We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Melia mare wasagood choice but a little far from Funchal for an easy walk at night. Buses were good and reasonably frequent though
The hotel is modern and clean with large rooms and good bathrooms. Breakfast was really good - offering everything you could wish for and even sparkling wine for those inclined to alcohol first thing in the morning ( there were quite a few of those!)
Staff helpful and pool well attended and nicely looked after. Room make up was slow - we often stil had unmade beds at 3pm so that could prove a nuisance if you wanted to rest for a bit after your morning walk.
Was not busy so the building felt deserted but that was because of low season I presume.
All in all a good choice ans view was lovely

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view if posible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pixwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mgr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you kindly for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us albeit not all of our services were up to your standard.

Your remarks are much appreciated and will be discussed and shared with internally.

Do hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

very good location, sea view was fantastic; good breakfast (wide choice, no crowd), indoor pool;
the hotel is quite old; room furniture repainted, so definitely not a 5-star hotel; moreover it was very expensive (around 170eur/night); on a last day we asked for a wake-up call and nobody called (we were informed that our telephone was not connected); fortunately we had a back-up alarm; we also asked for an early breakfast on the day of departure - a nice receptionist informed us that a self-service breakfast would be available at 6:30, but it was not; there was only some dry bread, juice, muesli and a rude waiter who wanted to get rid of us;

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ant-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mgr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're sorry not all of our services and facilities met with your expectations and apologize for the service inconsistencies you experienced which have been discussed at senior level.

Your comments are of importance to us and hope your recent experience has not deterred you from returning to our Resort. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future!

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff in this hotel couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, the rooms were very nice especially the bathrooms. We had a superior room which had a large balcony with sun loungers and a lovely sea view. Breakfast was great with plenty of fresh fruit, pastries and hot options, I would steer away from the omlettes as you could have bathed in the amount of oil it was cooked in! Also the lady chef was slightly scarey when I asked for a fresh fried egg instead of one from the hot plate, if looks could kill!!
We had the parrot experience whilst there which was slightly bizarre, also multi coloured live chicks were shipped in for Easter which was also weird!
We didn't eat at the hotel apart from breakfast as the prices were very high but I worked my way through the cocktail menu and can recommend most of them.
Eating out make sure you avoid Grannys House opposite, we had an appalling meal there with overcooked fish, soggy vegetables and watered down wine....not good. The Italian at the back of the hotel was really good called Basillico, worth a visit.
The pools were a little smaller than I expected particularly the indoor pool. The spa was nice but one of the little tubs was out of order and 2 of the tropical shower rooms also didn't work. I had a lovely massage but if my partner wanted to use the spa facilities he would have had to pay 22 euros which I though was wrong considering I was paying for a massage.
All in all the hotel was OK, not really five star, as it was not in high season it had the feel of being half open, with no cushions on chairs outside and not quite as inviting as it could be. It is well worth doing some walking as it is pretty in the mountains and the cable car ride is great. Madeira was not my favourate trip, the only thing that would lure me back are the custard tarts.

Room Tip: Get a superior with a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arjwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mgr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Many thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your room and appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff which will be shared internally for their information - and have no doubt they will be motivated by your remarks.

We're sorry not all our services and facilities met with your expectations; your feedback is of importance to us in our constant efforts in providing excellence of service and customer satisfaction.

Hope you will reconsider returning to Madeira and if so, hope to welcome you back to Meliá Madeira Mare.

with kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a very comfortable modern hotel, but somewhat lacking in atmosphere. The seafront location is good, but the walk to the centre would be a bit much for many visitors, at about 25-30 minutes. The food in the hotel was fine, a great variety of breakfast foods, but you got the feeling their heart wasn't in it; there was no-one on the hot counter making the pancakes or frying /scrambling eggs, and the coffee could have been hotter. We weren't offered refills on any morning, nor did anyone ever ask if everything was okay. We tried the evening buffet once, and it was perfectly adequate, but not what one would expect from a 5* hotel. Only two choices of meat and one fish dish on our evening. The restaurant PVP across the road is excellent, specializing in fish. Another quibble with the hotel buffet is that the set price of €25 kicks in for children over 6 years old. I can't imagine a 7 or 8 year old eating as much as an adult, and we felt that was exploitative.

The indoor pool area and gym are excellent, but a few touches like providing towels and drinks would be nice. The sauna area was surprisingly not included in the price of the hotel, and we were asked for €22 per person for a 2 hour visit. For a family of four to do this every second day would certainly mount up quite a bill. It appears that the spa area is a concession run by another company, but the additional charge is not made clear on the hotel's website, which we found misleading.

The live parrot experience referred to by another reviewer actually took place during our stay, but the objective seemed to be to charge parents for photos of their children with the parrots. This type of thing happens on the street in most resorts, but for it to happen in the foyer of an hotel was a first for us. We ended up spending €20 for 3 identical photos of the children and the parrots; I was actively discouraged from using my phone to take pictures.

All in all, a nice comfortable hotel, but in need of some finesse and customer care to really make it a 5*.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mgr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your time in posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We're grateful for all your remarks and constructive criticism - all of which have been taken into consideration and can assure you these will be discussed internally with senior management with a view to improving and enhancing on our services provided.

We would just like to make mention that children from 6 - 8 have a 50 discount on the adult fee for the buffet dinner.

Hope this has not deterred you from returning to our island and hopefully to Meliá Madeira Mare.
Do hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great place for a quiet break. Nice, modern rooms with comfy beds. Staff very pleasant. Good coffee and custard tarts at breakfast.
Good location opposite some great restaurants - check out the garlic prawns - and a fantastic Spar which sells everything you need. Great selection of alcohol at reasonable prices.
The sightseeing yellow bus stops right by hotel and takes you into Funchal. 12 euros for 2 days - hop on/ off.
Cable car ride well worth the money (15 euros return) but Botanical Gardens disappointing at this time of year.
Not sure we would come back to Madeira at Easter as weather unreliable. Winter sun definitely not guaranteed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ottoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mgr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Meliá Madeira Mare.

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us albeit the weather was not what you hoped for.
Do hope next time you come the sun will be shining !...
Look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our time in this hotel and the staff were all friendly and helpful ,breakfasts were really good and a great selection of fruits ,breads and hot dishes for those seeking a more substantial start to there day , we tried a few of the facilities at the well laid out and well staffed spa and have to say that the treatments were excellant.I did get the feeling that the hotel was not quite up to the standard of most 5 star hotels but cannot put my finger on it ,it may have been the lack of atmosphere but apart from this a well run establishment , clean ,bright and good value for money .

Room Tip: Try to get a full sea view with terrace , well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mgr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Many thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your kind comments which will be shared internally with all.

Your feedback is important to us in our journey towards offering continued service excellence and guest satisfaction.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future !
With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I frequently travel to Funchal do to business arrangements and I use this hotel for week or less stays. The hotel has sea view although it is far from Funchal city centre, which means that if you want a night walk after dinner you can do that enjoying sea view. The free hotel pool, gym and jacuzzi is well appreciated after one long day working, although some hotels in Madeira do also offer sauna and steam bath. Personnel in the reception is friendly and helpful. Rooms are usually big and comfortable and bathroom does the job. Do not expect to have great toiletry assortments so bring your own shampoo and shower gel if you are as picky as me...breakfast s quite good and full with lot f options, from fresh fruit, bread assortment, cheese and cold cuts and the traditional bacon and eggs. You can also ask for eggs or omelette to the kitchen free of charge. The only upsetting issue I have is the shortage of staff in breakfast, which makes the coffee and milk order so slow. The outside pool looks excellent if you have the time to use but unfortunately I have never use it. Taxis are just outside so you do not have to ask reception for one. There is a smoking room with tv where you can watch your favorite teams playing. Usually I meet Portuguese football players of teams that use the hotel before the match so you can try to get one or two autographs if you are a fan! I would recommend this hotel considering cost-benefit but I should know that in Madeira 5 stars hotel are usually o good standard so always check the best rate!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank EAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mgr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you kindly for your preference in our Resort during your frequent visits to Madeira and for taking time to post your detailed review.

Glad to hear our services and facilities meet with your approval and we do hope to continue be your preferred hotel during your future visits to Madeira Island !.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $108 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing