We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy little restaurant”

Restaurante Dos Combatentes
Ranked #39 of 621 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Venha desfrutar de uma óptima refeição no Restaurante dos Combatentes. Situado no centro do Funchal junto ao Jardim Municipal e ás adegas de São Francisco o Restaurante dos Combatentes é um dos mais históricos e emblemáticos restaurantes a servir no Funchal. Ideal para jantar ou almoçar, com amigos ou família, o Restaurante dos Combatentes alia um serviço de excelência a um lugar calmo e confortável para quem procura algo diferente.Porque a sua satisfação é o nosso maior prazer...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cosy little restaurant”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A good varied menu with plenty of local choice. Every restaurant in Funchal seems to have a similar menu with scabbard fish being a local favourite. I tried it here with wine and garlic and was served with a delightful salad and very nice boiled potatoes. My wife had a tuna steak which was perfectly cooked with polenta and boiled potatoes. A passion fruit desert rounded off our meal along with a very nice rosé wine. We turned up just before 7 PM which was lucky as the restaurant was soon full. Service was attentive but unobtrusive and overall the meal was good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenjisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    395
    81
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were looking for a restaurant just off the sea front, where they would be serving more locals than tourists, and we found the perfect spot.

Excellent food, superb house wine, great service and real value for money - all found here. I had the swordfish salad and passion fruit dessert, absolutely excellent. My other half had the mixed seafood skewer and crème brulee - not a scrap left over.

The restaurant is used by lots of locals and became quite crowded. It has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Next time I am in Madeira I will make a point of having lunch here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorisDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Conquest”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The pleasant aspect of this restaurant, with its efficient-but-friendly staff, affordable prices and good food won us over straight away - so much so, that, in a town with more than enough places to eat out somewhere different every evening of our holiday, we returned to eat there again. I was surprised to read in some of the reviews that others had been disappointed with the food, because it is certainly true that this is a restaurant popular with locals, busy every lunchtime and evening, and not only did we find our own meals very good indeed, but met another couple who holiday in Madeira regularly and eat here every time they visit - which, presumably, they only do because they've never been disappointed. Certainly, there is no area to dine outside, but we find ourselves avoiding outside dining, anyway, because it is where the smokers all choose to go.... The food is simple, but well done and, in my opinion, delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicnac13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a really, really, nice place to eat”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This place just pushes all the buttons for me - it's just on the informal side of posh; cheerful, friendly, busy, just noisy enough. Friendly staff, decent food, excellent [and excellently priced] wine. We finished up eating there every night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing; great service but ordinary food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Having read many 5 star reviews on here, we tried this well-located (by the Municipal Gardens) restaurant on a Tuesday evening in October. Quite busy, but plenty of space so no need to book. All the tables are inside, so no chance to enjoy eating outside on this warm evening.
The service was excellent, with just the right amount of attention - the atmosphere was spoiled a bit by the tables being crammed too close inside. The menu is quite interesting, with a good range of meat and fish dishes but, sadly, we felt that none of the dishes (starter, main and desert) was anything better than OK and that we had had much better food, at more reasonable prices, elsewhere in Funchal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Dos Combatentes also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Dos Combatentes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing