We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Beautiful Sea View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Beautiful Sea View”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is an impeccable hotel with a gorgeous sea view. We stayed on the 9th floor in a suite with a huge patio overlooking the ocean. It was pretty spectacular. The hotel has beautiful pools both indoor and out. The breakfast buffet can't be beat - probably the best I have ever partaken in. The staff went out of their way to make our stay one of our best vacations ever. The spa is pretty great and we got an amazing haircut at the salon. I would highly recommend this establishment. The hotel is in the middle of the hotel zone which is slightly away from the center of downtown. If you don't rent a car, you are looking at taking taxis or walking alot if you want to get to the more active city center. There are several good restaurants around the hotel but if you want more authentic food try getting out of Funchal.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to get the patio overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you kindly for your praise on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to post same.
We're delighted to read that your all round experience was such a positive one and that we were able to deliver on our brand standards.

We do hope to welcome you back again sometime in the very near future.
With kind regards and best wishes for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    554
    165
    36
    13
See reviews for
240
1,128
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel with very nice and helpful staff. I booked a room with a sea view and have discovered on arrival they have 3 categories of sea view, our room is located on the side of the hotel and its true you can see the sea. But clearly you would expect a clear view of the sea and I find this sort of thing misleading.
The food served in the pool area arrives nearly cold although good quality.
Overall this is a good hotel, I have stayed in Madeira many times before and I would say its unlikely I would stay here again as there are quite a few better options.

Room Tip: Request a superior sea view if you want a good view. There's a road between the hotel and the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kentish227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Melia Madeira Mare to stay during your recent stay in Madeira and for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is most welcome; we assure you that we constantly strive to offer our guests the best possible levels of service and am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the room view and with some of our services ; your remarks have been duly noted and will be discussed internally. Nevertheless, we do hope you will consider our Resort in a future visit to our lovely island and look forward to welcoming you.
With kind regards and best wishes for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very new with good facilities. Good location with several bars and restaurants nearby, frequent bus services or around 7€ taxi ride to centre of Funchal or pleasant 20-25 minute walk. Varied choice at breakfast but quality eg coffee is nothing special. Rooms are attractive and well designed. Some little touches are missing, eg water and towels not provided in gym. Tennis court in Porto Bay next door available at €15 per hour. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcusjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Many thanks for your preference in our Resort and for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback is appreciated and we have taken note of your remarks which will be discussed internally with our team.
We're glad to hear that your overall experience was a good one and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best wishes for 2013!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Melia Madeira Mare is a very good choice for a vacation in Madeira. It is not far from either the city centre or Funchal airport. Rooms are clean and nicely equipped and decorated. Breakfast is varied and quite delicious! Staff are polite and helpful. Not a cheap hotel, but that's not expected of a 5-star, so I think the value for money is perfectly reasonable. Nice swimming pools and sea view. There are several restaurants nearby. Overall, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spg-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and positive comments and feedback on Tripadvisor.
We're delighted to read that your all round experience was an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.
Our very best wishes to you for the New Year !
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for a week just before Christmas and loved it. The Melia is only a few years old, very modern and ideally situated with the back of the hotel facing the sea. We had a side room on the 8th floor facing east with a part view of the sea and great morning sun.
The centre of Funchal is approximately 15-20 minutes walk or 5-10 minutes by bus or car.
The choice of breakfast was amazing, everything you could possibly want, although the fried eggs were a bit rubbery and the bacon overcooked, but to be fair there was free champagne to wash it down!
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, particularly one of the bar waiters who was exceptional.
One evening, guests were invited by management to an informal meeting in the bar area with complimentary drinks and snacks to air their thoughts on their stay at the hotel-good or bad.
We mentioned our dislike of UHT milk which all the hotels we've stayed in provide in the rooms with the coffee/tea making facilities.On returning to our room that evening from dinner at a local restaurant, a jug of fresh milk was promptly delivered to our room. We were impressed!
There are shops and restaurant nearby, Tokos restaurant being our favourite, less than 10 minutes walk, so good we ate there twice. We will definitely be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FitzGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to do so.
Your comments are most welcome, valued and much appreciated.
We're pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
Hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime soon !
Our very best wishes to you for the New year.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our fourth trip to Madeira and to this hotel lived up to expectations once again. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We have come to know quite a few of them and feel they are now friends. It was a lot quieter this time, than our last visit in September, but just what we needed to enable us to relax. A special thank you for the upgrade - as returning guests it was much appreciated and made us feel special. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else and looking forward to returning as soon as we can!
The stunning Christmas decorations in Funchal took our breath away. Madeira should be very proud. Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year to all staff.
Kath and Alex. Wales.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Firstly our sincere thanks to your for your loyalty and for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is truly wonderful to read that you enjoyed your fourth visit to our beautiful island and to Melia Madeira Mare and that your stay was a relaxing one with us. Thank you too for your kind comments regarding our staff members - these will be shared internally amongst all and will certainly serve to further motivate them to continue delivering on our Brand standards.

Yes, we have to agree with you regarding the beautiful Christmas decorations - which add to the very special and unique ambience experienced on the island during the Festive Season as a whole.

Our best wishes to you both for a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit over!.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been in a study trip in Madeira and during this trip I stayed in Melia Mare. I saw many hotels, but the rooms in Melia Mare are one of the best on the island. Very nice decoration, spaciouss, a great bathroom and wifi free of charge.
The breakfast was very good and the swiiming pool area very nice. It is located 10-15 minutes walking to the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dragos_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Executive at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We're delighted you enjoyed our facilities and services and hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future !
Warm regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing