We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but friendly”
Review of Casa Italia

Casa Italia
Ranked #115 of 615 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quiet but friendly”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went there for one meal during our recent stay. We must have chosen a quiet night for our dinner beause the restaurant was quiet and so lacked atmosphere. The food, however, was really good and we enjoyed it. Prices too were reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwil186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    212
    57
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great Italian experience”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

One of our very favourite restaurants on holiday. Fantastic pizzas and lovely ''specials'' at reasonable prices. Sitting inside or out, the staff there are the best for looking after you in the most friendly Madeiran way. You will not be disappointed. Do go there and enjoy

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“good food, good value”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Although the Casa Italia is small in size, it is big on Italian food. My pizza was the best I have ever had, so good that I managed to eat it all. Others in our party had pastas and risotto and all were equally good. As for the icecreams, they were to die for, and just one scoop was more than enough to round off our meal. When the bill came we couldn't believe how small it was! This is a great value restaurant and we shall be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank essexexteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I don't usually do a rubbish review but I feel so strongly about my experience here that I just had to share it. For at least five years now having lunch of half a pizza and salad and a glass of white wine at the Casa Italia has been one of the highlights of our holiday. Not so this time! Where were the young chatty and welcoming young waiters? Where was the best salad in Funchal, all fresh and nicely laid out on the plate? The pizza was cold and the topping was sparse. Our waiter obviously wished he wasn't there - surly and uncommunicative. When he brought the food to the table he put the plates down with such force that the sweet corn on my wife's plate rolled off and onto the floor. Granted, the restaurant was busy and they found us a table, but from then on the whole experience was one of huge disappointment. Needless to say, we won't be going there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Rondoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A good value, quality eating experience!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This Italian restaurant caters for all. You can sit outside or inside this restaurant in a comfortable environment. No pretentiousness and an amazingly efficient service. The staff are a real team, polite and helpful. We have eaten here twice during our stay on Madeira and will eat there again before our departure home. The meals are of a high standard and put some of the other 'high end' restaurants in the area to shame. All the meals served including our own Pizzas were very well presented and so generous with tasty good quality ingedients. My prawn pizza was delicious! When the bill arrived for two of us having had a 3 course meal each - was incredibly good value. Wine, water and the complete meal was 40 euros.... Well done Casa Italia may your tables remain full of appreciative customers. Happy new Year.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linford95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Italia also viewed

 

Been to Casa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing