We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally loved the place!”
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Nootdorp, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally loved the place!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Excellent hotel on top of Dolce Vita shopping center with private parkingspace. Room was spacious with luxurious design. They clean the room twice a day with a little surprise on the pillow at night. Everything works with touchscreenpanels. The extensive breakfast was tasty with a personal touch. The infinitypool at the top of the building was a nice place with beautiful views over Funchal. Loved the cocktails at happy hour! And delicious food at UVA restaurant also on the top floor. A must visit! Personal were really friendly and well educated. I LOVE this place!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgenius5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    599
    123
    26
    13
See reviews for
172
1,532
62
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a lovely week we had in Funchal at The Vine. From our arrival we were treated with VIP treatment and the hotel is stunning and certainly delivered and looked just like the website. The rooms were really lovely, just a few issues with the shower leaking a little but the bed was amazing and we slept very well. We were disapointed to see that we didnt have an Nespresso machine in the room, even after requesting one we didnt get a machine but was never explained why. Our mini bar never got topped up either which when you have to request water every night gets quite teadious.

The pool and sunbeds were great and very relaxing with lovely fluffy towels daily. Service at the bar and restaurant could have been faster, especially happy hour when every body in the hotel wanted a cocktail and with 1-2 bar personel they struggled to give the great service this hotel deserves to give. The prices for drinks were very expensive also with a GnT being nearly 10 Euros, you do expect better service. However the bar personel and also the waiters were nothing but professional and very friendly especially Bruno who gave us exceptional service. The food in the restaurant was a bit pretentious and we only ate in there once. The food was well cooked but none of the staff knew what they were serving which was a shame as the chocolate souffle was one of the best I had eaten in a long time.

To get good local food go to the local restaurants in The Old Town where its cheaper and fresh local daily fish is served alongside great polenta and fresh vegetables.

The inclusive breakfast was OK, a good selection, however the cooked food was always warm/cold and we always had to wait for fried eggs, which is annoying. Waiting for a pot of coffee was also frustrating when it could have been available to get from a machine if it was available. The breakfast was the same every day pretty much also, which if staying for 2 weeks would have got a bit boring. Would be nice to be offered an omlette, porridge or poached eggs for a change. The homemade jam was lovely though and a nice touch was offering champagne in the morning to start your day off well.

Overall we would recommend the hotel and the area for a great relaxing holiday. We didnt want to leave and will for sure be back for the wine festival.

Funchal is great and a brilliant spot for a holiday and we recommend the wine tasting and the catamaran trip. The local market is also a great find, but beware of the fruit sellers who are great sales people!! The Ritz Saturday night buffet and caberet is a must and a very funny night. Also check out the number 1 Tripadvisor restaurant which has great food but make sure you book. The Fort is also good for dinner and Riso has great views.

Wifi very slow so choose a time when its not so busy to download emails and make sure you stay near the courtyard and a high floor as there is lots of building work going on around the town and can be very noisy.

Overall we couldnt complain for our relaxing week we had at The Vine and would recommend it.

Room Tip: High floor and courtyard nearby rooms for the peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank DONNA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is very convenient for the centre and old part of Funchal. Ideal for us as it is away from the main hotel area.
Very modern design. Room large with bed in centre, bath was also in the room. Walk in shower, 'waterfall' design; unlike other reviewers ours did work and there were no draining away problems.
We were lucky that our room was at the back of the hotel and we had a good view up to Monte.
There was an even better panoramic view from the roof top bar.
The room was very clean and well maintained by the maids.
Breakfast buffet had very wide choice of conitnental or English, hot and cold.
We generally eat out but the meal we had in the roof top restaurant, UVA was excellent.
All staff were friendly and extremely helpful and efficient.
We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room facing towards Monte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB42022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at The Vine. The staff is absolutely great, the room is extraordinarily the food is outstanding and the view takets the breath out of you. We will definitively come back very soon!

Room Tip: Rooms at the fourth floor has some view overlooking Funchal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Li D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just returned from Madeira having stayed at the Vine Hotel for a week.

What an experience, from walking into the reception the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the decor is stunning. Designer bedrooms and even including the public rest rooms have not been overlooked in style.

The rooftop pool, bar and restaurant are stunning and the food some of the best I've eaten - ever.

Go, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Choose a balcony, the atrium rooms look over glass, still lovely though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aredwineplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Really excellent hotel .Excellent location and very friendly staff. Wonderful infinity pool. Everything is cutting edge .Walk in shower is let down by badly laid floor which leads to flooding .Otherwise I would have given 5.

Room Tip: avoid 308 and faulty shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banvie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here just over a week ago.
Most things were really good, large rooms, all the design features etc, breakfast each day was excellent and loved the rooftop bar. Great central location too.
However, disappointed with no tea/coffee facilities in my room but main problem was with the shower. Every time I used it, it never drained so I either had to ring reception or get the housekeeper to fix it. Admittedly it was done promptly each time but no effort made to fix the problem, just get rid so the water until the next time. No offer of a room change even though the hotel was not full.
Would probably return, good experience that could have been great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudypilmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,820 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
856 reviews
1.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Property: The Vine Hotel
Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing