We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting.”

Molhe Panoramic Restaurant
Ranked #424 of 620 Restaurants in Funchal
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice setting.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we didn't have a great experience and would have been worse if trip advisor had not warned us about the dance music below ruining the ambiance the restaurant was trying to have. Poor service throughout. My pork was lovely but starters duck and soup not great. Husbands steak very poor and was meant to have pepper sauce although just garlic clove. Waited with no drink for ages and eventually had to get up and ask for the bill and a taxi which they didn't do!

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Still quirky but good”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have eaten here twice before with the last visit in Dec 2011. We knew it to be quirky and with a reputation amongst some in Funchal for not very good service. We booked it for one of the June Atlantic Festival firework nights because of the excellent view of the harbour and Funchal overall. The food was as good as ever and I can really recommend it as they have always had a good chef. We went for the all-in 35 Euro deal which is excellent value bearing in mind the food quality. Service was quirky which didn't surprise us. The staff were willing but were either new, didn't speak much English or weren't always very organised e.g. we were offered a complimentary Poncha drink long after we had paid our bill and watched the fireworks but it never arrived. So for good food and a superb view do give this place a try; just take the service as it comes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaiBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes (for the worse)”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have travelled to Madeira for over 10 years, as a now early 60’s couple, and have again decided to document this years (2012) restaurant visits. Dining took place either late afternoon or early evening across a variety of establishments revisiting previously rated restaurants, ones known to us over the years or restaurants rated in the Trip Advisor top 20. Bills were between €50 and €191. Each visit usually included 1 starter, 2 mains, 2 sweets, a large still water, a bottle of wine and 2 coffee.
Another restaurant revisited this year but what a change, the staff were not expecting us although we had made a telephone booking, and staff were not dressed to accept clients. The quality of the dishes and ambiance of the establishment seems to have changed and spoilt what the restaurant could offer especially its views over Funcahal.
Starting with a Chicken Pancake with mango salad €7.50, the spiced chicken overwhelmed the more delicate mango flavour, although admittedly was quite pleasant. Mains followed of a mediocre Scabbard fish with coconut sweet potato glaze €18 & Grilled Tornedos with veg and sweet potato €18. The steak although cooked medium rare (correctly although not asked) was relatively tough and not appreciated. Sweets of Red Berry Cheesecake €4.80 & Coconut Tirimisu €4.80 were uninspiring. The meal was accompanied by a bottle of red wine €18.50, water €4 and 2 coffees €2.50 ea.
We will not be returning and could not recommend. Total bill €80.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BHX_Traveller_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“gret view and place to enjoy over the marina”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have docked here many times but never walked up the wall of the Molho..today it boast an amazing glass walled nightclub and restaurant.There are 3 bars and dance floors..the larger had more flairings and Red Bull dancers, while the med-size had more merengue, salsa and the smaller enclaved 80ties style..
I parked a few meters away and walked to the pier side of the rock as the entrance is there! The security will give you a paper card and this is how you buy drinks. You order, they tick off and you pay at the end. then you show it back to security and they let you go! Oh there is a lift that rides you up and down!..I arrived after midnight and it was half full..locals party late till late..i left at 6am and the place was still full..great bar,never had diner there yet..i guess summer time will be perfect with such a view of the whole harbor! All staff here were fantastic!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miguel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had visited the Molhe a year ago under it's previous management and hoped under the new management, who also manage the complete site now, that the food would be as good and perhaps better organised. We were not disappointed. We had the 30 Euro deal which includes 3 courses from a limited but good range of dishes, welcome drink, 1 bottle of wine per couple and coffee. The food was beautifully presented and tasty. Service was friendly if a little slow. The view is fantastic. The place is a little difficult to find but well worth visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaiBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molhe Panoramic Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Molhe Panoramic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing