We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Ca Te Espero

Ca Te Espero
Reserve with
Ca Te Espero is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 644 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ca te Espero is a typical restaurant with a long tradition. It has been known for its quality and for its cosy and homy atmosphere, since 1976.Our food quality is the result of the use of fresh ingredients in the preparation and cooking of our traditional recipes. We point out Bife de Atum com Milho Frito (Tuna fish Steak with fried Maize), Filete de Espada com Banana (Fried Scabbard fish with Banana), Pepper Steak and Pork Fillet Ca te Espero Style.We will be very pleased to welcome you!
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This restaurant has been on our list since we first went to Madeira 22 years ago. It has been in the same hands since then and I understand it still has the same chef. This is confirmed by the fact that the food is still of the highest quality. Staff a friendly and welcoming.

The Espetada (beef on a spit) is wonderful and on one of our visits this year we each had a steak do die for, each version being different.

Ca Te Espero is wonderful and deserves more customers. If the walk up the hill is too much then don’t miss out, get a taxi!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank notwen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben E, Owner at Ca Te Espero, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear guest, we are most pleased to have served you. You are always welcome.Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Ca Te Espero
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 143 of 400 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

near our hotel we found this restaurant. Attracted to it because we saw local people eating there which normaly means "good local things". We had the espetada, salad and local wine. Good food but what makes it special is the attention the owner gives you. he makes you feel special and when we revisited he recognised us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank isa1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben E, Owner at Ca Te Espero, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear guest, we are very pleased to serve you well. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Nice cozy restaurant with beautiful facilities and many opportunities to sit both inside and outside, depending on weather and temper.
Great attentive waitress who took the time to listen to our desires, and to explain the menu to us.
This is particularly good when you come as a guest from another country.
Tuna steak with Maize and Espetada was tasty and interesting food from the kitchen of Madeira.
Lovely dessert, Pudim da Casa and Pudim Caramelo.

A restaurant that we defenitely would like to visit next time we come to Madeira

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ole Brinck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben E, Owner at Ca Te Espero, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you very much for you kind comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were served by a very pleasant lady who might have been the owner (but was not) as she took an interest in us. We both ordered the espetada for which she fixed tall metal rods with a hooks to the edge of our table. Onto this were hung the slewers of meat. Vegetables were good and certainly better than the watery, limp veg which we had at a restaurant a short distance down the street. The interior is attractively furnished and decorated. In all, a pleasant place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Latchford21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben E, Owner at Ca Te Espero, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Can't understand the rave reviews. We were underwhelmed. My scabbard was fine, husband's was all bone. You only get potatoes with the meal, we had to ask about accompaniments, ordered a salad between us as suggested. It was minute and no dressing offered. No wine list offered, we ordered house and it was Ok and cheap. Two staff only in a busy restaurant. Walk 3 minutes further (to the left as you are looking at the restaurant) and go to L'Osteria, it's brilliant compared to this. See reviews, and no more expensive.

Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben E, Proprietário at Ca Te Espero, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest, we apologize for having disappointed you. We hope we can still show you that our food and service are of good quality.
Thank you for your honest opinion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca Te Espero also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Ca Te Espero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing