We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual dining experience”
Review of Casa Italia

Casa Italia
Ranked #118 of 620 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Casual dining experience”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

After strolling both the promenade and Estrada monumental, we decided to try Casa Italia. The restaurant had other diners, but wasn't over crowded. Seated outside, we were quickly greeted and shown a list of specials.
Menu was quite thorough with a number of pasta dishes. Wine options are limited, but still have about 10 different selections to chose from at very reasonable price points.
Portions were large and filling. Dessert menu was multiple pages, mostly consisting of local tropical fruits, housemade gelato, crepes, or a combination of any and all of them.
Service was attentive all evening.

Restaurant does not accept American Express.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    214
    57
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant stop for lunch”
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Located near the Lido shopping centre in Funchal. Great stop for lunch with great lunch offers. Definitely recommend the half pizza and salad, very well presented. Be prepared for a bit of a wait as it gets very busy.

Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Good Restaurant, But Going Down In The Ratings - Here's Why.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Don't get me wrong - we love this place. But on recents checks, we notice that it is Number 43 in the ratings. Come on Casa, you have never been this low. I honestly think that your removal of the "Blackboard Specials" during the evening is to blame. I notice that they are available at lunchtime, but not in the evening. Surely it should be the other way round! The menu is quite mundane without these. Only a personal opinion, but something's not right.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheba38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent value”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in Madeira again this year and had to go back to Casa Italia. We first visited this restaurant last year and ate there 3 out of 7 nights! This year did not disappoint. The food is delicious with a variety of dishes on the menu and an always changing "Specials" menu. The pasta dishes are excellent as are the pizzas. Besides offering good, well cooked and well presented food, the meals are fantastic value for money which is great when you are on a holiday budget. The staff are helpful and pleasant although they could be a bit more friendlier. This being said, overall its a pleasure to dine here and we will definitely be returning again next year.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suze311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food - shame about the welcome”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have eaten here on many occasions and have always enjoyed good meals at very reasonable prices in a welcoming atmosphere. This year, however, although the food was still very good and cheap, the service was dreadful, and one of us received the wrong dish. We went back a second time as we thought perhaps it was just the waiter having a bad day, but this time the waiter (a different waiter) was very stand-offish - no smile or friendly chat at all.

There are two Casa Italia restaurants - this one is on the steep hill by the Eden Mar shopping centre.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vvrutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Italia also viewed

 

Been to Casa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing