We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“very enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bamba

La Bamba
Ranked #150 of 577 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Steak Madeira style highy recommended! Restaurant was very busy but there was no delay with our meal; service and food very good and reasonably priced. Well worth a visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    76
    27
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nummela, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best stake on a stone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went here two times. First time was clearly better, but the steak on a stone was so delisious it was wort the wait. First time the service couldn't be better. Second time the place was very busy and was disappointed to see it affected this place so much. Service was ok, waited drinks and food for too long. We found it strange that they have the tourist menus but they don't give it to you if you don't ask. In fact we saw three different kind of menus...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to unwind and eat fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were staying at the Vila Vicencia directly opposite La Bamba with my parents so decided to give it a try. In fact we enjoyed it so much we ate there 4 times during our week long visit. The tourist menu is great value for money and offers a good choice. We also chose from the main menu a couple of times and I can honestly say that the food was fabulous every time and the staff were charming and funny. Be prepared for a little wait occasionally because this restaurant is very popular with both tourists and locals but the atmosphere was so good we really didn't care. As the weather was good we sat outside each evening and relaxed with a glass of wine. If you walk past this restaurant and a very lively waitress summons you in, don't say no.... and definitely try the steak on a stone. It's an great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waited 20mins before I was given a menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

When seated in La Bamba I was happy with the feel of the restaurant, it was nicely placed. The happiness of my mood didn't last long. I had to wait 20 minutes before I was even given menus, and even then they didn't have enough, so we had to share. The food on the menu was nice and simple, nothing too complex. We ordered drinks and waited around 35 mins before they arrived. The starter took around another half an hour after the drinks. Once we had finished the starters which didn't taste bad, it took 20 mins before the plates were taken away. 40 minutes later the main course arrived. My pizza was nothing special, a bit dry. It didn't make up for the time we had waited. In the end we decided not too have sweets as it would be quicker to walk back to our hotel and get room service. Far too much waiting!

Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Four of us went to this restaurant and enjoyed the experience so much that we went back two nights later. The steak on a stone was an experience that both men enjoyed and we ladies had a good laugh at them wearing their plastic bibs. The three course menu was good value and the fillet steak hardly needed a knife it was so tender. The waitresses were chatty and bubbly and we were made to feel special. I only wish it had been warmer so that we could have taken advantage of the outside area too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bamba also viewed

 

Been to La Bamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing