We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast, not expensive and great food”
Review of Casa Italia

Casa Italia
Ranked #123 of 637 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Antwerpen
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fast, not expensive and great food”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We found this address on tripadvisor and also in one of our tour guides. When we came in, the waiter gave us the menu. After ordering our meals, we just had to wait 10 or 15 minutes (pastas) and our diner was served. The food was really tasty and you could really taste the Italian flavours.
We'll keep this address in mind for a next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miekemuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    223
    62
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Always visit this restaurant when in Madeira, sometimes three times during the week. Lunch and dinner are both fab. the half pizza and salad is a great deal and tastes amazing. the wine is also great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza, just when you need it.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Really great pizza, cooked just right with wonderful selection of toppings. Share a pizza and salad (they divide and plate with salad). Really good, with fresh salad mix.

Selection of oils and the chilli oil is as firey as it should be.

Well worth a visit, but ignore the location on the Tripadvisor map, Cassa Italia is near the Lido on the outskirts of Funchal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geewizzpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Best of Italian”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Casa Italia on Rua da Gorgulho Ioja is one of our favourite haunts in Funchal. The food is excellent, and the staff are so friendly that we always feel sorry to leave at the end of our holiday. Prices are very reasonable for a good choice of pastas, rice meals and of course, pizzas. The chef is happy to make alterations to the advertised dish to suit the diner's preferences. We recommend this Casa Italia very highly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Salamandersun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quiet but friendly”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went there for one meal during our recent stay. We must have chosen a quiet night for our dinner beause the restaurant was quiet and so lacked atmosphere. The food, however, was really good and we enjoyed it. Prices too were reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwil186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Italia also viewed

 

Been to Casa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing