We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfort and Great View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Almada, Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort and Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very comfortable, amazing breakfast with fresh fruit and local specialities. Perfectly clean, new, lovely design. I only regret the dinner, because the chef cuisine seemed, to me, a bit "flat". But it wouldn't stop me from advising it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeliaLoureiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your preference in our Resort during your stay in Madeira. Your comments regarding chef cuisine have been passed on internally.
Do hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the very near future !
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    461
    133
    22
    9
See reviews for
194
943
43
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've just come back from a very nice week at this hotel. The staff at breakfast and the bars and also the chamber maids were friendly and courteous. The rooms were fine with comfortable beds and spotlessly clean.

My one criticism concerns the pool area. There were not enough staff and I sometimes had to wait for towels. There were not enough umbrellas either. At a five-star hotel, I would expect to have at least one umbrella for every two sunbeds. Another slight annoyance was the fact that you could not have food at your sunbed but had to eat at the tables.

Despite that, I had a good time and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole and apologize for the umbrellas issue; some of them were damaged during a recent storm and we were awaiting the new shipment at the time of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back though when you next decide to visit Madeira.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Let me start by saying that both the reception staff and housekeepers are fantastic, diligent workers. On top of that, it was a very comfortable and well appointed hotel with both an indoor and outdoor pool. The sights and sounds of Funchal are only a 10 minute bus ride away and must be seen. The only drawbacks we experienced were poor air conditioning in the bedroom and a disappointing dinner for 2 of the nights we stayed there. As someone previously mentioned; the breakfasts are much better than the dinners. Unfortunately our budget didn't stretch to any spa treatments, but the staff were very helpful. Overall a great long weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, go for a breakfast only option as there are plenty of local food options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiscansBiscuitTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor and please accept our apologies for this somewhat delayed response .. for some unbeknown reason, we seemed to have missed out on this review.

We're sorry not all of our services met with your approval and expectations and thank you for your feedback.

Maintaining and improving on standards is important to us and we value your remarks.

Hope to welcome you back to Meliá Madeira Mare in the not too distant future !
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The staff go out of their way to help, they are like shadows, never in your way, but they always seem to be their at the right moment, nice, friendly, professional and predictive to your needs. They could do with more international tv Stations, however, that's just a personal like. The food is good and endless, the location is just right and the views are super, 100% on all fronts, no faults from a guy that takes a lot to impress. I find that even if you forget your key or other tickets, the staff just rush to your requests as if some how they made a mistake leaving you feeling good. we booked it through the travel department in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your very kind review on Tripadvisor!. We appreciate your positive comments and your emphasis on our staff - truly very much appreciated and has been shared internally with all... its comments like yours that motivate us all in delivering on our service standards. Your remark on more international tv channels has been taken note.
Hope to welcome you back in the near future !
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are a family of seven adults who spent a week at this fantastic hotel in late April. The hotel met all our expectations and is well located, we were a bit afraid regarding that it as aprox. 3 km from downtown, but it did not matter at all. The rooms were clean and tidy and very modern. The pool area is really lovely and a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the sun.

The breakfast buffet was really good with a lot of variety, the only downside towards it was the fruit selection. Wit out a doubt our favorite restaurants around the hotel are Basilique and Brasserie.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Caldeira, Vitor and Martim who gave us excellent advice on what to do and see in Madeira and where to have dinner.

A very kind gesture was made for my parents 40th wedding anniversary and my sisters 5th anniversary. It made our stay at MMM truly memorable. Truly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your very kind and positive experience at our resort. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and will be sure to pass ame onto all - and especially to Caldeira, Vitor and Martim ! Its comments like yours which serve to motivate us all to continue delivering on our Brand standards.

We're delighted we were able to play a small role in your parents and sisters anniversary and thank you all for your preference in choosing our Resort in which to celebrate these very special occasions. our heartiest congratulations to your parents and sisters and very best wishes always!.

We do hope to welcome you and your family back to Meliá Madeira Mare sometime in the not too distant future !..

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic position with beautiful sea views.The rooms are well designed with all modern facilities.We were up-graded to a master suite which was excellent.The only down side was the very poor turn down service which was not 5 star standard.
We were on bed and breakfast and were not impressed by the breakfast buffets which had poor fruit selection(some tinned not fresh) and some of the hot food was lukewarm,only the freshly cooked omelettes being hot and freshly cooked.
The buffet staff were good and efficient but some of the other staff were somewhat less than welcoming and seemed to be rather cool and distant.
Despite these drawbacks, which were minimal,I would recommend this hotel for its position,rooms,facilities and its closeness to many good restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for a full sea view.The corner higher view suites have huge balconies with,sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and do apologize for the service inconsistencies you experienced - which will be discussed internally with senior management.

Your valued remarks are of utmost importance to us in enhancing and improving on our services with a view to meet with complete guest satisfaction.
We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel fabulous, it is clean, rooms are well appointed and maintained. The beds are very comfortable. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. Good selection for the buffet breakfast with it being continually replenished. Bar staff are friendly and efficient at both bars within the hotel. Both indoor and outdoor pools are well maintained with plenty of sun beds around the pool.

The hotel is situated in the Lido area to the west of Funchal. Funchal is about a half hour walk (downhill on the way there!!). The Lido area has numerous restaurants offering a vast array of foods.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Many thanks for taking time to post your review.

We are pleased you had such a positive experience with us and thank you for your preference.
We hope to be able to welcome you back once more in the not too distant future !

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#19 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 2,139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing