We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place it never lets us down.”
Review of Casa Italia

Casa Italia
Ranked #123 of 628 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Love this place it never lets us down.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The best carbonara in town! My husband says the same about the pizza and the mixed salad is fresh and delicious.
On one of our visits this year we had the crepes which were really good. I would highly recommend this restaurant. It is not a 'posh' place but the food is SO good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    220
    58
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Italian Delight”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A must for any tourist in Maderia.Came across this fantastic place on our first night.Food, drink( gotta try the sparkling sangria) and staff were brilliant.This place is soooo good we ate there four times.Excellent!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit.... or two”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ate here three times when visiting Madeira between 29/7 and 12/8. It was seconds away from the entrance to our hotel (Eden Mar) which made it nice and convenient. The food was excellent and portions are huge. The prices are unbelievably cheap compared to the prices we pay at home for similar dishes.

The waiters are amazing to watch as they are so quick and efficient. One of them even runs about with the drinks tray from inside the restaurant to the outside tables. How he doesn't spill the drinks I do not know.

The ice cream they sell is absolutely amazing and one of the waiters told us it was home made!?

Definitely worth a try if you are looking for good freshly cooked Italian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elledee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We ate in this restaurant on 3 occasions during our stay in Funchal and all i can say is how exceptional value and the portion sizes where. Our visit was between 15/07/13-29/07/13. The salads are a meal in themself, although they do, do a starter size this is still a large salad, and the Pizza- well large and packed with filling and just a light base. The staff are very attentive and nothing is a trouble. This restaurant getts busy between the hours of 19.30- 20.00 so booking is advisable especially if you want to dine out-side. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellingjoist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good value and good service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited this restaurant during our recent holiday in Madiera. It is in the hotel district of eastern Funchal and is very popular. The pizzas we had were very tasty and there is also a good range of other Italian dishes on offer. The service was cheerful and efficient. Well worth trying for an informal holiday evening meal or lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Italia also viewed

 

Been to Casa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing