We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel with excellent service.”
Review of Hotel Escola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Escola
Ranked #6 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel with excellent service.”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely week at this hotel. It was exceptionally clean, all the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was large with a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea and sunset. The beds were comfortable, towels changes daily, bathrobes and daily room service. The breakfast was delightful. The pool and gardens were well manicured. Although a little away from the centre of Funchal and typically for Madeira located up a steep hill you are close to public transport and can walk to good bars and restaurants. There are only 20 rooms in the hotel do the service feels very personal. For three times the price you will not find a better hotel in Madeira.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mrsb1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    48
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
97
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have recently returned from a 2 weeks half board holiday at this hotel. On arrival we were immediately struck by the high command of English enjoyed by all the staff.Without exception they were warm & friendly, with nothing too much trouble.
The rooms were well equipped & serviced to a high standard daily. On the food front the quality was variable,depending on which chef was on duty. It varied from excellent to fair.
Despite this the waiting staff were superb & looked after our every need. Breakfast was quite adequate although not very varied.Boiled eggs seemed to be a real problem for the chef to get right so in the end we gave up on them.
There was a serious lack of residents for most of our 2 weeks stay which was a pity, as the facilities with the outdoor pool & Sauna are good.
We had a lovely sea view room & the hotel is situated high above the Western suburbs of Funchal. We used the local bus to go to town,whose terminus is 5 minutes away down the hill & this proved very reliable & competitive. We took advantage of the multi-jourey tickets offered by the bus company. A very happy first visit to Madeira. I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Nearly all the rooms are sea view. Request one! Go for B & B and order Dinner when you want it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bristolianexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just returned from a week in this hotel. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Had a couple of problems with the room but fixed immediately. Food is very good, the breakfast will set you up for the day. Beds and towels changed daily.

A couple of the staff deserve a mention Sonia and Sylvia in reception ( shame they don't give the staff name badges so we could complement more staff, especially the waitresses).

No fault of the hotel or staff but the hotel location for this time of year is not wonderful. They are about 15 minutes bus ride from Funchal, but there only a couple of bars and nothing else within easy walking distance of the hotel. If you are looking for a very quiet time then this is the place. I am sure in the height of season being outside Funchal would be great but in January the location was just a little too quiet, but this does not detract from a very good hotel.

Couple of tips for Funchal. Get the hop on hop off bus to get and idea of where you are and what to see. Good value at 12 euros, we were allowed to use it for two days instead of just one. See the botanical gardens well worth the cable fare and walking. Look out the three course set menus in restaurants near the English Church really good food for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be a sea view so no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dardoowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

... and they are doing a lovely job. I only tried afternoon-tea but service was impeccable and very friendly. They showed me a hotel room with view over the bay, it looked clean and in good shape. So I guess I can recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

stayed here for 7 nights - buffet breakfast was served to you and of good quality. We got a selection of prepared fruits, ham,cheese and salami, yogurts, numerous bread rolls, fruit juices and tea/coffee - definately worth getting up for! The rooms were clean and functional with air condtioning(didn't appreciate it actually worked until we moved hotels that just had ceiling fans). Free internet access provided.
The best part were the lunch and evening meals(we ate there 6 nights out of 7) - provided for hotel residents was an inclusive menu 3 courses, wine, water and coffee for €19.50 excellent value for very good food (desserts need to be varied a bit more). The also provided a lunch/snack menu again very good value steak sandwich with chips €3!
The only disappointment of the hotel were the lack of customers - Hotel Escola you need to advertise more and get more customers for your students to master their skills on us hungry tourists!! We will be back next year too x

Room Tip: request sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njsnortheastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 86 in Funchal
960 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escola

Property: Hotel Escola
Address: Praca A.C.I.F. Camara Comercio e Industria da Madeira 9000 246 | Sao Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Escola 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Escola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Escola Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing