We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 23, 2010

If you travel to funchal i recommend staying in Mélia Madeira Mare. They have a nice view to the beach, good location and friendly employees, also the breakfeast is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACatarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2010

We booked this hotel as it was a 5 star rated hotel.

Before I talk about the hotel I want to give people some advice about Madeira as an Island that I wish we had known or at least looked into before hand. It's an extremely quiet island with next to no night life, we went in June and which is one of the "blanket months" which has a thick cloud over the whole island about 90% of the time, if you are a sun worshipper this is not the place for you! there are no sandy beaches. The first thing we noted about the island was the general age of other tourists which was all retirement + age. Having said that if you like more cooler weather with out so much sun and are eldery then Madeira is the place for you : )

Back to the hotel, it was very clean and rooms were nice. Breakfast was very average buffet which constantly ran out of items of food so each morning you would get most food but would then have to track down a staff member to ask can I get some... the staff were pleaseant but very forgetful, this became annoying after a while. Also thebuffet food was not labelled so you had to lift the lid on everything to see what was what, the food was also luke warm.

Dinner was confusing when we arrived, staff walked past us as we stood in the middle of the restaurant, it stated two restaurants but it was basically a choice of a la carte or buffet but both seated in the same area so while paying a la carte prices the people next to us were getting up and down every two mins for buffet food, not so relaxing.
We opted for the buffet but like the breakfast, items ran out like rolls, I got soup but had to wait ten mins to get a roll! We really like eating out but the food was very disappointing.
We retired to our room after being a little deflated to watch a film, the films were 12 euro, but buying them became difficult as the process was not in english, when we eventually did buy them there was subtitles and a problem with sound, reception were unable to help and said they would cancel the movie which as it turns out was still on our bill which I refused to pay for.
I also wanted to note the air conditioning in the room is poor, on one night I had to sit out on the balcony as it was cooler than the room. I mentioned this at reception they did resolve the problem but temperatures were not as they should be for a proper air con system
My girlfriend got her hair blow dried in the spa/salon she was left waiting 45 mins, the cost was low 15 euro plus products she was told which ended up as 28 euro, I'm not sure how shampoo and conditioner can work out at 13 euro? Massages were very over priced.

I'm not sure how hotels are rated in Madeira but in comparison to Ireland and UK this was no where near a 5 star. The prices were high for the quality.

To sum up the hotel it was clean staff were pleasant, food was disappointing, if you are expecting five star you will be disappointed. I question if the people writing reviews of this hotel are in fact patrons of the hotel and if so have they ever actually stayed in a 5 star.

Regarding the island, if you like the sun enjoy dressing up and going for really good meals and some night life this is not the island for you. We are in our late 20's early 30's but found it to be extremely quiet and quite a dull (in our humble opinion) island as regarding glamour nice bar's and good restaurants. As mentioned we talked to older people 70+ and they were very fond of the island. I would recommend Reids for afternoon tea, the service there was more in line with a 5 star.
Attached are some weather pics and some at night of the hotel.
I note some references to other peoples post's on this hotel. This is simply our opinion of the hotel after staying there and everyone is entitled to their opinion. Thank you.
Enjoy your holiday where ever you go : )

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sidguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The hotel is new, modern and provides a touch of elegance to this beautiful island. The staff are extremely professional and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Yes, it is about a 40 minute walk into town, but it's hardly arduous and actually sheer pleasure. Local bars and restaurants offer incredible value for money (even the more "touristy" ones) and, as the island is geared around tourists, they do their best to make you welcome. A few areas for improvement - breakfast staff could be more attentive (offering tea and coffee etc), the bar was a little lacking in atmosphere and the "heated" pool did feel rather cold, but these are minor quibbles.
A First Class Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glindaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stayed at the beautiful Melia Mare Hotel at the very nice quiet and beautiful Island of Madeira for the second time in March/April 2010.

What a nice experience !

I did have some email enquiries before booking the hotel again. Mrs Sousa from the Hotel management always answered right away with very good information to all my questions.
This is how Costumer Service should be !!! Obrigado Mrs Sousa !!!!!!

The Hotel is located in the hotel area Lido of Funchal, easy to walk to the old city (25 min) or taking a bus which stops just a few meters away from the hotel.

Hotel itself is brandnew, very nice stylish rooms in beautiful colours.
Located facing the sea with a very nice swimmingpool. Beautiful Spa and well equipped Gym !

Pros :

- new, CLEAN, and very stylish
- quiet
- very good breakfast, lots of choices, especially nice to have the breakfast outside
- free high speed internet, via cable in the room, wireless in public areas
- free parking in locked Garage
- nice huge swimming pool outside, which lots of space to settle down, very quiet.
- beautiful SPA
- well equipped Gym with new and good equipment
- friendly staff

Cons :

actually NONE, well it would be nice to have wifi and not internet via cable in the room, but that is just a minor picky thing ;-)

THANK YOU once again Melia Mare Madeira, we will be back !

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SebastianHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

An all-round great hotel..... good location, about twenty minute walk from town so out of the hussle and bussle but plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and even a spar shop over the road! Lots of transport into town too if you don't want to walk.
Very clean and modern and good value for money. Beautiful views over the sea. Good large rooms with comfy bed and pillows and a excellent bathroom and shower. Plenty of room to sunbathe by the pool and the indoor pool is lovely too, including jacuzzi and jets inside the pool as well. These are free of charge. There is a great spa but you have to pay 15 euros each. not bad though really i guess. Staff very helpful although it took ages to get an iron to the room. Didn't use the restaurant at night so can't comment on that but the breakfast was great...far too much selection...just wish they had crossiants!!
The aerobus stops pretty much outside which is handy, as well as the sightseeing buses. Oh and the free wifi is great. Sit out on the balcony and look at Tripadvisor for what restaurant to go to that evening!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wetravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Melia Mare is a good price/quality. It has a good SPA. Also the breakfast is good but if you stay for many nights it would be good to have other options. The outside bars and the room service should be improved. Besides this hotel I have in the last years stayd at Carlton Pestana, Madeira Regency Cliff, Hotel CS Madeira Atlantic and others. I always prefer brand new hotels and the lido area is the best. It has good restaurants around and good scenery. Love Madeira!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed for one week at the begining of may. The room was classified as a land view twin.The room we were given was on the 8th floor and had a fab balcony with table and chairs with a stunning view of the Jappanese garden, fountains and a beautiful side sea view. The bedroom was spacious with 2 oversized comfortable beds with soft clean linen, sofa, table, desk, LCD T.V. with remote. The bathroom was fully tiled and had twin basins, fixed hairdryer a large bath with a extra large headed shower and also a hand shower and a bidet. Tea and coffee facility was replaced daily.
Breakfast has everything you can image including champagne! Delicious!!
Two pools inside and out with lots of sunloungers, parasols and side tables around and also in lovely secluded areas.
We found all the staff very efficient and helpful.
The area around has many restaurants, the one we enjoyed was Il basilico, (at the bottom of the hill) the food was fresh and the staff very friendly.
We took the yellow bus tour which is a hop on hop off which we would highly recommend to get your bearings, €12 each for two tours in 24 hours.
I would recommend this hotel to all we had a lovely relaxing week.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanie756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $108 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing