We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylisch City hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vine Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stylisch City hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed One Night. This hotel is a good place for exploring Funchal. Just a few steps into the Heart of the city. Try the restaurants nearby.

Interesting interior and friendly Staff. From the roof stunning view over Funchal from the mountains to the sea.
In you like designed rooms You will like this hotel.

Didn't try the Hotel restaurant but the Menu looks promising.
Breakfast with exotic fruits.
-–------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    572
    112
    26
    11
See reviews for
151
1,430
59
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Although somewhat unsually and inconspicuously located within a shopping centre, this is an intriguing hotel with interesting design finishes such as nature inspired lighting effects and pebble floors.
The roof top pool and bar are impressive with outstanding views over Funchal however prices are extremely high for drinks compared with nearby establishments. Lighting effects and design accents in the rooms are creative although it is sometimes difficult to see what you're doing due to the somewhat muted lighting.
Service is extremely friendly and courteous though and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel was was lovely, very well situated and just a few minutes walk from the centre of Funchal. The room was spot on, very clean and spacious. the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, large bath and i loved the waterfall shower. Breakfast was OK, a good selection, but the hot food was more warm than hot, by the time i sat down the scrambled egg was cold. the breakfast area outside was also spot on. Loved the double sunbeds by the pool, that is a nice touch. happy hour was also appreciated with the cocktail selection, however could do with a bigger selection of music, as it was the same tape every day! The reason for only a 4 rating, is because there was no entertainment in the evening, they could have done with some live local music, like other places locally. thats the only thing that we felt let it down. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lots of places to eat locally, the local people were so friendly & helpful everywhere we went. We will be going back and the Vine is definitely somewhere we will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nic-nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very nice and good looking design hotel. But is it 5 stars? In some points yes. The rooms are wonderful, luxery and big. The breakfast buffet is huge and there's enough to choose. But if you want a cooked egg, you have to pay an other €2,50 extra.? A cappucino €4,-, while you pay around 1,50 in the cafes in the area? Swimming pool and vieuw on top of the hotel are very nice. The Restaurant on top is stunning. On roomservice and cleaning no complain.
Use of Spa and sportfacility´s are a plus. But would I book it again? Yes I would defenitly, soon again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brenda-Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is in a fab, central location. The old town is only about 15 minutes walk away. We were fortunate enough to be staying in a design suite, which was huge with a lovely big comfortable bed and large wet room with waterfall shower. Some people complain about the pebbled floor; I think this is an excellent design, as you don't slip! Though the drainage could be better! The lighting system does take a bit of time to get used to and it is odd to have a bath in the middle of the room at the foot of the bed...though it is a lovely big bath! As well as curtains, the room benefits from electronic black out blinds, controlled from your bedside.

The breakfast buffet is very good quality, offering a variety of fruit, meats, cheeses, pastries, pancakes, smoked salmon, various breads, cereals, yogurts and cooked breakfast. You can even have some bubbly if you are so inclined. If the weather is decent, you'll be given the option of eating outside if you wish.

All the staff are very helpful and friendly. We cannot fault the service. The whole hotel is very stylish, classy, clean and modern, but it is rather dark, as the main colour scheme is black and dark purple. We loved the rooftop swimming pool, bar and sunbathing area. Stunning views of Funchal, the sea and the mountains. No issue getting a sunbed in the morning or the afternoon.

We would recommend this hotel if you want to be in central Funchal on a B&B basis to make the most of the plentiful number of restaurants located in the old town. Although the big hotels up the hill may offer balconies and a more traditional style holiday, it was nice not to have worry about catching a bus / taxi or climbing a hill every day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJNC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a hotel that tries very hard to be different and succeeds in some areas but is style over substance in others. We stayed for 10 days for a holiday along with my son and his partner - I think the hotel falls short of a 5 star but here are our plus points and minus points
PLUS POINTS
- Great location in the centre of Funchal and walkable to most of the other attractions.
- Good size rooms and great size (and comfortable) beds
- Friendly staff - as others have mentioned the reception staff are very good
- Really liked the showers/wet room in our rooms with the waterfall shower
- Steam room and Spa well run
MINUS POINTS
- the lighting system is bizarre and takes some getting use too and even with all the lights on in your room it is still not very well lit
-the public hallways and lifts are very dark with the subdued lighting - like walking around in a cave!
- We tried the much promoted and at 40 euros a head evening dinning experience, pretentious food taken to a nonsense level and would not recommend. One example is my own starter of melon and ham - all jellified (yes including the ham!!) - was like eating from a selection of jars of heinz baby foods.
- The room toilet has no toilet holder with the paper stacked on the floor
- the shower room has no indoor handle so you have to try and judge how hard to pull the door when open so it stays fairy closed when you are in it or face the consequence of having a wet floor outside in the bathroom area.
All in all the hotel is an experience but not one I would repeat

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank williamBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

In the Center of Funchal on the top of a shopping mall the vine combines a modern hotel with an excellent service. The relax-swimmingpool area gives a 360* view, though there's not quite much to see, not in all of madeira. The hotel is recommended with her fine service en good prices for food, snacks and drinks (happy hour!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BH75c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Property: The Vine Hotel
Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing