us apart from the others, so it is very reassuring to receive feedback such as yours and share it with the team. The Team is of corse proud to keep up with your expectations .
Once again we were delighted to receive such glowing feedback and are very much hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back to the our Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

It was just a perfect holiday with my mum. We spent 10 days in this hotel, very modern, clean, very well-furnitured! The two outside pools were amazing! Meals ( we had only breakfast) were also good. The only strange and funny thing about our room was that the toilet had a glass window, with jalousie that could be opened or closed only from the side of the room! :) The atmosphere is quite and friendly, the stuff does its best to welcome and to help the guests.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onda_azzurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate the time you took to post your review and the positive feedback, you have given.
It is most encouraging for us to receive such praise and we will gladly share it with the team. Regarding your comment about the glass window, please be inform that we do have some rooms without it, but most of our guest’s love it as it allow them to take a bath with an fantastic view over the Atlantic ocean.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pestana Promenade.

Yours Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our week stay at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel. This is a five star accomodation and is part of the Pestana chain that dominates the island. The reception staff were very helpful especially Nelson Vieira who gave us good advice with regard to restaurants in old town Funchal. The indoor swimming pool & jacuzzi are excellent, we spent time in the jacuzzi everyday of our stay. We stayed in an owners suite which is basically a time-share apartment.
The only place in the hotel where you can get free wi-fi was in the second floor lounge otherwise you are charged 28 Euros which is very disappointing. We booked a double room and we received a room with two single beds pushed together, which seems to happen too often these days. The hotel restaurant and bar is over-priced in my opinion. The hotel is excellent but expensive !

Room Tip: Sixth/seventh floor rooms would be the best in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IAIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Dear Guest,


We were really happy to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Pestana Promenade and that you were particularly pleased with the excellent service offered by our colleagues, specially from Nelson, we will be sure to share you kind feedback with him.

Please allow us to inform that Pestana Promenade is a 4 Star Hotel and that Pestana chain, Pestana Hotels & Resorts, presently manages 44 hotels, spread over 3 continents: 22 properties in Portugal (10 in Madeira, 7 in the Algarve, 1 in Lisbon, 1 in Oporto, 1 in Cascais and 2 at Beloura/Sintra), 1 in the United Kingdom (Chelsea), 1 in Germany (Berlin), 8 in Brazil (Rio de Janeiro, Angra dos Reis, São Paulo, Bahia, Natal, Curitiba and São Luis), 1 in Argentina (Buenos Aires), 3 in Mozambique (Maputo, Inhaca Island and Bazaruto Island), 1 in South Africa (at the Kruger Park), 1 in Cape Verde (Praia Town) and 1 in S.Tomé & Principe. On the 1st of September 2003 the Pestana Group also began managing Portugal's 44 pousadas (Pousadas de Portugal).

We were also very happy to read that we were successful in providing the quality of surroundings and facilities. We understand your concerns regarding higher prices, please be assured that we constantly review all of our competitor hotels to ensure that we are aligned. All the rooms in the Hotel are twin bedded and we can make them as double on request.

Once again, thank you very much and please feel free to contact us should you require any assistance in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I'm writing this as we enjoy the last few days of our holiday in this wonderful hotel. This is our second time at the Pestana Promenade having stayed here in August 2010. Having had such a fantastic time we were nervous about it not living up to our high expectations but we need not have worried. The modern spacious rooms, the gorgeous child friendly and warm pools and the good location were just as we remembered but we'd forgotten just how great the service is from the front of house team. The manager, Tania, and her team enhanced our holiday experience. The special touches for my wife's birthday, the friendly greetings and the way in which they deal with any issue no matter how small add to the holiday experience. And our suite was amazing!
The only negative comments I would make is that the removal of the free wifi in public areas is a backward step for a modern hotel (although this complaint was also dealt with very professionally) and the fact that the hotel is fairly souless at night.
However, as a base to relax with young children or explore this lovely island I cannot fault it. It is rare we return to a hotel but we are already planning a return in 2012. Not least because our 2 year old boy has always been nervous of pools but the warm water and gentle beach like entrance have turned him into a water baby!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arrondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank for once again staying at Pestana Promenade Hotel and sharing your " perfect " experience with us.

We are pleased to know that once again we have exceeded your expectations and were able to created a memorable experience for you.

Our aim is to ensure you arrive as guest´s and return as friends. We take pride in our warm, friendly and professional service therefore we share all the feedback we get with team as it is very motivating to share such positive feedback as yours.
Please rest assured that we have passed your comments about the charge for wifi on to the management.
We are very pleased that the heartfelt and gracious service we are known for created a memorable experience for you.
It was our pleasure to host you and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for visit No. 3.

Yours Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Iamos com grandes expectativas face aos comentários que tinhamos lido e posso dizer que mesmo assim ficámos muito surpreendidos. Excelente hotel, equipa muito simpática e prestável. Em termos de instalações a decoração é bastante moderna sem se tornar fria e impessoal, com óptimos espaços para relaxar. Uma excelente piscina, aquecida, com uma vista maravilhosa, para uns fins de tarde inesquecíveis. Ideal para quem gosta de umas calmas férias em família, porque felizmente não tem o habitual rol de actividades e música de muitos resorts. Esperamos voltar!!! Por último óptima relação qualidade/preço.

Room Tip: Ficámos no piso junto da piscina, óptima opção para quem tem crianças.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011
Google Translation

Estimado Hospede,

Em primeiro lugar, agradecemos-lhe por entre tantas opções ter escolhido o Hotel Pestana Promenade para a sua estada durante as férias na nossa Ilha, a Pérola do Atlântico .

Agradecemos imenso o tempo dispendido para partilhar, com todos os leitores do tripavisor, a sua experiencia no nosso hotel.
Ficamos extremamente satisfeitos por termos superado as suas expectativas. De facto temos um produto fantástico que ainda é melhorado pelo facto de termos uma equipa extremamente prestável e ansiosa por assegurar a melhor experiência de férias para todos os nossos clientes. É muito recompensador ler tais palavras de apreciação pelo nosso esforço diário! Partilharemos com toda a equipa e vamos colocar no quadro do pessoal os seus amáveis comentários.

Uma vez mais, o nosso muito obrigada, e esperamos desde já por uma próxima oportunidade de podermos acolhê-lo no nosso Hotel.

Melhores comprimentos

Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Just back from a week at this hotel. Can't fault it, service excellent from the start when our cases were taken to the room and we were shown round and given guidance on how to work the controls. Very clean room with an excellent sea view. Hotel ideally located near to some excellent restaurants.
Air conditioning did not cool our room to our expectations, however this was soon rectified when a fan was delivered to room and we were given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine.
We were dissappointed with the service at the pool bar where we found the Restaurant Manager to be unwelcoming and quite abrasive. This was out of character for the rest of the hotel where the staff could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time with us, although saddened that we have failed to meet your expectations on the service at the Pool bar.
All feedback we receive is taken seriously and those aspects of the property and service that we can directly affect, we will certainly look to improve.
It is great to read that you made the enjoy our facilities, service and location,.
Once again, thank you for your review, we certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Pestana Promenade and to the opportunity to serve you better and provide a very memorable stay.

Yours Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel is nice and convenient... The room is nice, spacious e very clean... the location in Funchal is good just above the ocean's promenade of this city... The price is onest... In conclusion a four-star hotel that seems e five-star hotel for the location the rooms and services but not for the price...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slymod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you found Pestana Promenade an Excellent hotel, with nice, spacious and very clean Rooms.
We are very proud of our location as we are situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa, all the resort offers spectacular views to the ocean.
Once again, thank you for taking the time post your review on Tripadvisor and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Pestana Promenade.

Yours Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#16 of 88 in Funchal
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia No 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $92 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Promenade is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira and is one of the newest and most sophisticated contemporary hotels in Funchal. It is 2 minutes on foot from the beach and near Lido with direct access to the promenade that stretches all the way to Praia Formosa. Take a stroll through the vast garden area and discover one of the largest swimming pools of all of the hotels on Madeira. Visit the Spa with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, whirlpool bath, sauna, Turkish bath and gym. It offers two restaurants and a bar. Most rooms offer a relaxing view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pestana Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort
Pestana Promenade Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing