We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that should be 5 stars but isnt”
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Good points:

1. very good start - we were early and our room wasnt ready but we were given a drinks voucher for the pool bar where we were able to wait for our room and personally escorted there by Charles who made us feel very welcome.

2. Beautiful hotel, original design which reminded us of boutique hotels in Barcelona and nice choice of colour scheme. Visual design is excellent in all areas.

3. Lovely food and drink at breakfast, pool bar and in the Uva restaurant which we visited on our last evening.

4. Lovely waterfall shower

5. Ten free drinks in the mini bar including two beers

Areas for improvement:

1. Our no. 1 bugbear was the poor accommodation of technology in such a recently built hotel.
It could be improved by router based wifi login (which devices can remember) rather than internet login meaning that we had to login repeatedly during the day. More sockets positioned in convenient places are required in the room. It was incredible that in 2014 there were no sockets by the bed, we had to unplug the lamp to use the socket for charging phones etc.. Infact even if we had had no gadgets with us we would have had to unplug the lamp to plug in the rooms's nespresso machine! We did eventually find some additional sockets but they were in strange places such as in the safe or the drawer under the sink - not convenient and not pointed out to us by the porter that explained the room details.

2. Pettiness. The guy who showed us to our room laboured on the fact that we only got three nespresso capsules in the room rate and that anything else would have to be paid for. These things are really cheap to bulk buy and we have stayed in plenty of hotels in England where you can have as many refills as you want. I would rather the room rate was higher than have to barter over additional coffee. Also there was a note on the minibar telling us we couldnt store any of our items in it. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and never seen this before. I use bencol cholesterol reducing drinks and stored them in the mini bar and often came back to the room to find they had been lined up at the edge of the mini bar as if to make some sort of point.

3. Staff. Although most staff were friendly they didnt appear to have the ease I would expect from a 5 star hotel. My partner was told off at breakfast by a rather grumpy waiter called Marco for putting 2 slices of toast straight after each other in the toaster (apparently it causes the toaster to block - was she supposed to know that)? At the pool bar the staff struggled to remember the order of their queueing clients causing a few altercations.

All in all a very nice hotel with good potential. We hope they will listen to our suggestions and make improvements.




We chose this modern recently built hotel over more traditional hotels in the area becasue we wanted internet access in the room

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank ahharman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 2,328 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We arrived at what appeared to be a mall, found an understated notice that reception was above and took the lift into what turned into the most modern and surprising stay area that we have ever visited. The reception staff were pleasant, informative and seemed pleased that we had come to the hotel. When we got to the room, it appeared to have a larger floor area than our home, with a central bed and plunge bath by the window. The one fault, which has been mentioned before, was although there was a modern coffee machine, there was no tea-making facilities but that is being 'picky' to a very great hotel. the swimming pool on the roof, with bar, is an eye opener to the average traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel ticked all our boxes for a first visit to Madeira. Some of the boutique features such as the lighting were a bit over the top and the open nature of the sink and bath make it a place for those who are confident in their bodies and relationship!!

Room Tip: Ask for an outside view rather than into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel is super modern and aesthetically very pleasing. The challenge is staying there! The room was beautiful but was way too dark for every preactical purpose so dressing, selecting clothes, shaving, applying make up etc were all a trial. The lighting takes a degree to fathom. We never succeeded in getting the under bed light to come on during the night, once the main lights were off. Instead we left lights on in either the bathroom or the loo, neither of which was a satisfactory option as the light was intrusive. The light Iight in onewardrobe functioned only intermittently. The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor.

The lighting in the lifts is so dim that you have to locate the floor button you want quickly, before the door closes and twilight sets in!

However, the pool deck is beautiful, happy hour buzzes, and the staff are fantastic. All the staff in all areas were lovely, delightful and efficient. You have to love this hotel even though it is often highly impractical. It is cool, cool, cool!

Room Tip: I suspect that all rooms are bound to impress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank munx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Lovely hotel in a very convenient location. The staff are really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The general decor is pleasant and well cared for and the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Amazing choice for breakfast pleased three of us with very different preferences. The rooftop pool, bar and seating area are peaceful and relaxing with stunning views. The spa treatments, though quite expensive, are wonderful thanks to the lovely therapists.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VivK1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went with 10 others for my daughters Hen weekend.The rooms were luxurious, clean and spacious. Staff made us feel welcomed and were very efficient. The food in the hotel is delicious and well presented.We used the Spa which was excellent service and good value for money and came out feeling relaxed and spoilt. The Location was perfect local to quaint little shops and restaurants. It's a 15 minute walk to the pretty Old Town with great food and friendly restaurants. Can't wait to book up with my husband.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. The service was very good the staff friendly and efficient. The rooms were spacious and stylish. The best feature by far was the roof top terrace which an infinity pool and bar which had 360 degree views across funchal and the sea. The restaurant was also on the rooftop terrace and while the food was very good it was more for a one off meal as it was gourmet, fine dining food.
There were a few niggles though:
The hotel entrance is not obvious as it is in the entrance of a shopping mall which turned out to be handy as it has a really cheap but nice supermarket which we used for getting lunch,water,etc;
The room while really stylish was not 100% practical; there were gaps either side of the shower door so water leaked into the bedroom; the coffee maker was difficult to use so we gave up in the end; the lighting by the sink is not the best for shaving.
The really good self service breakfast was spoiled as the food went cold too quick
quick. There was a plate heater but it didn't work.
These were only minor things which. Did not ruin the enjoyment of our stay. This 5 star hotel has a better location than the more expensive restaurants in the 'hotel zone' by the sea so overall we were very happy we booked there and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank DaveJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,068 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $168 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing