We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, average Indian” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabor da India

Sabor da India
Reserve with
Sabor da India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 598 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Sabor da Índia" brings to you authentic Indian Delicacies. We offer Vegan and Gluten-free courses aside from Chicken, Fish, Lamb and Prawn delicacies. Spicy... or not! The expression "Sabor da India" literally means "The Flavour of India". That is exactly our slogan, or 'Raison d'etre' of our Restaurant - To bring to you all the exotic and spicy tastes from India to the other side of the world - Madeira Island. Come join us for Dinner. We also offer special deals at Lunch, set menus and Take-out.Lunch is served from 12:00 to 15:00, and Dinner is served from 18:00 to 23:00.We offer full disabled facilities, meaning that our Restaurant is designed and fully equipped for people bearing a handicap.
Helsinki,Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendly service, average Indian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

It is true that the place is a bit hard to find. Well, once you get to the post office, walk to the other end of the building past the grocery store, look to your right up the very steep hill and you'll see the Sabor. It is indeed a very welcoming and friendly place, lovely colours inside, but we didn't find the food more than average. I am not a big eater, unlike my husband, but the portions were quite small, only a few pieces of chicken in my masala sauce. Their medium hot was somehow watery in taste and texture. Yes, we would eat there again and probably would recommend it as well, but it is not the best Indian we have had, not even close... Top marks for service though and for the complimentary glass of Madeira after the meal

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoSnow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    248
    71
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

The quality of the food was excellent, well flavoured too. Pleasant staff and pleasant surroundings. A little difficult to find and they would benefit from signage on the roadside as it is up a steep road/drive that is a dead end

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NIKIM5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
141 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great indian restaurant, genuinely friendly owner, Sid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

On our previous visit to Madeira I was amazed that the owner Sid actually remembered us from a couple of years before. This time we were about to walk from the Pestana Grand to Sabor when the heavens opened. Wondering what to do outside the hotel a little car appeared and who should put his head out of the window but Sid! He insisted that once he had dropped off the couple he was collecting he would return for us.

The restaurant is up a short narrow drive off the Estrada Monumental so easily missed.The indian food is of a high standard albeit a little pricey, the decor authentic. On this occasion we had a long wait between courses but the restaurant had filled up due to the rain and Sid was out ferrying customers. Lovely Theresa who we also know from previous years was very apologetic and topped up our wine glasses.

Sid insisted on driving us back, what more can you say!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZebraLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good quality Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This place is a little hidden but well worth seeking out. We both had some good food in here and if I was back in Madeira I'd make another visit. Good value and good portions, good value and the staff are friendly.

Absolutely no complaints :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JasonEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great authentic indian the hidden jewel in funchal. Fresh ingridents garaunteed if your particular about your food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Dined at the sabor tonight. Short and simple my self an indian lady im very particular to indian flavored dishes as i cook regularly at home.... fresh chillies garlic ginger corriander... yes! No subsututes here such as powdered spices. Would not recommend another indian unless you want powdered currys with no flavour. The sabor is good establishment with a profesional manager and great staff. Also food arrived in virtualy 10 minutes of ordering. Excellent!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sunita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor da India also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Sabor da India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing