We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent will definitely be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“excellent will definitely be back”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

this is without a doubt one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in.its top class yet casual and reaxed with every member of staff more than willing to assist with your every need..the room was super with sea view,nice bars and a choice of lobby bar with music,pool bar,buffet restaurant or a la carte.it located 20 mins walk from central funchal,a little further to old town.lots of restaurants and bars close by.we were invited to captains table for dinner one night and it was lovely,the manager is always available and a really nice guy,cant say enough good things about it

Room Tip: has to be sea view not that much extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking time to post your review.

We're absolutely delighted to read your positive and kind comments and happy we were able to deliver on our Brand Standards.

Glad you enjoyed the Captain's dinner with our Manager and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back sometime in the near future !

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    554
    165
    36
    13
See reviews for
240
1,128
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here 13 to 2o October, and was most impressed with Fatima, who worked at breakfast and the pool bar. She just a great girl, so hard working, and so friendly. She is an asset Melia. Hold on to her and reward her well!!! Great hotel overall, no complaints. We got bottle of bubbly for our anniversary on arrival, much appreciated. Only thing is we enquired re bus services as wanted to visit sao lorenco to walk, and information regarding times was not great. We hired a car in the end. Better idea anyway!!

Room Tip: higher numbers as in floor no say 5, and higher number after that, ie 534 better than 522 as nearer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your review.

We will be sure to pass on your very kind comments to Fatima who will be very pleased and appreciative of same and this will undoubtedly motivate her even further in our efforts towards attaining complete guest satisfaction!.

We're happy you enjoyed your stay on the whole and thank you for choosing our Resort to celebrate your anniversary!. Our very best wishes to you for many more wonderful anniversaries filled with lots of health and happiness always!.

We apologize for the times issue relative to the Sao Lourence walk and have made a note to address this internally.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went to Madeira to write, study and relax. Worked out fine. Quiet hotel, nice room for computer work, ok wifi. There was access to the sea nearby, which was great. Great breakfast buffet.
Only problem was heat in the night. Not very useful air condition at nighttime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Jarle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole and apologize for the air conditioner problem, which has been addressed internally.

Thank you for your preference in choosing our Resort for "study and relax".. do hope your studies are going well and that you had a relaxing time with us !

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Good location, friendly staff, clean. Comfortable room. Good food .
Yes , I would stay again. Didn't have a sun umbrella but was soon sorted. Free safe which is always a bonus. Balcony with sea view. Free Internet .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Pamela May H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted to hear our services and facilities met with your expectations and look forward to welcoming you next time you decide to visit our lovely island.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and were not disappointed. It is a destination for older people I would suggest and although we love kids this was a great choice for good food, comfort, great weather with peace and quiet. Even the flights were scream free. The hotel is excellent and the staff helpful and polite, so hard working. Breakfast was from a buffet which provided a good choice although on our last two days there was no muesli. We didn't have a dinner in the hotel but the menu looked interesting but when there are so many too choose from a few are going to get missed. Anybody in the industry should go and make Fatima an offer she can't refuse, she speaks at least 3 languages and just never stopped working, what a gem. The public areas were clean and tidy, the indoor pool looked great and the outdoor was well supplied with sun beds although a couple of the parasols were broken.

Our room faced east so got the morning sun and the balcony was a great place to get shade later in the day. A good size, well kept and comfortable. The bathroom was kept supplied with toiletries and towels changed as require. The aircon was quite noisy though.

Not badly placed, there is a pleasant promenade walk and shops and restaurants on the doorstep It's a bit of a hike down to the old part of town, anywhere between 35 and 45 minutes, mostly uphill coming back! but there are some great restaurants worth a visit for a bit of atmosphere. A good way to pass a couple of hours is to sit in the Ritz café/bar, listen to the live music and watch the world go by.

However opposite the hotel is the White Candle which does great food and specialises in Flambe, The fillet steak was superb, service is possibly a little slow but who cares when your on holiday, a glass of wine in hand and great weather.

Would we go back? most certainly. Well done the Melia and staff.

Room Tip: Probably best to spring for the extra cost of the South facing larger rooms with big balconys and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morayharvester0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Many thanks for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us at Melia Madeira Mare and that our services met with your expectations.

We thank you too for your kind comments relative to our staff and special mention of Fatima - (she will be delighted to know that) - same will be shared with all internally.

Your feedback is fundamental in our constant efforts to meet with brand standards and appreciate your taking time to share your experience.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the near future!

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The trip to Madeira was absolutely fantastic, and the hotel Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa really added to the wonderful experience. Nice staff, great location and a super location for a love-holiday. The room was really clean and the beds WONDERFUL!!
Can really really really recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was helpful and told us where to eat in the evening, where to go and what to see.

We will come back next year :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FruSjostrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for sharing your review on Tripadvisor and for your preference in our Resort!

We're happy to hear you had a great stay with us and that we were able to meet with your expectations.

Your positive feedback is much appreciated and delighted we were able to create a memorable experience for you during your stay in our lovely island.!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future !

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had never been to Madeira before so didnt know what to expect?We were not dissapointed love Madeira and especially the wonderful hotel Melia Mare.The staff were so friendly and courteous nothing was too much trouble.We had fantastic clean room with an ocean view out of this world we would most certainly go back again to the Melia Mare
Thank you for a wonderful holiday!!!
Paul & Sue Harris

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra and having a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you kindly for your preference in our resort during your recent stay in Madeira Island and for taking the time in sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our island and hospitality and that our services and facilities met with your expectations. Your feedback is much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,351 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing