We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is immaculately clean, the staff are fantastic and the sea views are super. However the bar drinks are very over priced - €4.50 for a glass of beer.
I had my 5 year old daughter with me and there is not much for children to so at the hotel. I wouldn't recommend it for young families. The weather was particularly bad last week so it was difficult to keep her entertained.
However, it is perfect if you just want total relaxation in a modern hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We're sorry not all our services and facilities met with your satisfaction and thank you for your feedback.

We would like to make mention that we have great discounts on drinks in the bar during the 2 happy hours we have daily; nevertheless, we do hope that you will consider returning sometime in the near future and hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We loved it. Lovely room, lovely views of the sea with a quiet balcony. Great staff. We arrived after a day walking in the mountains and despite everyone else being well dressed in the lobby we were checked in with the greatest respect and a smile even though we looked quite dishevelled and a little muddy.

Staff in the bar were attentive and we never had to wait long for coffee at breakfast. Other guests gave the staff a hard time asking for cappuccinos then complaining that they weren't how they wanted them but they still carried on with their job and looked after the other guests. The pool attendant was with us to position our loungers and give us towels very promptly. It was raining one day and choose to use the indoor pool which was a good temperature. I liked the decor and the feel of the place and certainly worth what we paid. A great stay.

However, 2 points. There were no changing facilities at either indoor or outdoor pool (you have to use your room or the toilets or the gym changing area on another floor and bring your own towels).

But most disappointing of all was the food we got for an evening meal at 25 euros ahead. I was feeling unwell and didn't dare go too far one night. So we opted to stay at the hotel to eat, which wasn't included in our room price as we like to eat out locally. it was pretty much what you would get for an HB or FB deal and the wine and water was not over priced. However we felt that we could have eaten much better for our 50 euros very close by. In fact we had eaten very well for 30 euros or less at places around Funchal and the rest of the island. We had had some exceptional meals, but his food was really awful in comparison and really let the islands culinary skills down.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BBemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We're glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations as a whole.

We appreciate all feedback and comments which help us in our constant efforts to meet with complete guest satisfaction and have taken note of your remarks.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

For a week it is a good hotel with everything and everbody up to a good standard. The room was great with a large bathroom and large walk in and around shower. The whole place was very clean and really hardly used. And that was maybe because there was no atmosphere at all. The decor is very modern but without colour. There are no paintings or drawings on the walls only stone modern sculptures everywhere. The bar was dark and boring. No one really used it even when there was music every night.
All lighting was these energy saving lights and not all lamps were lit on the stairwells.
The furniture was minimalist and all in straight lines with no comfort in mind at all.
Breakfast was a bunfight and the choice was not five star at all. I've had better three star. Also there were very few staff so tables were not cleared away as quickly as they should have been to allow for the high turnover of guests.
The pool area was boring with no plants or lovely Madeiran flowers. The surface around the pool area is cracking up leaving a sharp grit to walk across. Not very comfortable. The sunbeds were great and the guy looking after them and the towels was very efficient and courteous.
So all in all a good hotel but needs a shake up and some personality put in to it so that people dont just stay in their rooms or go out to the restaurants around which by the way, are great.

Room Tip: I should think all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helishot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're sorry our services and facilities did not entirely meet with your expectations.

It is without doubt that we value and appreciate all our guest comments as well as constructive criticism - which are of utmost importance and fundamental in our constant efforts to attain complete guest satisfaction.

Your remarks have therefore been noted and shall be addressed internally.

We would like to make mention though that we do distinguish ourselves as a brand hotel on the island - one where decor and furnishings are minimalist, of a contemporary nature - and relatively clutter-free, however we can understand and appreciate your preference otherwise.

We thank you nevertheless for your preference during your stay in Madeira and do hope to welcome you back sometime in the very near future.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for a weekend at this Funchal hotel. The hotel is located in the Promenade of Lido, 20/30 min walking to Funchal city center or 5 euro cab ride. Location is great, with sea views.

The hotel has modern facilities, clean, well decorated, staff is friendly. They let us use the hotel till 8pm as our flight was only at 10pm and that was great. Very good outside swimming pool and you have an inside one and spa as well. Free wifi.

Plenty of restaurants and a shopping center nearby, though you have better restaurants in the old part of the city.

Breakfast was good, though they were having some trouble with the guests going all at the same time and there were some shortages of food.

Value for money it was a great choice, as other hotels were more expensive and not sure if they were that good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for your time in posting your comments on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our services and facilities met with your approval. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon !
With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

2 nights here, Friday and Saturday.
Room was modern and fit for purpose.
Breakfast (0730) on Saturday was quiet with loads to choose from. On Sunday at 0830, it was an overcrowded noisy zoo with fewer choices.
Loved the secure car park.
Would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and preference. We're sorry your stay was not totally to your satisfaction and your comments have been duly noted. We hope to welcome you back; you are most welcome to contact us when you do decide to return for our regular promotional rates.
With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel overlooks the ocean and is beautiful.
The staff are all very helpful.
The room we had was lovely, we paid extra for a sea view and were on the 10th floor. We had a huge balcony with a table, two chairs and two sunbeds. It was lovely to sit there in privacy on hot afternoons and have drinks there in the evenings.
Breakfast is buffet style and has everything you want with loads of choice and a chef to cook omlettes.
We had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations. Our hotel is indeed in the heart of the tourist area of Funchal and enjoying a priviledged oceanfront location with wonderful ocean views...
We do hope to welcome you back again on your next trip over to Madeira.
Kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from the Melia after staying for 7 fantastic nights.My wife & i have stayed at all the 5* hotels in Funchal(apart from Reids) over the years.Yes you can stay at other 5* hotels in Madeira but for value for money nobody comes anywhere near the Melia.Excellent breakfast(only stayed b&b) service,cleanliness & the sea-view rooms are very spacious with everything you need in them to make you feel at home.
The hotel was very busy when we stayed,proving how popular it is with tourist looking for that something special.Managment are always on hand if you need to speak to them or have any special requests.
Regards Mr & Mrs Morton

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Executive at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs Morton

We thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor; it is always truly a pleasure to have you stay with us time and time again and greatly appreciate your very kind comments.

Your continued patronage, support and feedback are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful.

We look forward to your next visit... until then please accept our very best wishes and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,074 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
956 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,425 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $115 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing