We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Designed to be very unpractical” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Kouvola, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Designed to be very unpractical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed at The Vine for one week, from Mar 9 to 16. This was our 5th time in Funchal.
We chose this hotel because of location, and that is one of the best in town (we have never been in Lidoa area and will never go). We had normal superior room looking to the harbour, a little sea view, nice. Good beds, no extra noice from anywhere. Good space. BUT...
Bathroom and toilet are two places where at least we prefer privacy. Smoked glass walls in toilet and shower, well well... Bath tub as a part of interior design in open bathroom.
Surface materials on tables were wrong, they looked dirty with glass bottom rings all over. Also all the doors of wardrobe closets looked dirty - and how difficult it was to open those doors, some kind of handles... I lost couple of nails.
The pool area was really nice, some times little windy.
And then the breakfast buffet. Poor. Seven mornings, allways the same, no changes, all the food even on same places all the time. No fresh tomatos, cucumber, any kind of lettuce, just those scrambled eggs, bacon, beans, cereals, orange juice... This kind of breakfast buffet demands nothing from the kitchen staff! If you compare this breakfast to Four views Baia or Porto Santa Maria at the harbour you understand what I mean. I forgot, all the bread was good!
Service at the pool and at breakfast was good, but sometimes I thought 1 or 2 persons there would do good.
Nice hotel, very different, sometimes little bit odd - so design, but maybe next time we try to get to Porto Santa Maria again....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerttuKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    572
    112
    26
    11
See reviews for
151
1,430
59
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I, loved the very modern look of the hotel, had no complaints at all.lighting was great, loved the senser light when you get out of bed in the dark, no fumbling for light switch.
Very friendly staff, service in restaurant excellent. It's just a short walk to the old town.
Will use this hotel again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Shereve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel should be named "odd but perfect". It starts with the location: on top of a modern shopping center, but also right in the middle of the town. Then, the swimming pool and jaccuzzi at the top of the hotel, while offering a wonderful view of Funchal. The hotel is an heaven in the middle of the lively town. The happy hour on the top floor is so special: the Vine and the Ocean breezer are the best cocktails we ever had! The room arrangement with the bath in the bedroom is odd, and I would highly recommend not to bother and go straight for the swimming pool with the view or the jaccuzzi. The restaurant will also stick to our mind, between the view and the unusual chicken soup. If I have to suggest any improvement, that will be to find a way to hold the toilet paper, and to lower the prices for the spa!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Karine_Gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

A truly amazing experience at The Vine. Cannot fault the service, the cleanliness, the breakfast buffet, the location... One of the best hotels I have stayed in.

I only have two (very very minor) negative comments: firstly, as much as I appreciate that The Vine is a design hotel, sometimes practicalities have been overlooked, for example something on the inside of the shower / WC door to help you close it (I did mention this to Reception on check out); secondly, whilst free WiFi is always appreciated, it is a little frustrating to have to keep logging back in every few minutes.

But seriously, these are such small things and in no way affected an amazing stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank AJWhitlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
208 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

First and foremost the location could not be better. Minutes from bus station, cable car and with a taxi rank at the front door, so excellent for getting around. We were upgraded to a junior suite which had a view over the inside of the shopping mall roof so not ideal but it was very quiet. In fact the lack of view was about the only negative thing I can think of. The staff are very helpful. They obtained tickets to the carnival for us. The room was very spacious with a bath at the foot of the bed, two tvs, two leather loungers. The lighting arrangements are a bit odd because the wording by the switches is so feint as to be hardly readable so you keep switching on the wrong lights! The breakfast was about the best I have ever had with fresh orange juice, good coffee, a large variety of breads, cakes, bubbly, cereals, good cooked breakfast ie scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, tomatoes etc. I would certainly return if I was to go to Madeira again.

Room Tip: Junior suite was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Positives: location is first rate, it's a design hotel and reflects that with the aesthetic drawing from features of Madeira. All is in good shape, staff are friendly, breakfast is really excellent and the rooftop bar, pool, jacuzzi, spa and restaurant are all impressive.
Negatives first: No problem with the shopping centre location, though agree with some comments about design over comfort - some will not like the pebble effect flooring and the bathroom lighting is poor, especially for someone applying make up. My other half just moved the vanity mirror to the desk...easy but not ideal. The fact that the plastic wall between the loo and shower is see-though is between odd and madness.

Overall, well recommended and excellent value when we went, but watch out for the quirks in case they don't suit you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Excellent, modern hotel. The rooms were large and luxurious and we loved the roof terrace with the swimming pool and bar. Happy hour between 6pm and 8pm was most enjoyable, although the prices weren't expensive even outside happy hour. The staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly the lady on the roof top bar. Restaurant UVA was fairly pricey but worth it.

The cold breakfast buffet was very good with a good selection of fresh fruit and pastries etc. Hot buffet was reasonable, however, I did think it was a little surprising that they charged an additional €4.50 if you wanted any type of eggs other than scrambled.

The hotel is in a very good central location. However, we had a room on the 3rd floor at the front and it was a little noisy on the weekend nights. I imagine rooms on the higher floors would be quieter.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Vine and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on the 3rd floor are a little noisy at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Property: The Vine Hotel
Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing