We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go With An Empty Stomach & Enjoy!”
Review of Beef & Wines

Beef & Wines
Reserve with
Beef & Wines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 637 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $35
Cuisines: Portuguese, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Born and raised in Funchal, Madeira Island, the Beef and Wines offers a new gastronomic experience where the best New Zealand´s meat joins Portugal top wines.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Go With An Empty Stomach & Enjoy!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Quite simply the best beef I have tasted in an age by ordering the house special and with an excellent and extensive wine list to accompany the exceptional food, I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Ask for the non-smoking area when booking (as I would recommend you do - a number were turned away on the night when we were there) if you are a non-smoker to avoid a smoking zone.

The side dishes are plentiful and keep coming.

Excellent value and a fantastic night out - book it and you will not be disappointed......

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkTraveller1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,244
    422
    106
    40
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“High standards maintained”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is our favourite restaurant in Funchal. Quite simply the sliced picanha is to die for. Served with a good selection of rice, black beans, stewed cabbage, fries and salad, the meal is fantastic. Not sure about the other dishes as really haven't tried them. No need. This trip the quality of the food and service is as high as it has been in previous years. The restaurant has an extensive wine list and help is at hand to guide you to select a bottle just right for you. Start your meal off with an excellent caipirinha and you will not be disappointed. If you go to Funchal, do not miss this dining experience, but book in advance. It's popular!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Windy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went here based on the TA reviews and loved it, we booked and good job as the place was packed! The staff were very friendly and fun, plus full of info about the food and wine on offer. The meat which is on a skewer which is caved off for you at your table is so tasty. We loved the whole night, we would differently go back. The food was excellent and was at a good price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eduardandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious beef”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Wow, what more can you say .............. The service was excellent and the beef on the skewer was delicious. Tender, juicy and full of flavour. A definite must when in Funchal

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyandgareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful ”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We want on our holiday's first day without reservation and waiting 10 minute they found a table for 4 people! We eat beef drinking passion fruit capirinha. Everything was perfect and the price is low enough to think about a mistake! We will be there again before leave!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ugo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beef & Wines also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Beef & Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing