We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Holiday, Great hotel,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Somerset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday, Great hotel,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We arrived home today from a week at the Pestana Promenade and felt really sad to be leaving. The hotel has a beautiful location overlooking the sea. The grounds, pool and hotel are immaculately clean, the staff are so hard working and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The pools are beautiful - a bit cool - but the children didn't mind!! We had amazing weather, a huge suite and any small issues (like the sofa bed for our children being uncomfortable) were sorted quickly. The indoor pool was warm and the jacuzzi was too. The breakfast buffet was lovely - sitting outside in April overlooking the Atlantic Ocean - what more could you want!! We ate in the hotel some nights and this was fine - the lunch time meals at the "Deck " pool bar were good. We chose the half board with drinks option, which worked out well for us. We would definately return - infact might look on the internet for New Year prices!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheddarCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a positive posting of the Pestana Promenade Hotel.
We were delighted that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We truly value our highly personalized service, and believe it is what sets us apart from others, so it is always very reassuring to receive feedback such as yours.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Pestana Promenade in the near future

Yours Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    411
    68
    15
    6
See reviews for
304
1,021
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I was living in Madeira in 2009 as a gap year. However I was planning to leave the island in August 2010 and just before leaving my boyfriend decided to go over and suprise me for my birthday.

We both stayed at this lovely hotel from the end of July 2010 to the begining of August and must say it is most probably one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in.

The staff were very friendly, not once did we experience any negativity from the staff and the service was excellent.

The breakfast buffet was very nice as there was a big sellection and we had dinner probably twice or three times at the hotel and the food was lovely.
The rooms were extremelly clean and very modern, but cosy at the same time. Beds were very comfy.

The pool area was probably the highlight of this hotel, with a huge pool and plenty of sun beds.

As for the area, it's very touristic with wonderful restaurants surrounded and a shopping centre about 10 minutes walk away so you can't go wrong there.

I will be returning to Madeira in September for a family wedding and I look forward to staying at this hotel again during that time as I can't think of what better hotel to stay at than the Pestana Promenade.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniaobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on to Trip-Advisor.
It´s always very rewardind to read coments like yours.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the very best service !

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pestana Promenade should your travels bring you back to Madeira.

Yours Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

From the moment we arrived we knew that we had made the right decision over our hotel in Funchal. Reception staff welcoming and friedly as were all of hotel's staff during our stay.
We had a Classic Sea View Room which was very comfortable and well appointed.
We only had one dinner in the hotel and that was in the a la carte restaurant which we liked very much. Breakfast was buffet style with exceedingly good selection especially fresh fruit. Lunches at the pool bar were of a very high standard.
Pool and spa facilities were also excellent.
We had a most relaxing stay and have booked to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Book direct on hotel website, cheaper than Pestana
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterWGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay in Pestana Promenade Hotel.
We are delighted to learn you have had a wonderful time during your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be very comfortable and well appointed.

It's extremely rewarding when our staff and service is recognized on such forums.
We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our Hotel


Yours sincerely
Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Absolutely perfect 1-week stay in Pestana Promenade hotel in March 2011. The value for money is at least 150% (in the sense that such level of service should cost at least 50% more we pay for it). I would like to highlight few most striking features:
1. Helpfulness of the staff - all our requests have been met immediately (sometimes even before we voiced them)
2. Wide selection for the breakfast
3. Perfect room view and modernity of the room
The hotel is closer to the end of hotel area, but it's not a problem at all - the centre of Funchal is only 25 min of relaxed walk or you can take bus or taxi.
Shopping centre Forum Madeira (with big supermarket) is 10 min walk, plus two more stores are within 5 min walk. There a lot of restaurants in the area (specifically you can go uphill and find a lot of good places within 10 min walk)
Wi-fi is 3 Eur per hour, but 12 hours will cost you 4EUR, 24 hours - 5 EUR. So if you want to spend few hours surfing the web, that's not expensive at all.
The only drawback of our stay in Pestana Promenade was the short time period we spend there (6 days) - I wish to stay there at least twice as longer to fully enjoy perfect hotel facilities and hospitality of its staff.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimitry_Kiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for recommending us to other travelers. I am delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be absolutely perfect. That´s the best feedback we can have, thank you for that.

Your words will inspire the entire team at our Hotel to continue providing the best service experience, therefore I would like to thank you on behalf of all the team.

Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is a really brilliant hotel , the rooms , the wonderful pool , the beautiful location , and the friendly staff who give really exceptional service , all you could ever want in a holiday hotel . We only had breakfast at the hotel which was a choice from freshly cooked eggs , bacon , sausages , tomatoes etc , with fresh fruit , cheeses ,ham , brioches , croissants , toast , juices , tea , coffee , all you could ever require at breakfast time .
We will stay here again on our next trip to Madeira .

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valanita01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very for sharing your feedback with other travelers on the TripAdvisor site, it´s a great pleasure to read reviews like yours.
We all try very hard to Deliver the best service to all our clients, and it feels very god to be recognized.

We really hope that you will give us the pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel in a near future.

Yours sincerely
Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

we had a wonderful week in funchal and were very satisfied with this hotel, chosen from reviews on here. it was beautifully clean, peaceful and relaxing. we had booked into a side view room but were able to move to sea view on pool level. this meant we had the lovely gardens outside and could walk straight to the pool area. the rooms higher up obviously have a better view of the ocean, but for us it was nicer to be able to wander straight out to the pool and not go up in lifts everytime you need something from your room!
the staff were all professional and helpful and perfectly pleasant, you will never get really friendly characters in a hotel this size but thats fine. we went for my birthday and they put a bottle in our room that day which was lovely.
we only ate breakfast here as was more fun (and cheaper) to go out and mix with some locals, but the breakfast buffet was all you could ask for, a great selection every day.
it really is too far to walk into funchal IMHO! but you can get a bus from across the road very easily, also the taxis are not overpriced.
the only thing i can think of which is a bit of a shame is that the outdoor pools are not heated, which seems silly as it is not that warm for most of the year really. jacuzzi, sauna and indoor pool all very nice.
would return here, and madeira in general was all i hoped it would be

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennie2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review fallowing your stay at Pestana Promenade Hotel.

I am delighted that you chose the our Hotel for your holidays and pleased to read that you were very satisfied with the hotel.

Thinking about the environment our pools are solar panel heating, and the medium temperature for winter time is between 18 to 21Cº.
Our clients, as you did, can always use our indoor pool which has a wonderful view over Atlantic and the temperature there is around 28Cº all year around.

We look forward for the pleasure of welcome you back to hotel.


Yours sincerely
Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This hotel is perfect for a relaxing holiday and we had a lovely time. All rooms have stunning se views and there are plenty of sunbeds where it is peaceful and quiet. The service is excellent - probably the best I have experienced on holiday. It was my friends birthday whilst we were there and the hotel provided a bottle of sparkling wine which was a really nice treat. The only down side is the cost of food and drink within the hotel (although there is a fridge in the room to store shopping bought outside the hotel) and it would have been nicer to be a bit closer to town as you definitely need a bus or taxi. I would consider visiting the hotel again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Hales206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Property: Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing