We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was certainly a 5 star hotel. Luxury by means of European and not international but still a great hotel. Location could not get any better with it being located in the centre and a 5 min walk from the marina and a 15-20 min stroll to the old town. Hotel was very modern and clean. Great staff, restaurant was over priced, bar needed more attentive staff In the evenings during happy hour and breakfast options were great! View from the pool was stunning although there should be some sort of alternative to when the area gets full. Bed was amazing and rooms were clean and classically modern. Spa facilities were basic and gym was also a public gym. The treatments were the sake price I would expect to pay in a London salon.

Room Tip: As long as it's a view your good as the Island looks incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Maison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    534
    100
    21
    11
See reviews for
144
1,348
55
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed for a week at the Vine for our annual holiday. Once you get over the fact it is entered via a shopping centre we found the hotel and rooms beautifully designed, the breakfast as good as any buffet can be, the staff very helpful and friendly and the roof top bar a delight. The location in the heart of Funchal is convenient and the views from the pool are fantastic. My only small gripe would be that although the restaurant has great views and the food is of high quality, it's still a bit pricey for what it is. Oh, and it only serves Portuguese wine. Overall though the Vine is a place to relax and live the high life.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor facing the mountains. The best view in the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank winebuffsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opio, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our first trip to Madeira. The hotel is very well placed for everything you would want in Funchal. Rooms very clean and well equipped with all the necessary amenities. The staff were courteous and helpful. Lovely roof top terrace and pool. Would suggest better staffing of the bar at certain times although Irene was outstanding.The tables by the constantly opening and closing door at the Uva restaurant are not good at all and are to be avoided. We would however return for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed last week in Jan 2014, got a 4th floor room,
Its modern, its superbly located, its a bit different, its very very good
Restaurant pricey, bar good, housekeeping excellent, we will return for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vegasfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed in The Vine for 3 nights from 21 Feb and had a very comfortable stay. The hotel is very conveniently located in Funchal. The rooms are well equipped and spacious. We found the staff very helpful and courteous. We particularly enjoyed the "happy hour" drinks at the roof top bar. There is a great view of the city from the roof.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel o other travellers.

David

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor as the view will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidB033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife have just returned fron 7 nights at the vine. The hotel is wonderful,right in the centre of the port area and with walking distance of all of the shops and restaurants. We were allocated a fantastic room on the 5th floor with a dual aspect view of funchal. I am full of praise for the hotel and the lovely staff who were all so very polite and helpful. I intend on booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
8 Thank AJP461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel is brilliantly located within easy walking distance of the old city and the cable car up to to the botanic and tropical gardens. We really liked this design hotel. Stylish room, helpful staff and an excellent breakfast.
The swimming pool on the roof was a great place to relax after sightseeing, gazing out on the beautifull hillside of Funchal.
We usually eat at local restaurants, but as our last night was ny husbands birthday we wanted to indulge ourselves with a special meal at the hotel's restaurant UVE
The food was excellent, a gourmet meny, the staff very professional and polite, it could not get better. It is quit expensive but you get what you pay for.
We did have some minor difficulties with the light panel in the room, but we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Gro1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
2.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Property: The Vine Hotel
Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing