We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed last week in Jan 2014, got a 4th floor room,
Its modern, its superbly located, its a bit different, its very very good
Restaurant pricey, bar good, housekeeping excellent, we will return for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vegasfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,231 - 1,237 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed in The Vine for 3 nights from 21 Feb and had a very comfortable stay. The hotel is very conveniently located in Funchal. The rooms are well equipped and spacious. We found the staff very helpful and courteous. We particularly enjoyed the "happy hour" drinks at the roof top bar. There is a great view of the city from the roof.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel o other travellers.

David

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor as the view will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidB033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife have just returned fron 7 nights at the vine. The hotel is wonderful,right in the centre of the port area and with walking distance of all of the shops and restaurants. We were allocated a fantastic room on the 5th floor with a dual aspect view of funchal. I am full of praise for the hotel and the lovely staff who were all so very polite and helpful. I intend on booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank AJP461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel is brilliantly located within easy walking distance of the old city and the cable car up to to the botanic and tropical gardens. We really liked this design hotel. Stylish room, helpful staff and an excellent breakfast.
The swimming pool on the roof was a great place to relax after sightseeing, gazing out on the beautifull hillside of Funchal.
We usually eat at local restaurants, but as our last night was ny husbands birthday we wanted to indulge ourselves with a special meal at the hotel's restaurant UVE
The food was excellent, a gourmet meny, the staff very professional and polite, it could not get better. It is quit expensive but you get what you pay for.
We did have some minor difficulties with the light panel in the room, but we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Gro1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very nice design, perfect service and breakfast and food.
On the terras in the roof it was very nice to relax, swim and take a drink. Love it !!
We will come again to stay.
Price food and drink Good ! Not expensive as I did reed ... :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, differend in colors, ask the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank mirella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Would definitely stay at this hotel again. We got a deal, don't know if I'd pay full price. Staff friendly and very helpful. Breakfast excellent. Location excellent. Next time would ask for a room at the back as occasionally the noise coming up from the street woke us. Loved the design of the bedrooms and particularly the fine Egyptian cotton sheets.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stunning & beautifully designed hotel. Rooms amazing & roof top pool very chic . Drink prices very expensive resulting in an always empty bar area with no atmosphere . Street noise can be heard in bedrooms,which was surprising for an acclaimed design hotel. Have stayed in similar hotels in Europe & had a much more peaceful night's sleep after cheaper drinks at the bar!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tethesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $177 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing