We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jummy anonas of Madeira!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great place to stay at if you are in Lido, Funchal, Madeira. Cosy, nice, quiet and supergood rooms. (LIttle to hard bed for me, but my wife loved it.) Fantastic view. Tasty breakfast with all type of stuff to eat, only thing missing was more fresh fruit. Had a lot of canned pears, peaches, etc, when the island is full of fantastic tropical fruits like papaya, etc. (There was thus very jummy "anonas".)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Jens_Bjarred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Many thanks for sharing your review on Tripadvisor and for your preference in our Resort during your recent stay in Madeira.
We're pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us.
Our resort is located in the heart of the tourist area in Funchal and our rooms have magnificent views over the Atlantic Ocean!
We hope to welcome you back to Meliá Madeira Mare in the not too distant future.
With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

I received friendly welcome by the reception staff and shown to my spacious rooms. The room and the bathroom were nice and very comfortable. The food was delicious and varied, the waiting staff efficient and friendly. The hotel location is very pretty and within walking you can go allover places around very easy, also you have near hotel shops and bars/restaurants and point of view...
I spend there a great vacation ( one week). Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoriapetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your very kind and positive review.

We're delighted we were able to deliver on our brand standards and thank you too for commenting on our waiting staff, who will undoubtedly appreciate same.

Our resort is pretty well located and within walking distance to shops, restaurants and recreational areas and glad you enjoyed your week's stay.

Thank you for your preference and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

All staff very welcoming and attentive. Room comfortable with pool and ocean view.
Unfortunately we only had buffet evening meal on two occasions as there were too few residents. The a la carte food was not very good.
We would return to this hotel if we visit Madeira again but would probably do bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you kindly for taking time to post your review.
Appreciate your positive comments and regret that our a la carte service did not meet with your expectations.
We thank you for your preference and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the not too distant future.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Staff - very smiley, always polite and I felt they genuinely would do anything to make our stay a pleasant one. Especially a guy at the reception who played with my iPad for a good 5 minutes to help me connect to the wifi. And the waitrons at breakfast keep the coffee flowing.
Rooms - very spacious, kitted out pretty well although nothing wowed me. Although the window in th bathroom so you can watch the TV in the shower was fun.
Views - wonderful, we faced inward to th hotels grounds so had the sun in the AM and could see the sea.
Gym - bit disappointed, lots of machines to exercise your legs. Ur nothing for your abs or stomach. But did he job...
Indoor pool - nice enough, I can imagine it's a bit busy in peak season.
Outdoor pool - amazing views but bloody freezing and no hot tub. Which would have been nice but... Not th end if the world.
Breakfast - repetitive but nice. Lovely setting.
Maderia - amazing. Good weather, lovely people and beautiful views.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience during your stay with us.
We appreciate your positive comments and regret that not all our services met with your expectations. Your feedback is of vital importance to us in our efforts in delivering on our brand standards and your remarks have been noted and actioned upon internally.
We're glad you enjoyed our lovely island and do hope to welcome you sometime in the not too distant future.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We've stayed here 8 nights. Prompt, polite and welcoming check in. Room specious, fairly clean but there were quite a few dirty corners in the toilet plus cracked wall tile next to telephone. For five star services I would expect a little bit more from the cleaning staff, paying more attention to details. Our personal belongings such toiletters in a bathroom,luggage, shoes or cloths around the room were always found in the very same position as they were left, indicating that surfaces beneath weren't cleaned.
Breakfast room, well what can I say, organized like a canteen. There is nobody to greet you,show you to your table or wish you enjoyable b-fast. Not a 5 star service at all. The only moment you stay in touch with staff member is when coffee is served. That's it,from that point you are on your own with plates piling up and not being cleared away nearly never.
As I normally don't drink filter coffee, this time I must admit tasted delicious, always freshly brewed and hot.
Selection of food lacking portuguese/madeiran touch. It's pretty much as I never left London-hash brown,beans,bacon,sausages plus orange juice from the concentrate(awful). Having said that, I'm sure no one will leave room hungry,that for sure.
Swimming pools - nice touch, never over crowded with nice and polite service at the pool bar(delicous poncha).
The most helpful people we've met were at the reception, always willing to give a good advice about sight seeing or restaurants.
All in all, not a bad stay at all due to people of Madeira in general which we found it friendly and welcoming. As per hotel I wouldn't say I have recieved 5 star services I've paid for. No wow factor at all. Just a solid 4 star I would say.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArturNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you kindly for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback is appreciated and fundamental in our efforts in attaining complete guest satisfaction.
We regret that not all our services met with your expectations and thank you for highlighting areas of concern which have been shared internally with senior management.

We thank you for mentioning our reception team, who will no doubt be encouraged by your comments.

We do hope your experience has not deterred you from re-visiting our lovely island and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our party of six spent a week a this hotel in September. We received the most friendly welcome by the reception staff and shown to our spacious rooms. The room and the bathroom were spotless and very comfortable.
The food was delicious and varied, the waiting staff efficient and very friendly.
The hotel location is very pretty and within walking distance of Funchal Town if you are fit enough!
Don't try to walk back though, it's uphill all the way so take a bus or taxi.
By the way, I agree with Cjcpac about the A La Carte restaurant, we never found it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NannyRo8123419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Many thanks for your preference in our resort during your recent stay in Madeira and for posting your positive review on Tripadvisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed our facilities and services and hope we created a memorable stay for you.

Look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was extremely clean and the staff very friendly. If anything I don't think they advertised their a la carte restaurant very well. We had been at the hotel two days before we realised where it was! The evening we booked a table we were the only people eating there. Carla was our waitress, who we had met before at breakfast, and again she showed her professional service. We had a wonderful meal, thank you chef , and Carla made it extra special with her friendliness. I think you need to do more to advertise this restaurant as the standard of food was excellent. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjcpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you kindly for your very positive review shared on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your kind comments and are pleased to hear you had a memorable stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

Thank you too for making mention of Carla in the restaurant and our chef - your feedback will be shared internally and am certain will serve to motivate them even further to continue on delivering on our brand standards.

We thank you for recommending Meliá Madeira Mare to your friends and do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $108 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing