We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for a weekend at this Funchal hotel. The hotel is located in the Promenade of Lido, 20/30 min walking to Funchal city center or 5 euro cab ride. Location is great, with sea views.

The hotel has modern facilities, clean, well decorated, staff is friendly. They let us use the hotel till 8pm as our flight was only at 10pm and that was great. Very good outside swimming pool and you have an inside one and spa as well. Free wifi.

Plenty of restaurants and a shopping center nearby, though you have better restaurants in the old part of the city.

Breakfast was good, though they were having some trouble with the guests going all at the same time and there were some shortages of food.

Value for money it was a great choice, as other hotels were more expensive and not sure if they were that good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for your time in posting your comments on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our services and facilities met with your approval. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon !
With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,873 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

2 nights here, Friday and Saturday.
Room was modern and fit for purpose.
Breakfast (0730) on Saturday was quiet with loads to choose from. On Sunday at 0830, it was an overcrowded noisy zoo with fewer choices.
Loved the secure car park.
Would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and preference. We're sorry your stay was not totally to your satisfaction and your comments have been duly noted. We hope to welcome you back; you are most welcome to contact us when you do decide to return for our regular promotional rates.
With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel overlooks the ocean and is beautiful.
The staff are all very helpful.
The room we had was lovely, we paid extra for a sea view and were on the 10th floor. We had a huge balcony with a table, two chairs and two sunbeds. It was lovely to sit there in privacy on hot afternoons and have drinks there in the evenings.
Breakfast is buffet style and has everything you want with loads of choice and a chef to cook omlettes.
We had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations. Our hotel is indeed in the heart of the tourist area of Funchal and enjoying a priviledged oceanfront location with wonderful ocean views...
We do hope to welcome you back again on your next trip over to Madeira.
Kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from the Melia after staying for 7 fantastic nights.My wife & i have stayed at all the 5* hotels in Funchal(apart from Reids) over the years.Yes you can stay at other 5* hotels in Madeira but for value for money nobody comes anywhere near the Melia.Excellent breakfast(only stayed b&b) service,cleanliness & the sea-view rooms are very spacious with everything you need in them to make you feel at home.
The hotel was very busy when we stayed,proving how popular it is with tourist looking for that something special.Managment are always on hand if you need to speak to them or have any special requests.
Regards Mr & Mrs Morton

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Executive at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs Morton

We thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor; it is always truly a pleasure to have you stay with us time and time again and greatly appreciate your very kind comments.

Your continued patronage, support and feedback are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful.

We look forward to your next visit... until then please accept our very best wishes and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Modern, stylish and clean, but by no means 5*. This hotel was not our first choice, Cliff Bay was full, but having stayed at the Melia/Sensatori hotel on Tenerife we had high hopes for this one. Unfortunately it's not in the same league. It was so quiet, there were very few guests and those that were there obviously preferred to eat/be entertained out. We tried the buffet dinner on two nights, but it was much the same fare on both, so we decided to eat out for the remainder of the week. Breakfast was good, but again, much the same every day. Entertainment limited, and timed to coincide with dinner out, so didn't see much of this, however on the two occasions we did witness it, the bar area (not very comfortable) was almost empty and we felt sorry for the keyboard player/singer who was trying his best to remain upbeat. The outside areas are deserted in the evening, which is a shame as they are OK and temps were a comfortable 20C. Rooms, staff facilities all good, but ambience lacking. Heard better reports of other hotels in the area and a visit to the Cliff Bay confirmed we'd really missed out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DennisHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.
Your comments and remarks are appreciated and have been noted.

We're sorry our services and facilities did not completely meet with your expectations and would like to make mention though that we distinguish ourselves on the island as a more contemporary style Resort in both facilities and ambience.

Nevertheless, we do thank you for staying with us and hope you might consider returning sometime in the future.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I always spend ages choosing which hotel to book and I wasn’t disappointed with my choice. The hotel was spotless though I never saw anyone doing any cleaning. I had booked a garden view room but was given a side sea view room which had an excellent view of the sea even from the shower. My room was on the East side so the large balcony got the evening sun but was slightly noisy because of an air-con unit at the Enotel. Room was large with a desk, free safe, fridge (in which to put your own fresh milk), half a sofa and a choice of pillow shapes – square, rectangular and bolster. Bed was very comfy. You get a bathrobe, slippers (disappeared on day 2), bath gel, shampoo, body milk, soap, shower cap, sewing kit, flannel and tissues. Great to have a kettle. Minor niggles about the room: aircon noisy (turned off centrally at night??), no iron, “shaving mirror” too high, no soap dish, sink plugs don’t work properly, no separate shower, double doors to bathroom annoying, no bedside drawers. You aren’t allowed to hang anything out on the balcony so why isn’t a pull out drying line supplied in the bathroom? The recycling bin in the bedroom had no instructions as to what you should put in each coloured section so made it a bit pointless.

Buy 4 evening buffet meals for the price of 3 (current normal price is EUR25 per meal/per person excluding drinks). The smoked salmon and lamb chops were particularly good. The restaurant staff at the weekend weren’t as good as those in the week. If you are economizing buy your drinks at the bar to take into dinner – they are slightly cheaper and you won’t have to wait to be served. Dinner ends at 9.30 which I found a bit early so some nights I ate at the excellent PVP Petiscos restaurant at the wine shop opposite the front door of the hotel. The toaster at breakfast doesn’t really toast but there is salt in the butter which is unusual in Europe. It was lovely being able to have all meals outside and not need a jacket in the evening.

There is a card system for pool towels but after check out you can keep your towel until you leave so not sure how this system works. I liked the sunbeds located in the pool itself. Lovely mattresses for the sunbeds and great views over the sea through palm trees. The gravel around the pool is annoying. The outdoor pool was a good size for swimming. I was surprised there were no changing rooms at either the indoor or outdoor pools. Although the indoor pool is open in the evening there are mostly “classes” taking place so was not able to use after coming back from sightseeing.

There is no access from the pool to promenade which means a steep walk back uphill. Having said that don’t miss going down to the foreshore to watch the waves and you must do the walk along to Poca dos Gomes/Praia Formosa (can get the bus back).

Most surprising was that it was not possible to exchange money at reception which means a walk uphill to the ATM.

As everyone else has said the evening entertainment is poor, except for the saxophonist. I spent most evenings at the Enotel next door which had much better entertainment but then I couldn’t get a drink there as its an all-inclusive hotel. The Melia does lack “holiday atmosphere”, it feels more like a business hotel. I loved the fragrance in the reception area.

Great location as handy for the promenade, getting into town by bus (or walking if you’re energetic), close to shops/tour agencies. Good mix of nationalities staying in the hotel and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on East side get evening sun but those on the West side might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your lengthy and very detailed review of our Resort on Tripadvisor.

Your valuable feedback is of fundamental importance to us in our constant efforts en enhancing our service standards with a view to meeting with complete guest satisfaction.

We're delighted to hear that on the whole, you did enjoy your stay and that most of our services met with your expectations..

We thank you for your remarks and constructive criticism too, which have been noted and shall be addressed internally.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

With kind regards and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very well located on sea front. Regular local buses into the centre of Funchal from 1 street up. Went up to Monte Palace & Gardens on the cable car. Good day out. The Botanical Gardens were poor.
Good local restaurants with some very nice fresh sea food.
By going to Madeira I understand that we missed a lot of the beautiful colour (flowers) which the island is famous for.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade & the room had a full sea view, which was great. Having at least a side sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you kindly for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

May I suggest you consider returning during our annual Flower Festivity which normally takes place in May each year - and during which time you can most certainly appreciate our magnificent floats of beautiful flowers!

Kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,070 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $116 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing