We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melia and Funchal a perfect combination!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 15, 2010

My husband and I went for a short 4 night break - it was our first trip to Funchal. The trip was wonderful from start to finish, and while part of that is due to Funchal and Madeira being such a nice place to visit, the Melia Madeira Mare made it a perfect trip!

Before leaving I e-mailed the hotel about the spa and had a very helpful reply from Nati - she was there when we arrived and everyone on the front desk was smiling, helpful and friendly. This despite them being overwhelmed by a large tour group of Americans who were just checking in.

I booked the cheapest room, but it was large, well appointed, and immaculate. Despite the description saying mountain view, we could see the see just fine. Yes, there was some noise from cars in between our hotel and the next one along, but we did have our balcony door open at the time. Lovely flat screen tv, great bathroom with bath/shower, lots of towels, plenty of storage, mini bar fridge, small sitting area, desk, and safe. The bed was large, comfortable, and there were a selection of pillows. Certainly 1 of the nicest "standard" rooms we've ever had. At night there was turn-down with pillow chocolates too.

The hotel has a main buffet restaurant - which was magnificent - overlooking the pool; a pool bar/snack area for lunch, a lobby bar (though never used this) and a small a la carte restaurant adjoining the main buffet (did not use). We did half-bard which was great - lovely breakfast, with everything imaginable to choose from (yogurt, cereal, fruits, cheese and meats, eggs to order, bacon, etc etc) and a lovely buffet dinner as well with cook to order foods as well as varied selection. Again my husband thought it was the best buffet we have experienced.

My husband said the spa was wonderful, with chill out jacuzzis and a small but well equipped gym. There was also a marvellous indoor pool - which you might need in Madeira as showers can come and go.

The pool area was lovely - overlooking a promenade along the seafront, and when you sat there you did feel you were on the sea, as the pool is slightly elevated above this.

the staff were excellent - Nati at the front desk, Paulo in the restaurant, the pool man (he was there with your lounger cushion before you had chosen where to sit) and the pool bar staff all excellent.

The hotel is in the Lido area, about 5 minutes by cab into centre - lots of shops, bars and restaurants on your doorstep, though it is a bit hilly if you have mobility issues.

We were most impressed by a delivery of a half bottle of fizz and nibbles on my husband's birthday - we hadn't told them it was a birthday as far as I remember, so they must have noticed when they logged his passport at check-in.

The only thing I could even find that was not absolutely perfect was a broken hook on the bathroom door and the beginning of 1 or 2 springs in the bed going sideways, which I felt by chance on the side of the mattress - these are tiny things which did not affect my stay in any way, but might be helpful for the hotel to know about and give a bit of extra training to room cleaning staff to log even tiny things that need doing as and when they see them, so that they never see a complaint on this page ever.

We also loved the managers cocktail evening, which apparently is help every friday evening - free fizz, crisps and bar snacks - a nice way for you to meet the staff and a great way for the hotel to everyone is enjoying themselves. A very nice touch indeed!

All in all this hotel is FANTASTIC, staff are excellent, and we will definitely be going there again! Well done Melia Madeira Mare!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,873 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel, built about 18 months ago, is modern and comfortable. It is also clean and spacious. The rooms offer good en-suite facilities, sufficient wardrobe and drawer space with good quality hangers. Free electronic safe and tea/coffee making facilities are provided daily. Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location (but I am a regular visitor and so know the area well; some might find it a bit too far from the town centre but there are plenty of taxis). Absolutely fantastic spa - not free though and the treatments are at the top of the range price wise, but well worth it. The one criticism is the system of pool towels (leave in the bath and the maid will change). To be fair, this is not the only hotel on the island with this system but, for 5* I'd prefer to be able to change towels at the pool whenever I wish. I will certainly stay again though.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gray_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Very clean hotel. Excellent breakfast and service but disappointed as had to pay 15 Euros a person per day to use the Sauna/Steam room. This was not cleared when we booked. Not quite expected in a five Star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritaIbbotson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

External facilities were excellent but staff and room left a lot to be desired in a 5 star hotel.

Reception staff rarely made eye contact with guests when entering hotel. Bad advertisement for hotel, as first point of contact with client is extremely important for making an impression.

Our room was upgraded to side sea view but was quite small as was bathroom for price paid.

Bar expensive with no atmosphere and again staff not very friendly.

Lay by pool 3 times and my husband had to find the guy to ask for the cushions for the sunbed on two of the three occasions.

The person responsible for replenishing the juice jugs in dining room at breakfast was curt when I asked if they had apple juice (they had three other juices which i couldnt take due to an allergy) used one word "No" and did not apologise or offer to get me some for the next day. The first glass I picked up was cracked and my cup on my place setting was chipped, again not very good for 5 star quality.

Overall I was disappointed with hotel and service and I will not recommend to friends or return there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarebear53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The hotel and rooms are lovely and meet 5* standards. The service, however, is really pretty poor. We only booked B & B and based on the breakfast service, I'm glad we did. The usual experience was to arrive for breakfast, try to find a laid table, or at least a clean table, then try to find a waiter to lay it and serve coffee. On several occasions we simply helped ourselves to a jug of coffee and milk. Breakfast buffet was ok but noticed on one occasion that a bowl of fresh peaches were actually rotten. The staff were harrassed and there were too few of them to provide a reasonable service. Also found some of the staff abrupt, verging on rude.

Only the pool bar ever seemed to be open and the smaller, Italian restaurant didn't open at all during our stay.

The pool towel system they have in place was absurb as you couldn't get a clean towel unless your used one was left in the room. We never once received the turndown service for the towels to be replaced then, so were reliant on the room cleaner to replace them. As she usually came after we went out for the day they either didn't get replaced or we had to contact housekeeping and ask for new towels. Also replacement of in room tea/coffee/milk was poor, had to chase after the cleaner on one occasion to get supplies.

The room service menu was quite limited but not overly expensive.

Having said all that, we loved the room and bathroom which was beautiful, apart from the fact that the shower leaked over the floor. This was due to a design fault as the water didn't drain away quickly enough and it ran over the lip which was installed too low to function property. We also had a spacious balcony with a great view overlooking the water.

The spa is fantastic, one of the best I've ever visited and I would throughly recommend a visit. Even if you don't have a treatment, for 15 Euros you can use the aqua spa area which is really good. The spa manager was really helpful and very happy to discuss various treatments etc. As the weather wasn't great we used the indoor pool a few times, which is a beautifully designed area. Apart from one occasion, it was quiet. and very relaxing.

The outdoor pool is a reasonable size but the surface area around the pool has not been laid property and is degrading. It isn't sensible to walk barefoot in this area and the hotel really needs to have the surface laid again. Then pool overlooks the Gorgulho beach area so the views are really nice, and the pool area was always peaceful with plenty of sunbeds available.

The day before our check out, we asked if we could have the room until late. I'd joined the MAS rewards scheme at the time of booking and this stated 4pm checkout for members. The receptionist said we had a 12 noon checkout time but theManager was at the desk and immediately changed our check out time to 5pm which was really good service.

For a hotel group that says 'service is our passion', I have to say that it really didn't seem that way. Melia Sol needs to read guest comments on TA and take note of them. Some staff were very solemn and rarely spoke or smiled. If you are expecting the sort of service you get in the far east, don't book this hotel! We got a very good deal and I'd recommend regularly checking their website to get thebest price as these fluctuate quite a bit. I'd also recommend joining up the MAS rewards programme as it has several benefits which are free.

All in all, the hotel is lovely, in a good location but really needs to up its game in terms of service!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhappy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

It's the smart guy, with the well tailored suit, well polished shoes, crisp shirt but the cufflinks are missing. This is a new, beautifully clean hotel, with cracking rooms but the finishing touches that make a 5 star experience are really hit and miss. Now some of the things sound trivial, but they all add up to not delivering on what we think makes a 5 star exactly that. Turndown service was like a lottery - when it came it was at 4pm, but mostly they forgot. There was never a cleared breakfast table ready to accommodate guests. Most mornings we laid our own table! Tea and coffee wasn't replenished in the room (then it took an hour to get some). Bless them they can't make a cappuccino for toffee. No water butt in the gym. The evening entertainment was appalling. Sad thing is the management are told all these things, but do nothing about it. This aside we had a good break. "Melia, get the little things sorted - put as much effort in to the experience as have on the physical establishment".

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband an I stayed in this beautiful hotel in Funchal Madiera for a week. The hotel is new and very plush with marble floors and purple upholsery. The service was great and the location also very convenient. Pleny of food outlets, very safe easily connected by bus to the city. Room and bathroom were large and well laid out. The staff was very polite and extremely helpful administering to all our needs.
If i go back to Madeira Portugal i will stay there again.
viji

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vijivijayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,068 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $115 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing